We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to spend your last day in Indonesia!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sultan Hasanudin No.10 | Makassar-South Sulawesi, Makassar 90111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Makassar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“What a way to spend your last day in Indonesia!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Staying in this hotel was for me one of the most luxurious experiences in my life. A beautiful spacious room with a stunning view on Makassar and the sea. The Superior room offers High Speed Internet access, mini bar, HD flat screen TV with international channels (HBO), Coffee and Tea facilities. A bathroom connected to the room by a glass window. A beautiful and comfortable bed.
The location is central and close to restaurants and boulevard.
There is shuttle service (175.000 IDR per pickup and drop-off). A staff member is waiting for you at the airport with a sign with your name on it.
Breakfast was amazing with pastry, fresh fruits, an egg-station, Indonesian and international dishes and fruit juices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    149
    41
    12
    6
See reviews for
41
74
17
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay.
The breakfast buffet is very good, the rooms are design nicely and the pool and fitness area is great.
I can definitely recommend staying here. We payed about 600k per night for the standard room, which is a very good value I think.
A small downside is that sometimes you can hear people outside the room, but only if they are really loud which was unfortunately the case due a lot of families with children on our floor. but that is not the hotel's mistake I think.
The internet worked very well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Overall review this hotel was OK. But i would recommend the management to have more casuals during peak days. The pool was so messy. The restaurant was also neglected... empty juices container. Empty food tray and could find anybody at sight.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Our room was great, but we could not get hot water in either the tub or the shower. We had a suite so plenty of room; 2 bathrooms!

They sent a driver to pick us up at the airport so getting there was easy.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

-Loved the pool and also the transparant sauna rooms on the 15th floor. U can see the ocean view from d pool. Though it is very windy.

-Loved the comfy bed and beddings

- The AC is not working as it best. Have to called the room service 2times within 3hours just to get 1 visit from the maintenance guy. Unfortunately the guy failed to give us the Aston hospitality service by being harshed with his body langguage,no greetings and without any smile or whatsoever.

- Their breakfast area were at the 1st floor mezzanine. Served variety of food but realy need to boost up the taste.

-Quite good location. Infront of a police station, Not too far from the Losari beach area, 5minutes walking distance to KFC, minimarket, and sushi restaurant.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice room that we stay in Aston Makassar. Like the room a lot. When we come to visit Makassar, rain a lot so we stay most of our time in hotel.

I am a bit dissapointed in their breakfast that their special indonesian menu always not available. The first day because i am late so i dont mind is already finish, but the second day i am very early as early plane to airport, their special menu only have a big bowl of rice and nothing else. When ask the staff, the staff say wait for a moment... I think i ask about 3 times with the same answer until i give up waiting after 1h waiting. The pool area is also very windy and also the sauna room not so nice.

But other than that is really nice stay in Makassar. Like the room a lot...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clevedon
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I have reviewed this hotel before and based on my own thoughts, I returned to this hotel.

Again it is ideally situated for me and the rooms are great, when compared to other hotels on Sulawesi. The staff have increased their service levels and the general feel of the operations are better than when I last went (I think it had just opened then).

The food is still a bit lack lustre and the top floor restaurant is still not open, but it did what it said on their website and provide me with a stay that I needed on business with a smile and improving English.

They just need to look at their food options - not to make it very western but try and have things a bit better than pizza etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Jl. Sultan Hasanudin No.10 | Makassar-South Sulawesi, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 68 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center is a modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference Hotel with 177 tasteful rooms and suites, 5 spacious meeting rooms and a large Ballroom that can accommodate up to 1000 guests. The hotel also features a delightful Coffee Shop, a ‘sky dining’ restaurant with amazing city and ocean views as well as an indoor swimming pool, complete gym and a well equipped spa with 20 private treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.