We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice EXperience Once” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nikoi Island

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nikoi Island
Save Saved
You added Nikoi Island to your Saves list
Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice EXperience Once”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Nice remote location. Rooms were large and staff friendly. A few days is enough with friendly atmosphere. A few more activities could be added. Price with required meals is not low but offers a more unique experience than typicsl resort (local beer is $5 usd per can!). Overall glad we went.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Please bear in mind our board rate does include most activities. In most other hotels guests will eat and drink at least some of their meals at outside venues this can mean that Nikoi seems expensive but it will be your total bill including transfers, activities, drinks, meals and massages. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    57
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
190
191
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Arrived for a four day stay in April 2012 with a friend for some R&R.
A really beautiful place the staff were great and the food excellent.
The beach huts were amazing and sleeping out doors was something else.
Anything you want and they;ll get it for you. Would love to go again.

Room Tip: Getting to sleep is an experience as you can hear the sea and the insects all night. I didnt mind i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back soon. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I can't imagine not giving this place less than a perfect vote. We discussed at length what they could have done better and all we could come up with was an extra reading light on the balcony... but seriously though, this has to be the most perfect place for a family wanting to escape life for a few days. Great, basic food served with smiles and laughter. Kids would disappear without a care in the world - and we didn't need to worry about them at all. Our son (4) fell in love with everything about the kid's club - Yogi for his daggers and swords and Mino for her laughter and passion for kids. Despite the warnings, our 2 year old found her sense of magic too and was so happy there (including catching 2 fish within her first 2 minutes on the pier, much to the disgust of her long casting son)

We were impressed too at the separation of families and "grown-ups" - a great simple, but effective idea.

We'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind review. Great to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay so much. We do recommend that children are over 4 years of age are best suited for Nikoi but great to hear your 2yo enjoyed the activities. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day. Thanks again for taking the time to review Nikoi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattison, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I were treated like royalty when we visited the island. Miss the staff they were great. The cabana was amazing the food delicious...NO COMPLAINTS HERE!!!!! Hoping to see that beautiful island again!!!!!

Room Tip: Worth the world to travel here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thanks very much for your very kind review. It was particularly pleasing to read that our staff looked after you so well and that you thought the food was delicious. We look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

As air-con and mod con addicts we planned our first trip to Nikoi with slight trepidation in June 2011... Since then we have returned a further four times, most recently enjoying a short pre-Christmas break. Why do we keep going back? It's so nice to travel a couple of hours from Singapore and find yourself completely off the beaten track; there's no TV and it's Robinson Crusoe luxe rather than corporate 5 star luxury - which makes a nice change from business travel; staff are always friendly and from the moment you land relaxation is guaranteed - even having a set menu rather than having to make a choice is liberating.
We missed a number of the regular staff as they were on home leave - but that's a good excuse for us to return again soon.....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
It is always a thrill to welcome our regular guests back again and again. Many thanks for taking the time to do yet another review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We heard a lot of good things about Nikoi before going, but still I was blown back by just how fantastic this place is.
We went 4 adults and 4 small kids and had an absolutely amazing time. Great food, lovely staff, lots of fun activities, amazing scenery, but most important - it was all done in a very laid back way. Whenever the kids wanted to do stuff in the activity area someone would turn up out of nowhere and make wooden swords, princess crowns, bracelets out of palm leaves - you name it...and when the rain came down hot chocolate appeared as a movie was playing.
This is by far the best place I have ever been on a beach vacation - it is a bit expensive, but worth every penny

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for your very kind review. Great to hear your kids enjoyed all of the activities and the laid back nature of the service. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back some day. Thanks again for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have just returned from Nikoi and had a lovely 5 day, 4 night stay. Staff were fantastic and setting lovely. Whilst the villas are very nice, they could do with a few more canvas coverings in monsoon season, especially in the 2nd bedroom as they are very open to the elements, so the wind and rain does come in a little. Easy fix though as canvas roll downs for open windows were provided in master bedroom.

Kids loved the Bonfires on the beach, zip wire and kids activities. So much for them to do!

We would definitely recommend Nikoi.

Room Tip: Second bedroom is a short walk across an open elevated walk way so a little trickier with little kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relaxedby, Owner at Nikoi Island, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. We will have a look at how we can fit some canvas awnings to the second bedrooms as you suggest. Thanks again and we hopefully look forward to seeing you on Nikoi again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nikoi Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nikoi Island

Address: Private Island, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#1 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nikoi Island is a 15 hectare private island just 85kms from Singapore and has long been regarded as one of the most stunning islands on this unspoiled coast. Ringed with white sandy beaches and coral reefs of spectacular color and diversity, Nikoi is for those seeking a true private island experience and the comfort of a destination dedicated to responsible tourism practices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Nikoi Island Bintan Island, Riau Islands
Nikoi Island Hotel Bintan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nikoi Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.