We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Rotterdam

Fort Rotterdam
Penghibur Street, Makassar, Indonesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 19 things to do in Makassar
Attraction details
Rotterdam
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

For us (living in Rotterdam) it was interesting. The information is average and our guide didn't know very much about the history.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    88
    99
    15
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Underwhelming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I don't really think there is much to see here- it is probably of more historical significance than of aesthetic appeal. The museums are particularly disappointing - especially for the price (2 museums at 10,000 Rp each, plus a donation to get into the fort). And it's not even a spot of peace and quiet because if you look Western, you are basically guaranteed to be bombarded by people wanting to practice their English and/or take pictures with you. It's charming for a while, but gets tiring very quickly.

Come here only if you really have nothing else to do, but to be honest I think Makassar is actually a nice enough city to walk around aimlessly and absorb the atmosphere. The waterfront area at Losari beach is much more atmospheric and a much better area to chill.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Old Colonial Fort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The fort was built in the colonial era to defend this seaport city.
I think they made some restoration on it. It looks very good.
Some of its building are used for local administration.

Do they serve a guide at this fort? Because when I went here, I only met with a guard who opened the gate and that's all, I walked freely inside the fort.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating glimpse into Dutch colonisation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The museums are excellent. However there is little English explanation. We employed a guide who offered his services to us. He was good value for Two hours and cost around US 10.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting to learn more about Makassar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Had a quick visit here to see the Fort and find out a little more about Makassar and its history. Pretty buildings and well kept and fairly informative display on the history of Makassar since the early times! Worth a quick visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Rotterdam also viewed

Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 
Makassar, South Sulawesi
Makassar, South Sulawesi
 

Been to Fort Rotterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Rotterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.