We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect 3 Day Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nikoi Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nikoi Island
Save Saved
You added Nikoi Island to your Saves list
Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect 3 Day Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights with our boys (5 and 8). We live in Singapore and the trip was very easy and fast. Left Singapore in the morning and arrived before lunch.
The acomodation - non air con, non - TV balinese style house was great. Beautifully designed, right at the beach, with lots of natural ventilation. The kids slept on two converted day bed areas in the main room. There was also a bunk bed room but the kids wanted to stay closer.
We went snorkling from the beach and saw beautiful corrals and fish. There is kjaking (go around the island in 30 min), a jungle walk around the island and a very scenic pool a 5 min walk away from the beach house. There is no gym - but a lot of space to do sports outside. The kids could safely move around the island on their own, feeling like pirates. There is also a great open kids area that is really nice.
Meals are family style at a big table in the sand. While there is one set menue, staff was happy to accomodate special requests.
Staff was exceptionally friendly and proud to work at the place.
A minor concern were the currents at the beach, that were rather strong for the kids from time to time.
The entire place is very peaceful, yet ideal with kids. We will come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed the design of the accommodation, the service and the natural setting. We do look forward to welcoming you back some day. Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    59
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
201
199
8
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gisborne, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have had a wonderful few days there; it was paradise and we were unwinding and relaxing from the moment we were greeted so warmly and ambled with the charming host to reception. The complete lack of aircon was absolutely fine: sleeping with an overhead fan, listening to the gentle sounds of the sea was magical. However might I suggest that a brochure or some form of information about the available activities, the conservation aspects etc etc, be made available there? The food was stunning: top quality but completely honest, and fresh. We certainly appreciated real food for small children. All staff were friendly but not over the top, seemingly very genuine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. It is particularly pleasing to hear you enjoyed the meals so much. There is supposed to be a room guide in each of the master bedrooms but I will ask our staff to re-check this. It may have been that this was not pointed out to you and my apologies if that was the case. There are also copies of this at the bar on Ipads. Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were looking for a side-trip from Singapore that offered something a little bit different. From the moment we stepped off the ferry in Bin Tan, the experience was fantastic. Fast-tracked through immigration then into a private car to the jetty for the boat to Nikoi. On arrival in Nikoi island, all of the expectations we had prior to the trip were exceeded.

The island itself is beautiful and perfectly maintained, keeping the balance with nature versus development at exactly the right level. The bungalows are luxurious while having a rustic charm. We had booked bungalow 5, which includes a separate room/bathroom for our third guest. Their room would have been large enough for the three of us and was sufficiently separate to be very private from our own. Air-conditioning is honestly not required as the open design allowed sufficient airflow to offer cooling day and night.

While the set menu does not allow for choice of food, the meals were one of the (many) highlights of the stay. The food was of the highest quality and the variety from meal-to-meal was great. The team checked our preferences when we arrived (one of us was vegetarian and another couldn't eat beef). Each meal was slightly tailored for to address these needs and not once did we need to remind the staff during the stay - reflective of the overall service.

The ratio of staff to guests was the highest I've ever experienced - I believe there are approximately 60 staff on the island for only 15 bungalows. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful.

We will be returning for sure - next time we'll try and make the effort to use more of the services such as the watersports. This trip was more about just switching off and relaxing!

Congratulations on the overall concept, which has been executed perfectly.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed the concept so much. Great to also read that you enjoyed the meals and that we were able to cater for your dietary needs. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was simply fantastic, maldives for a fraction of the price, quiet, peaceful, beautiful and very well thought through.

This is a small island with 15 houses only, food is excellent, not buffet- so great quality and varied.

we had a great time and will definately be returning.

Room Tip: the island is touched with seasonal breezes, so pick your time to get a breezy house, wear sea shoes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. It is particularly pleasing to read your comments about the food as kitchen has been putting a lot of effort into refining our meals and we are very pleased with the results. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

“Simplicity is about subtracting the obvious and adding the meaningful, Free yourself from the complexities of your life, simplicity and happiness awaits you at Nikoi.”

Although you go back to basics, we were never pampered like this before in our lives!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Wow - what a lovely review. You have made our day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wil, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We read many of the good reports Nikoi Island got before we booked it and so we did expect that it would be nice there. But wow, it's just fantastic. The beach house we stayed in was just like in a Robinson Crusoe Movie. And the staff was very nice too. The waiters Hardy and Raheem and the girl, who's name i forgot where really friendly and offered a good service. Also the beach boys, the house keeping, bar crew where nice. Always got a friendly smile if you saw one of them. The island itself is very nice, the food was great and freshly cooked (no buffet) and we just had a wonderful time. Our first visit, but for sure not the last.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much. Our staff will be very pleased to read your kind words about their service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Islands are intriguing and so is Nikoi Island with its shockingly white powdery soft sand, crystal clear sea and lush greenery.
On this tropical island, one has to forget about busyness of work and learn to let go of the need for tv, air-con, phones, PCs, hair dryers, fridge (though icebox is provided), internet (limited access).
Instead, my girlfriends and I found ourselves nourishing our senses with what Nikoi has to offer by:
- walking amongst the green canopies of indigenous trees in the coastal forest (we started the trail from Villa no. 15) and attempting to climb the not-so-steep 30m hill.
- marveling at the magnificent fringing coral reef, coastal saltwater mangrove and coral ‘graveyard’, gigantic white granite boulders, iPod Rock and treehouse near the beach bar
- kayaking, windsurfing, snorkeling, paddle-boarding or swimming at the saline swimming pool
- reveling in the nightly bonfire which starts around 7:30pm (depending on wind conditions) and toasting marshmallows with long wooden poles
- getting enraptured by sunrises at the poolside and sunsets at the Beach Bar
- mingling with the friendly Nikoi staff especially Yogi, Gugun and Jordan who served us chilled iced water, cocktails (do try Yogi’s Colada and Sangria), homemade crackers and cookies. We also checked out the library of books, jars of broken pottery and coins found near the island. And Yogi introduced us to the elegant Suzie (Golden Orb spider) who hangs out at the Beach Bar and feeds on bananas.
- watching movies at the lounge just behind the Beach Bar in the evenings.
- gazing at the vast magnificent constellation of stars
- busking in Nikoi's philosophy in preserving nature which is evident from the villas made of driftwood and dried grass thatching, solar hot water panels, hand-blended bathroom amenities, delectable meals they serve with local produce, smoothened sand dining floors, absence of motorised water sports.
Post-Nikoi me felt lighter, happier and bursting with energy….I can’t wait to return to Nikoi for the 3rd time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks for your kind and wonderfully detailed review. We particularly enjoyed reading your lovely descriptions of Nikoi and your experience of staying on the island. It is also very pleasing to read that you noticed many of the details that we have put so much effort into trying to get right. We are always trying to refine things so hopefully by the time you return we will have been able to add to the list. With regard to your room tip that houses 7-15 are breezier I would just like to add that whilst that is the case for this time of the year the prevailing winds swing around so that houses 1-6 are breezier from Oct through to March. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nikoi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikoi Island

Address: Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nikoi Island is a 15 hectare private island just 85kms from Singapore and has long been regarded as one of the most stunning islands on this unspoiled coast. Ringed with white sandy beaches and coral reefs of spectacular color and diversity, Nikoi is for those seeking a true private island experience and the comfort of a destination dedicated to responsible tourism practices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nikoi Island Bintan Island, Riau Islands
Nikoi Island Hotel Bintan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikoi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.