We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nikoi Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nikoi Island
Save Saved
You added Nikoi Island to your Saves list
Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
Sydn
1 review
“A wonderful weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful weekend on Nikoi. The spectacular island, delicious food and courteous staff made for a fine stay. We were kept busy with many activities - tennis, sailing and snorkelling - and managed to escape to read my book for several hours as well. There is no doubt in my mind that I'll be returning to Nikoi many times in the coming years.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    59
    16
    6
    9
See reviews for
197
197
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had heard a lot about it and finally we have experienced it ourselves. Nice staff, good food, stunning views and much more made our visit something we will never forget.
All the things arranged for the kids, jetty-jumping, fishing, forest hiking, treasure hunting, eating marshmallows by the bonfire or just play in the sand made our stay special for them as well. Our kids loved it and where sad to leave.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed it so much. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The natural beauty of the place drew us back for a second stay in 10 months. But the welcome and the sincerity of the staff were, like its natural beauty - unmatched. When we returned last week to Nikoi, we were greeted by not only friendly but familiar faces. They made us feel at home, right away. They remembered our son by name and before we could settle down to check in, our son shot off to look for Yogi (the biggest kid around) at the new kids club. Even the waiter who served us the last trip, Yensen, remembered what we liked to eat. He's now been promoted to Captain. We are very happy for him. Jordon, the turtle enthusiast, updated us on the turtle egg hatching situation. We also met Andi, whom, I have been corresponding on email. It's always great to put a face to a name. We also met the triplets: Jaspar, Milky and Bal. We did a double-take when we saw the same person serve us at two different locations within a span of 5 mins! Now we know why! So, Nikoi - to us - is now not only a great place for its white beaches, clear waters, great snorklling, good food, awesome jetty-jumping; it is also a very special place with special people that will truly make your family getaway a very memorable one. Thank you, Tony and your team of very special people! Special thanks to Yogi for all the wonderful wooden toys he made for our son and for helping me with making the necklace for my mother out of the shells I picked from the beach there. We'll be back! ;)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our staff all read the TA reviews and will delight in reading your very kind comments about them. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Thank you for such a wonderful visit. Our family raved about it for months, and now we know why. Tony, Sammy, Yogi, Jordan and the entire team made us feel so welcome from the moment we stepped off the bat. Our boys didn't want leave. Only disappointment we couldn't stay longer. A very special place. Cheers Jason

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed it to much. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Tried to call them initially to find out about the haze situation on the island, they never picked up the phone and diverted them to voice message. Finally got response via email. But absolutely refused to discuss about possible changes to our booking due to the haze. And very rudely told us that no one else has asked to make changes to the booking. Note that the huts are all non air-conditioned which means guests will be exposed to all the bad elements of this smog all the time. Very inflexible and poor service for the premium price and image they are portraying. They dont care that guests will not be able to enjoy the stay at all, and exposing themselves to health hazards. They are SOLELY CONCERNED ABOUT THEIR PROFITABILITY.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We did get a lot of enquiries about the haze and it did mean our reservations team were slower than usual to respond even after we had added extra man power. Despite our proximity we did not experience the same haze that Singapore experienced. In fact many guests who were on the island at the time chose to extend their stay taking up any available rooms. We did provide regular updates on Facebook and pictures. We will look at how we can improve this going forward.

To suggest that we are only focused on our profit is unfounded and you only need to see the resources that we put back into the local community to see this is not true. We do adhere to a strict cancellation policy that requires 14 business days notice and do recommend that guests take out comprehensive travel insurance to cover unforeseen changes to their travel plans. Again thanks for the feedback we will use it to see how we can improve our operation going forward. Again my apologies if you felt you were unfairly treated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Nikoi Island was what we needed to get away from the hustle & bustle of city life.

We can only say great things about our stay on Nikoi Island:

> Great Service from the Staff.
> Staff were very friendly.
> Great food for all meals. Kudos to the Chef.
> Great beach with white sandy sands. We thot we would see this only in the movies.
> Room was spacious with a huge bathroom.
> Sleeping to the sounds of waves hitting the beach and waking up to the call of birds.

Definitely be coming back a second time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed the food and service so much. We look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit. Thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This holiday was an absolute treat. I chose it because of the reviews on Trip Advisor but found it to be even better than it has been described. The food was amazing, we were well catered for despite our numerous dietary restrictions. The staff were friendly and relaxed, we felt we were staying at a home rather than a hotel. The massages were spot on and good value for money. Every detail of the accommodation has been thoughtfully considered. We were woken by a storm one morning which was an incredible experience. To be so close to the elements yet still in luxury! Thank you Nikoi, we shall visit again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and the experience of being so close to the elements yet still in luxury. It is very pleasing to hear you found it to be even better than what you were expecting. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day. Thanks for taking the time to post your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nikoi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikoi Island

Address: Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nikoi Island is a 15 hectare private island just 85kms from Singapore and has long been regarded as one of the most stunning islands on this unspoiled coast. Ringed with white sandy beaches and coral reefs of spectacular color and diversity, Nikoi is for those seeking a true private island experience and the comfort of a destination dedicated to responsible tourism practices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nikoi Island Bintan Island, Riau Islands
Nikoi Island Hotel Bintan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikoi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.