We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful holiday” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful holiday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We had a peaceful and relaxing stay here. Amenities are neat and mediocre. Place is really windy and relaxing. Atmosphere is quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was okay. The rooms are clean and basic. We are a couple who decided to get away from the city for a weekend. It served its purpose. Bintan is not a fantastic place to visit but we enjoyed our stay here. Good for a short trip. The only downside is the long drive from the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    76
    84
    29
    17
See reviews for
43
82
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went with my cycling group to Bintan for cycling and stayed here for 1 night. As everyone has mentioned, the resort is run down and badly in need of maintenance. The plus factors are that is an idyllic and breezy place and if u're just here to chill it's ok. I thought the beach was beautiful. Breakfast was disappointing and the food in general was just average. The staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here with my older children for a few days, whilst visiting Singapore. The staff were very welcoming, polite and we had a lovely suite, spacious, clean and good value for money. This is the perfect location for a few days relaxation. Children were disappointed that we couldn't book diving lessons, or no assistance provided to do so with neighbouring resorts. Fantastic for a peaceful stay but limited transport provided to access local areas or markets. Avoid the bike ride! enjoyed the mangrove tour, staff very helpful. Two restaurants, good choice of food but found service variable. Beautiful sunrise and spa treats. We really enjoyed our stay and the calm, pretty surroundings. Maria and boys

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My wife and I checked in 10 August and out 11 August. Here is a short review of our experience.

1. Getting there.
We secured the resort and left the ferry booking to be done a few days before the trip. The resort website was not helpful -> http://www.agrobeach.com/location.html . It mentioned only route to resort is by Tg Pinang port and the ferries are fully booked due to the long weekend. We called up the resort and they were pretty helpful. Resort staff responded that pickup can be arranged from Bandar Bentan Telani Terminal (preferred). We secured the 1110am ferry and 135pm (due to long weekend holiday) next day return ferry https://www.brf.com.sg/phpsite/?page_id=39. Land transport will be handled by the resort.

Cleared the customs at BBT and went into the transports operators outside the terminal. Told them Agro beach resort and was referred to a guy who had our names on his list. Small van was arranged to pick us to Agro and the rest of the passengers will be dropping off at Cabana resort.

Journey to Cabana was 1 hour, 15 minutes additional to reach Agro.

2. Resort and food

Too Early for check in, we headed for lunch at Sun Moon Restaurant which was elevated over the sea. It was decent Chinese style food at decent price. Had crabs and their Indonesian BBQ items which were coated with dark and sweet sauce.

Saw many beach goers on the banana boat / flying fish rides and enjoying the beach. Oceanic Spa was fully booked and we had to book for Sunday morning instead.

After lunch the tide was low and all rides were stopped. You could walk on ankle high water for 400 metres out into the sea.

We checked in and got a room on the second floor above the Asiana Beach Bistro. It had a view facing the pool and sea but pity it was super low tide. Sky was overcast too. No sun and sea :(

Room was basic and clean. TV reception was bad. Shower water heater had to be switched on for 45 minutes before you had hot water.

3. Resort facilities

Swimming pool was small packed with kids. Water was very cloudy and I had to have my goggles on. After 10 minutes we gave up.

On the beach were many small shelter huts. A group was playing beach volleyball.

Wanted to try Asiana Beach Bistro but they do not seem like they serve dinner. We exchanged our welcome drink coupon there. No one was eating there and the lights were dim. Staff did not approach us with menu.

We went back to sun moon for dinner and beer. Bought a durian from the counter. IT was good!

Next day we enjoyed couple massage at the spa. Room had a view of the sea. Massage was good and we enjoyed a discount having booked the day before. Instead of SGD 80 we paid $72.

We had breakfast buffet at the Asiana then walked about the resort and transport picked us up promptly at 1130. Nothing to shout about for Breakfast, only eggs cooking counter was something which met the expectations.

IT was another hour and 15 minutes drive back to BBT.

Room Tip: Buy beer and drinking water from the BBT terminal. Costs less than the resort. Singapore currency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

You can read the full review here http://pepperminter.blogspot.sg/2012/12/bintan-agro-resort-spa-with-bonvo-travel.html

Basically the entire place has only 1 spa, 1 sea sports and 1 cafe.

It's a good place to really relax from hectic lifestyle but not a fantastic view from the beach. It's quiet and quite isolated. Getting to the town would be a waste of time so basically we just slacked in the resort watching TV etc.

Don't expect too much and this trip would be fine.

Room Tip: Pool view would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We reached at 8pm by ferry and reached the hotel at 10 15.no warm welcome.rushed to d hotel which closes at 10 30 and were reluctantly given small portions of food.went to sleep practically empty stomach.they dont provide more than two bottles of water.4 power cuts in two days.while returning they missed out on my roomates names for the bus back to the ferry terminal. Never going back there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The trip went sour because of the management:
- No welcome drink was provided
-Restaurants close at 10:30, so they expect us to eat by then. Otherwise they expect us to go hungry
-They do not provide drinking water if the stay is beyond 2 days. They flatly refused me water when I asked. They stated that complimentary water service was over and that I had to buy water to drink after the second day
-They refused to serve us dessert at the restaurant after 10:30 pm...even though we sat to have dinner well before 10 pm
-Power went out 3-4 times during our stay
-On the date of departure,they messed up our complimentary bus service to the ferry terminal. We went as a group of 5 people and booked two rooms. But they arranged transport for only one of us. On top of that,they showed us a very bad attitude and were very rude. Only after a long verbal battle did they provide us a separate transport.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.