We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting with our 4 boys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sulawesi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort
Save
You added Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort to your Saves list
Desa Pulisan | Kecamatan Likupang, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 190 Hotels in Sulawesi
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Visiting with our 4 boys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We spent 1 week here and we loved it! Very nice,clean and big bungalows close to the beach. Excellent food, very friendly and helpfull staff. For our smaller boys ( 5 and 8 years old) the entering to the beach wasn't that easy, the bigger ones( 12 and14) had no trouble finding the (only) way to get behind the reef. The snorkling was pretty good. They learned diving with Sonly , a very good, relaxed, safe dive-instruktor, and we did some dive/ snorkel trips , this was absolutely great! Some great dive spots were we saw very special sealife, took lunch on marvellous white sandy beaches with a " blue lagoon" and this all by ourselfs, no other tourists! The dive masters/captain/sailors took great care of us divers, and looked after the smaller kids while we were under water, even took them snorkelling!
The tour to tangkoko was also very good. We also did the daytour to the vulcano and the villages, especially the market was a very special experience!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    20
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
17
37
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manado, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I took my children to pulisan to enjoy a jungle adventure. We were so disappointed when we got to this 'beach' resort and realised that the children couldn't actually swim! The beach was beautiful until you actually got to the water and realised that the floor of the beach was covered in glass like coral. We were told that if you walk 1/2 an hour down the beach you can swim. After an hours traumatic walk over rocks and more coral we didn't find any swimming beach. The following day we had booked a tour to tangkoko but because of bad weather were unable to go. We decided to cut our jungle adventure short because there was actually very little to do apart from playing on the sand. The staff however were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't choose this as a destination if you want to swim in the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent 4 nights here at the end of our holiday in northern Sulawesi. Comfortable bungalows right on the beach, mosi nets provided and clean toilets/bathroom. Ample amounts of good, freshly cooked food; our boys loved the banana pancakes for breakfast! Some great diving in the area and good snorkelling. Made use of the kayaks and had great afternoon at the Tankoko Jungle Reserve where we saw the Tarsiers, red-nosed hornbill and the elusive Kuskus. Great place to unwind and enjoy the peace and tranquility of the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We finished our trip to Sulawesi with three nights in this resort. It is a wonderful place to stay. The cabins are quite big and clean and the staff is very friendly. The food is fresh and good. The best is the location, with a nice beach and a wonderful view. The snorkeling is also very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I spent 3 nights here in between flights.

Its a very pretty site and surrounds. The cabin I had was basic but nicely decorated. The mosquito net is a must. As there is no electricity except for a few hours in the afternoon, there is no aircon or fans and so it can get very warm and uncomfortable trying to sleep.

Watch out for huge spiders and cockroaches also at night! I also woke up to find my tube of sunblock had been significantly eaten (yes the tube itself).

This was a secluded beach and as a solo traveller, not the sort of place I would spend more than a few relaxing days at. A side trip to Tangkoko National Park was the only jungle experience and it was expensive.

Personally I didn't like that the tables were labelled with your cabin name and as I was a solo traveller, it was set for one person - not very friendly. Luckily I'm bold enough to pick up my plate and join another table and as a result I met some inspirational senior travellers.

It ain't cheap and I was irritated when they charged me for a cup of tea - when actually it was only a cup of hot water because i had my own tea bag. OK it was only around 50c but that was just ridiculous.

It was a nice getaway for a few days only ... better than spending the time in Manado!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We were here in 10/2011 for 4 Nights overall. We left after two nights because it was too expensive on the first view. We paied 300 € for two nights including pick-up from Manado food (what was good and enough) one day snorkeling with rental fins and mask and extra dinks (about 3 beer and 5 coke).
The beach was rubish in fact but they cleaned every day. The stuff is very friendly and helpful. The food is realy good!

We switched to Bangka Island (Murex) where the beach is really nice and better for snorkeling. However the bungalow is 40 € /person and night and food is not that good.

So we returned back to Pulisan.

We did the trip to Tangkoko National Park and one-day snorkeling. Both was really nice but 35€/person each is just too expensive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We had four great nights (3 full days) there to escape the big cities for a breather. Although the facilities were basic it was just as we had expected after reading about the resort. We had an active yet totally relaxing three days. The snorkeling is hard to beat due to the abundance of corals and marine life. The waters are clean and clear and of course a lovely temperature. We also did a tour of the highlands and the nature reserve, both of which were the right balance between information and observation - thanks to our excellent guides. We had the best time here and could easily have stayed another 3 or 4 nights or weeks but we had locked into a Jakarta to Manado flight that would have been too much of a hassle ( not to mention the cost) to change during Idul Fitri week.

So thanks heaps to Katrin and her staff for the excellent break. This is definitely a place to put on you itinerary if you can and stay at a least 4 nights or 5 nights if you can!!

Cheers

Alice and Horst
Canberra Australia

Room Tip: Take an light weight mossy net to hang across the door so you can leave the door open while you slee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sulawesi hotels
0.0 mi away
Novotel Manado Golf Resort & Convention Centre
0.0 mi away
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
Toraja Misiliana Hotel
#4 of 9 in Rantepao
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.0 mi away
Janji Laut Resort
Janji Laut Resort
#1 of 38 in Manado
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dabirahe at Lembeh Hills Resort
0.0 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Highland Resort
Highland Resort
#1 of 1 in Tomohon
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort

Address: Desa Pulisan | Kecamatan Likupang, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Sulawesi
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Sulawesi
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Sulawesi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you can do without luxury and prefer to be in great nature off the track, you'll fit in perfectly here.Our eight cottages are wooden built and nestle in beyond steep cliffs on a white sandy beach. Diving, snorkling, jungle trekking,kayaking, bicycling or just relaxing on the beach. you and your kids will surely enjoy ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pulisan Jungle Beach Hotel Sulawesi
Pulisan Jungle Beach Sulawesi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulisan Jungle Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.