We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Rp 150k on Weekdays
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went for a 2D1N stay, got the voucher from Groupon. The journey took indeed 1 hour + from central area..

Staff were really helpful, sent us to our Oceanic Room on a trishaw when we arrived in the evening.(held up by the other tour mates!! should have gone free & easy!) Their packaged dinner at the Sun Moon restaurant was not bad, we got some vegetable chicken soup followed by main dish(chicken was humoungous but a little hard) followed by desserts - watermelon.

The next day we decided to wake up at 6am Bintan time to have a soak in the sea but we were shocked because its' low tide is something we had never seen before, the water had receded way back into the far depths of the vast ocean that lay beyond. I think the water started seeping in at only about 10am, when many of the water activities started.. so we started getting ready for breakfast.

Breakfast was horrible, the noodle looks fake, the roti prata I got was not even cooked!! The only thing that saved us from hunger were the small pieces of nuggets, ate only that till we felt full. Besides there were so many flies flying around disturbing our peace! You have been warned! We would have just sat inside our room eating cup noodle if we had known earlier.

The oceanic room 6103 we got was just fine, beds are suprisingly clean.. toilets dun really flush well though but i tink that's a whole bintan thing.. everything was fine for the room and staff were very friendly and hospitable throughout..

Oh we went for a 15-20 min horse ride and managed to take pic with it although the horse can be a little hard to manage, would keep turning his head when we are trying to take picture! It costs 76000 Rupiah, quite worth it. I thought there was an elephant ride too but I think that could be ages ago...

Overall, I would say it is pretty average. Might book here in advance again but won't take the breakfast deal !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    89
    101
    32
    19
See reviews for
50
92
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stay 2 nights in their Jacuzzi suite in this resort. The resort is run down with only few facilities. If you are looking for a nice, sandy beach, you will be disappointed. In high tide, the beach is rocky and during low tide, it is muddy. The water run from the Jacuzzi is brownish and rusty. I have it runs for 2 hour before it looks “normal”. Water heater is not working most of the time. Most of the water sports require a minimum of 3 participant. Therefore, limited choices for couples.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The location is fantastic,you won't be bored coz of the many activities offered. The rooms looks comfy but needs to be cleaned well. Blankets & towels a bit old. On off lights in the middle of the night. But enjoyed our stay here anyway. Hospitable & polite staffs,feels safe in this place. I'll still come to this resort next time, hopefully the cleanliness of the rooms will improve in future. Enjoyed the food at the Kelong Restaurant, too. Reasonable price I can say.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The location is quite nice. That's about where the nice part ended for me, though. Travelling with friends: group of seven. We had three rooms and the AC had issues in two of the three rooms. In one room it would randomly turn off and in ours it just could not keep up and keep the room cool. In addition, the louvers made a squeaking noise all night long making it rather difficult to sleep. The toilet didn't flush. The rest of bathroom was old and tired looking. The place is clean enough, but it just looks worn down and tired out.

We ate at the restaurant in the evening and had the included breakfast in the morning. In both cases the food was just OK.

I expect that I will likely have to pay to rent snorkeling equipment, but they also charge for the ping pong table and the pool tables. None of these were in any condition that would make them worth paying for. The ping pong table was bubbled up and swollen in many places. The pool tables were just abused. I don't understand how they could really be charging for stuff in this kind of condition.

Also, staying here puts you quite far from civilization, so I'm not sure there's much you can do outside of using the resort facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

After seeing so many review, I decided to try out this hotel for 3D2N from deal but ended up with disappointment. The 1st night we are in Blue Ocean Room, everything is ok but the only thing that I feel not worth for the price because when I reached blue ocean room, I can see there is 4 blue ocean room but there only 2 corner room with big balcony. unfortunately we are in one of the centre room that come with "super mini size balcony" with the "chair facing the wall". I wonder why I pay so much to see the WALL. Everyone is paying the same price for the blue ocean room but why we are getting different from others? We wanna go for karaoke but closed everyday. And the worst is all bicycle is old n spolit, we not even got the chance to cycling. Then the deal shouldn't put all included cos all cannot be used. 2nd night we shift to superior room 7315 and the disaster started. 1st, water pipe burst ended up with no water for the whole night. The technician came up n down our room at least 5 times. The kind manager suggest us to change room but all our thing is unpack and is around 11pm so we rejected and he given us second choice to go to another room for shower, we accept n feel finally there is a solution. When one of the guy came up to pass us the key and ask us to pass the key back to receptionist when we done, I told him NO. Why should we ? we r staying at 3rd flr, up n down the stairs like this for nothing after tiredly day, what is this ? Ended up we nvr go for shower cos the room given by the manager was at another bldg. He expected us to go down to 1st flr n go to another bldg at 2nd flr n later go back to our bldg at 3rd flr ??? Ended up we r given a bucket of water that enough for us to brush teeth n boil water. And they promise us the water will be back by tomorrow morning. I thought all the unhappiness should stop by now but when we goin to sleep, we found that the bed was so dirty with a lot of dirty stains, it already very late and we just wanna leave it n sleep but our whole body was so itch until we can't take it anymore, ended up call housekeeping to change the bedsheet. The following day morning, the receptionist called and say the water was not up yet. What is this ? And we got no choice need to go another bldg for shower before rushing for our ferry. During breakfast today, the flr was wet n i most fall, so many ppl but no one bother to clean up until i complain to one of the chef i think. This is the worst I even had in my lifetime. I really think that the hotel should do something abt this and not just only say say. Thank you !

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Agro beach resort is fantastic place to stay. We went on our Ist Anniversary and loved the hospitality in overall. We took the honeymoon package and we got Oceanic Spa and A candlelight dinner on top of the beautiful sea view room with a balcony with complete view to sea. SPA was really amazing spent full 2.5 hrs and was really relaxing. Candlelight dinner was beautifully arranged by the staff, veg food as per our choice was cooked for us. When we reached for dinner we were greeted so well and very nicely the food was served. The chef was great to come out and explain how he cooked the dishes. Great stay in total, we checked in very early and hotel staff was prepared for our arrival. check-in/Check-out was quick. Transfer from the ferry terminal was also comfortable. While going to resort they arranged a bus and while dropping us back a car was arranged. A very nice resort in overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

old resort , but overall much better than what we expect. Room are ok, not high class but confortable enough. Restaurant are very nice eather at the jetty or at pool side with very low choice but very good. Especially the beef burger. Nice view from the pool . Sea is not really nice , grey sand and seaweed. But problem to dive and play with kids , no rock or oursin. The resort can provide you trip around nice island , nice snorkling on well preserve corail reef. Or stay on a white sand beach with clear blue water and coconut tree. They provide as well at reasonable price water sport activities, recommendations for the flying fish !
Of if you are kiting or want to start , a lot of monitors are here, and you can also enjoy the bar almost on the beach for your cocktail and music.
Yes i will be back with my family to enjoy the place and kite , with i hope enough wind that time. Huge discount on the room if you kite !
The resort is at 45 min from the ferry terminal and transfer done in a confortable bus. Left resort ar 6pm to arrived singapour around 10 pm, so you can enjoy your full day in the pool !

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our humble establishment. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your recent stay, and it is a pleasure to know that our guests had good impression on our resort, and your satisfaction is a benchmark that we will always strive to achieve. We hope that you will consider visiting us again in the near future, and that your second visit will be as good as the second one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
0.4 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
#13 of 29 in Bintan Island
3.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
25.4 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#7 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,083 reviews
22.3 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
24.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#10 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the East coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.