We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Save Saved
You added Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Sultan Hasanudin No.10 | Makassar-South Sulawesi, Makassar 90111, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 hotels in Makassar
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“New Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is relatively new and I believe is the best hotel in Makassar. Friendly reception staff and booking was quick without any problems. I had booked an Executive Suite. When I entered I found the size is more than adequate. Separate lounge and bedrooms. The bathroom was also very large with the bath tub and shower at different location. If needed there is a good view of city and surrounds while utilising the bathroom. The bed is large and comfortable. The unit contained two televisions, one in the bedroom and one in the lounge. Breakfast is average and nothing special to mention. I found that the hotel staffs were friendly and attentive. The gym is located on the top floor with good equipment and great city views. I could not fault this hotel and will stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    90
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
29
54
9
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

Positives:
1. The room is clean and neat

Negatives:
1. I ordered a pick up service to pick me up from the airport and it didn't shown
2. I made a hard complaint related to point no1, the manager on duty is explaining too many excuse and bad in complaint handling
3. I booked an hour of massage at 4pm, at the specified time i was there and recepsionist of the spa said that my reservation is canceled ( without any notification to me) due to the other customer whhich currently being handled requested overtime, and she is not sure what time the message would be available

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

last week was my second time staying at Aston makassar n I stayed for 2 night, 1 at deluxe room n 1 at the suite. Still as good as before, but this time the 15th floor was occupied both nights I was in. N in morning when I swam, there was quite dirty n smelled weird. I tried the spa, n well.. I had better. I just noticed though.. The tap water is yellowish, I don't know why. But Anyhow I still love this hotel, the facility n the warmest staff are superb.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

as one of the new hotel, the hotel is still clean, the location is also good and friendly staff. While I have to attended a meeting in the hotel,I notice that there is no office boy stand by in the meeting room that may sometimes needed to fix the sound system problem in hall. The breakfast in the morning is also not very special just like the same with other hotel in its class

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I just stayed in Aston superior room, and I think for the price that cost us, it's quite expensive for a good and new brand hotel.
The room was very comfy and clean (after all it's new lol) but their twin bed was soooo small compared to the other hotel with same price in makassar, and there is no extra pillow provide in the wardrobe.
my friend who stayed in the same hotel at their standard room, even told me that the standard room was so small.

and the equipment in the bathroom are so bad, no comb, no razor and no hairdryer and they said only in the executive room had it.

the 15th floor which is pool had a very amazing view of makassar city, but the wind was blowing so hard, but they got a very nice warm little pool and cold ice pool :) but the whole area for pool was too small.

and the breakfast, just like being told before was so-so. not so many choices, and the bread and croissant was so hard just like being served there after stay for a whole night, but maybe that's why they provide big toaster.

the staff was very nice and helpful.

after all, my stay was so-so just because I still think price given and the facilities provided do not match ...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Staff are very friendly and always smile..they served with smile and politely...
Cozy deluxe room!
good and fast service when asking for 3 pin adapter...when asking for make up room...
15th floor is awesome! kid enjoy swimming meanwhile i'm in jacuzzi or sauna (can see thru glass door)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center is new. Just open less than a year (as of October 2012). Rooms are new and modern like other business hotel. Staff are all friendly. Upon check out, there was some kind of error on communication. I took 1 way airport transfer which is hotel to airport. But they charged me for 2 ways. And when I noticed to the reception, he just changed it.

However, overall stay is ok.

Room Tip: KFC nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center

Address: Jl. Sultan Hasanudin No.10 | Makassar-South Sulawesi, Makassar 90111, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center is a modern and stylish 4 star Business and Conference Hotel with 177 tasteful rooms and suites, 5 spacious meeting rooms and a large Ballroom that can accommodate up to 1000 guests. The hotel also features a delightful Coffee Shop, a ‘sky dining’ restaurant with amazing city and ocean views as well as an indoor swimming pool, complete gym and a well equipped spa with 20 private treatment rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Makassar Hotel & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.