We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is not that bad, but the journey from the jetty is a bit of a killer. 2 hours to get there, beach is quite nice. The family room is huge and spacious, would recommend for a quick and short getaway.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Edwin,
Greetings from Bintan Agro Beach & Resort. We are elated to know that your recent trip to our establishment has been enjoyable. We strive to improve, and your review is great news to our humble resort. We will share the news to our team, and we sincerely hope that you’d visit us for a second time. Thank you for spending time to write us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    79
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
43
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had a 3 day 2 night stay and really enjoyed every minute at the resort. It is compact and rooms were close to the pool and restaurant for breakfast. The resort also had a strip of "private" beach which is really beautiful. We had outdoor foot reflexology and Thai massage at a hut facing the sea - very relaxing and not expensive (SGD18 for 60 minute foot reflexology & SGD27 for 75 minute of Thai massage). Other than spa and massage, resort has sea sports activities like canoeing, karaoke, beach ball. Resort also has half day city tours costing SGD10 per head. Staff are also very helpful and hospitable. Will consider organizing a family trip down here again.

Room Tip: You can try requesting for a room facing the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Warmest greetings from Bintan Agro Beach & Resort. We are pleased to know that your recent trip to our establishment has been enjoyable. We strive to improve, and your review is uplifting news for our humble resort. We will share the news to our team, and we sincerely hope that your second visit will be as enjoyable as the first one, if not better. Thank you for spending time to write us a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 days 1 night. The bus journey was long about 1 hour from the ferry terminal to the resort. It rained for two whole days when we were there in mid Jan 13, so we did not do any water sports. Anyway the beach area is small and not very nice. We did the Queen and King Spa which was not too bad. We booked online in advance and got a 20% discount. We had fried rice and fried noodles and watermelon juice for lunch at an affordable price, less than $15. Dinner was included, an Indonesian set dinner which includes rice, fish, chicken, vegetables and soup, better than what we expected at the Sun Moon Restaurant. The best part of the trip was our room. We stayed at the Blue Ocean Room with the balcony overlooking the sea, very romantic for couples. The room is also very spacious and comfortable. Overall an ok trip, could be better without the rain.

Room Tip: Blue Ocean Room with balcony
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Hi Ms Amy,
Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay in our establishment. We are pleased to know that you had enjoyed your recent stay, and will share the news to our team, to motivate them and keep up the good work. We regret if you did not enjoy your trip to the best due to rain, but we sincerely hope that you’d consider visiting our resort again. We hope that your second visit will be better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My friend and I stayed there for 2days and 1 night. Quite far because we traveled 45minutes from the port just to get in there and we passed by some of the resorts in Bintan and I guess it was the better one coz the other's smaller than this resort.

The rooms are pretty good and spacious and the sea view from the room really took our breath away especially in the morning where the sun was rising.

The only quite-bad(not really), there is no wifi inside the room so we need to go down to the lobby or to the poolside just to browse net.
The restaurants were spacious but kind of disappointing because when we had breakfast, there were flies around the tables and the chafing dishes, and it was absolutely irritating. (I did took shower anyway before we go for breakfast)
The activities were limited.

The poolside has a good view anyway, near the sea.
The spa was awesome. I fell asleep though.

And the service was good also.

Room Tip: 1 night stay would be good enough, because its far from the city, or any market, so your day will on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Agro for a weekend of kitesurfing and though the kitesurfing was amazing this hotel is dated and very run down. We booked one of the Blue Ocean Suites which stands on stilts above water. Though it was lovely being on the sea the room was really unpleasant and a huge disappointment (especially for the price we paid). Both the room and the bathroom are large but the decor looks like it's from the 70s, the sheets and towels are ripped and stained (presumably these are also from the 70s) and there is a sense of uncleanliness. The toilet seat broke and when we had a look we saw that it had been broken previously and the staff had "fixed" it by wedging a pencil through it!
In regards to the rest of the resort there are lots of activities on offer – there's beach volleyball, basketball, karaoke, a spa and water sports. There's also a really nice pool – however the the sun loungers are wooden, uncomfortable and are fixed in an upright position. For a group of school children I imagine this resort would be fine, but for anyone else I wouldn't recommend it. The food here is also terrible and unfortunately there aren't any restaurants nearby.
On a positive note the staff were friendly and helpful but sadly overall the Agro was a huge disappointment and it is in desperate need of a makeover. We won't be back.

Room Tip: Don't pay a lot of money for a Blue Ocean Suite, instead choose a cheaper room which I imagine a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank for your kind input on our resort. We thank you for choosing Bintan Agro Beach Resort for your kitesurfing destination. We apologize for any inconviniences that occurred during your stay, and we strive to improve for the better.
Our resort is currently undergoing on a renovation, and the following points you had highlighted are being addressed. We hope that you may spare another time again to visit our resort in the future, and we have privileged discounts for kiters on all of our facilities
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 night for kitesurfing lessons. Very basic hotel. Room was okay, could be better if the bathroom is cleaner. The staff are very helpful though.
Breakfast was average. Need to add fresh food or improve the menu.

Room Tip: We had room with ocean view. Nice to see the sun rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Ms Dewi, behalf on the management, we want to thank you for your visit and stay at our resort. We hope that you had enjoyed your vacation and please come again next time. Our breakfast selection now offers new fresh fruits as items
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in ocean suite room n it's in middle of the ocean, it's was so spacious,beautiful wit balcony! Gud for honeymooners as its a quiet place! Their service is gud n they r very helpful! Their sea sports r nice! Beach was ok! Their sun moon restaurant seafood r awesome! However their Asiana bistro should improve on their food! Breakfast not bad. The journey frm ferry terminal to hotel is 1hr 15mins by shuttle they provide! Quite tiring for long journey! They can improve on other activities like pubs, badminton court, wifi etc. overall nice quiet place to stay away frm busy lifestyle! Gud job bintan agro!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.