We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel for conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar to your Saves list
Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. AP Pettarani No. 3, Makassar, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 68 Hotels in Makassar
surabaya
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“hotel for conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is not in the city center. About 20 minutes from the airport when traffic is not jammed. The room is basic, old stained carpet, not big. There are 2 wings, the new and the old one. The bed is comfortable for a good night sleep. The breakfast is good, especially the local cuisine. Every day you got something new. The gym in the 6th floor is very basic, instead hotel guests can also use the private sauna and spa facility in the ground floor for free. The facility is good, the sauna is hot and there are also 2 treadmill machines, there are pairs of shoes if you do not bring one. The hotel cafe is good for hang out. The convention hall is huge with several meeting rooms. There is a discotheque in the hotel area. Public transportation (pete-pete) in front of the hotel can bring you to the central market, landmarks and other city attractions for only IDR 4.000 (1 USD = IDR 11.000). At the rear of the hotel there is a minimarket for daily snacks and basic groceries.

Room Tip: perhaps the new building is better than the old building
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    95
    50
    6
    6
See reviews for
18
9
1
123
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

this hotel looks magnificent from a distance, but the condition of the rooms nothing special, actually tend to look bleak. but the entertainment in this hotel was pretty one stop entertain hotel. there are discotheque and pubs and spa facilities are also quite enjoyable. Breakfast menu is quite diverse and even very abundant

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

i got a huge room there, clean place, nice people also there. just food is kinda terrible. but overall still good hotel to stay. i dont really know about the location as am not going out much, just for lunch and dinner, but places i was visited not so far from the hotel approximately around 30 mins max, so i can say location still ok.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Location a bit far from town but transportation is easy. Room is clean and good size for business trip. Great on site restaurant to choose. Service is great and prompt. Highly recommended for business trip.

Room Tip: ask for higher floor away from lift shaft for quieter sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for the whole month of December last year. The room was very large and new. Here are the issues that this hotel has. My bathroom was very dirty had to call house keeping and show them how to clean a bathroom. The restaurant downstairs to the left of the front desk needs a lot of improvements. When we would order our dinner one would come and the other one 30 minutes later. The pool area is very nice as well as ordering lunch there. The spa is wonderful and very inexpensive. Although I went back to the hotel 4 months later and found out the spa manager is no longer there. What a huge loss for this hotel. I can tell that customer service had went down a lot. I still use the pool service when in Indonesia but I do not stay at hotel.

Stayed December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The hotel was undergone a major addition, including an olympic size swimming pool. That was where I spent a lot of my free time.

When I checked in, the hotel was booked solid they only had a room on the smoking floor. The whole room was practically infused with cigarette smoke and even a repeated application of air freshener did not help. So it is best to check in as early as possible. Booking a non smoking room does not guarantee that you will provided with such.

I checked out the gym, but it was only a tiny room with old equipment, with no staff on stand by duty.

On my last night there, the large pool was used for a private party. But the hotel allowed me to use the smaller swimming pool, and they even put a staff to attend to my needs while I swam.

If you enjoy a nightlife entertainment, there is a commercial spa and club in the hotel complex for you to unwind. I didn't go there though.

All in all, it was a good hotel to sleep (and to swim!), but other than that there is not much else you can do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

600 rooms hotel and half of it is newly built.

unfortunately i got the one in the old wing, still pretty expensive considering other options in the city.

room was old and small and smelly. they still even have one of those main switch control in the bedside end table.

hotel is too crowded with people coming in & out, it has so many meeting rooms & restaurants & even "kinky" karaoke. its definitely not a place to get a rest. when i stayed there. they have meetings, wedding, groups and even student's demonstration in front of the hotel from the surrounding universities (there are several in the area + government offices).

the good thing is, should you ever get stuck in the hotel (because of the demonstration), there's a lot of activities in the hotel as it is almost like a small independent china town.

food is bad as if they are cooked carelessly. its so bad i prefer the KFC for breakfast.

Not recommended for business or holiday. should you ever have meeting here, spend the night somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms in the new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar

Address: Jl. AP Pettarani No. 3, Makassar, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Makassar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel And Convention Makassar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Hotel & Convention Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.