We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special we can do” 3 of 5 stars
Review of M-Regency Makassar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added M-Regency Makassar to your Saves list
M-Regency Makassar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Daeng Tompo 8, Makassar 90112, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Regency Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Makassar
Batam, Indonesia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nothing special we can do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The staff was friendly and good locations

nothing special from this hotel beside from the brand, Accor ( Mercure hotel ), the lobby was very small, and only have one lift so you must be waiting for so long , the special one is you acces free wi-fi and cabel line in all room in the hotel , and free gym and sauna .

only have one restaurant , but I am not sure it,s restaurant ,the design was very standart and for the food it,s so so.. bette you take a dinner outside in datukmuseng street u can find a lot of seafood restaurant.

dont have swimming pool , nothing special restaurant

if you just transit never mind you choose this hotel for sleep.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    41
    37
    15
    4
See reviews for
20
15
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

1. I'm already booking this hotel with web side for my Accor Compliment but they dont have process my Accor Compliment
This Hotel dont have special restaurant for breakfast ??!!......
2. This Hotel don't have special menu for kid's

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauru
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

The rooms are very average. The beds are terrible. The hotel is being renovated and I hope soon the required Mercure levels will be reached because at this point it is still a very mediocre hotel to stay.

I will be back in a few months and see how things have worked out. i give them the benefit of the doubt at this point. It looks they are trying to improve things here.

Staff attitude is fairly good. Food is terrible. Location very good.

Room Tip: At this point all rooms are equally bad if the beds are not replaced.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorowako
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I recommend book your hotel via website. If you using travel agent and call the hotel to ask the reservation, you will get full booking information. I was using the on line booking and get the room. Additional tips, please call the hotel in 2 and 1 day before check in to make sure you have a room!!!!

The room is good but not full clean (I think most of hotel in Makassar have some issue in housekeeping). I was face some difficult to get a taxi due to hotel location. The food is good.

The room facility is good. The staff needs to improve their smile. The hospitality is very good. They also need to add more room boy to help the visitor with their baggage.
No body from hotel was helping when I enter the hotel. I was bring 4 big baggage and none of the staff in the main lobby want to help me

IMPORTANT NOTE: IF YOU WANT TO VACATION IN MAKASSAR, PLEASE RENT A CAR AND DO NOT USE A TAXI. MAKASSAR TAXI DRIVER HAS SERIOUS PROBLEM WITH THEIR ATTITUDE

Room Tip: use a rental car rather than taxi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I have made reservation for check in at Nov 14,2011, and have received confirmation (SMS & email). But when I called the hotel - just before went to the hotel - the receptionist told me that the hotel was full and there was no reservation for my name. How come?
Fortunately i got other hotel, although most of them were also full during that dates

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

The strongest impression that I got from this hotel, is that it's being run by a skeleton crew. Me and my group arrived in broad daylight, stopped our car in front of the lobby's glass door..and nobody came and assist, with anything! The check-in was a different matter, it was smooth and swift that I was in my room within 10 minutes. Oh yeah, nice touch with the welcome drink. The lack of crew was apparent again in the restaurant, I went there for breakfast, only to find that nobody was manning the fort! Imagine had I been a muffin burglar, I'd been rich (with muffin) :) The laundry service was a bit of a disappointment, gave laundry before breakfast, had it back at 8p.m, after I called them, that is. Bathroom was tiny, well stock, I love the color scheme on the wrapping, so lively. If only it emanates throughout the rest of the property, would've been fine. The hotel is doing a renovation/expansion. They had no business center, no coffee shop, no store. The only thing that I love from this hotel is their matress and pillows..soooo comfortable and fluffy... almost took one home :)

Room Tip: Avoid choosing room 202 and its side if you don't want wall view :), Bring own razor, hotel does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Now called the Mercure, and currently undergoing renovation. Good value, breakfast not great, rooms clean, good bedding and bathrooms. Very helpful staff, we left luggage for a week while we traveled to Toraja. Good location for seafront, stayed 3 nights altogether and would return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to M-Regency Makassar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M-Regency Makassar

Address: Jalan Daeng Tompo 8, Makassar 90112, Indonesia (Formerly Royal Regency Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi > South Sulawesi > Makassar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Makassar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — M-Regency Makassar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
M-Regency Hotel is a Victorian-style hotel located a 5-minute walk from Losari Beach. Offering rooms with free Wi-Fi, the hotel has a fitness centre and its own restaurant.Just a 2-minute stroll from M-Regency Hotel is Sumba Opu souvenir shopping centre. GTC Mall and Trans Studio Theme Park is a 10-minute car ride away. It takes 45-minutes to drive from the Sultan Hasanuddin International Airport.Air-conditioned and fully carpeted, each room is equipped with a flat-screen TV showing satellite channels, tea/coffee maker and minibar. An en suite bathroom includes a toilet and bathtub with shower. Free bottled water is provided.Guests enjoy free access to the hotel’s fitness centre and sauna. Massage services are available at an extra cost. The 24-hour front desk can arrange tours and provides ticketing services.M-Regency Hotel’s restaurant serves local Indonesian, Western and Chinese dishes. It offers a breakfast buffet and an à la carte menu for lunch and dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your M-Regency Makassar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage M-Regency Makassar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.