We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, Crab!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Jinju, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Oh, Crab!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

It took long time to get to here from pier. Room and bathroom looked quite simple. Simple did not mean bad. There was a giant mantis outside room, and a super giant lizard inside room. Yes, we were in tropical island! Generally, everything seemed to be well managed and properly functioned. Breakfast included in room rate was limited, but still nice. Swimming pool was not superb, but suitable for kids. You can also enjoy spa and massage with very reasonable price. Beach was not good for swimiing, but good for crab-chaser. There were many crabs. My son really loved that!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    79
    86
    29
    17
See reviews for
43
85
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

This trip was supposed to be a girly-spa-getaway for four girls but it turned into a horrendous we-want-to-go-home-on-the-first ferry encounter.
Nevermind about the long and bumpy ride, but the bus broke down midway.
The hotel is run down. Our room was hot and stuffy as air-conditioning unit was not working. Requested for it to be fixed but it broke down again (read on).
There were stains on the comforter and sheets, and the pillow smells awful.
Toilet was old and dirty, the water heater and tap weren't working very well. Heater temperature was erratic, tap water surges inconsistently.

The in-house spa was bad........We all chose the Queen's spa but we felt no where close to being a queen. The massage technique was below standard. The head rest was lower than the bed, causing much discomfort to our necks.The masseurs do not understand English and were more interested in cleaning up the rooms to prepare for the next patrons.

Dinner at SunMoon was ok, the food was not fantastic, but the nice atmosphere made up for it.

We went back to the room only to find that the air-con was still not functioning. It was already 11pm. We asked for a change of rooms, only to be given a room that has a faulty door lock. So the four of us squeezed into ONE ROOM, on ONE QUEEN SIZE BED, and we barely sleep a wink. We were dying to go home on the first ferry and made our way back first thing in the morning.

We will never go back again.

Room Tip: good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bintan Agro Bea... R, Manager at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank for your kind review. On behalf of the management, we apologize for the inconvenience that you felt during stay at our resort, and we are deeply sorry for the experience you had to endure..
Our resort is undergoing renovation to improve all the rooms and facilities that we have. We also do frequent room checking to make sure all the rooms amenities are working well. We regretted that our regular spot checks had failed to detect the said problem, that led to your experience.
We also apologize for the inadequacy of your spa treatment. The management will increase the number of trainings to improve our staff quality of service and also capabilities in communication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

best friend & I stayed there for 2days1night & got the deal from deals.com:

Bintan: 2D1N Stay at Bintan Argro Beach & Spa Resort OR Bintan Cabana Resort
Only $98 per pax instead of $199 (Min 2 Pax)
Package Includes:
One night accommodation at Bintan Agro/Bintan Cabana Superior Room for twin sharing
Return ferry ticket
Return land transfer
Free kayaking for one hour
Free bicycle ride for one hour
One Indonesia style lunch at Sun Moon Seafood Restaurant
One buffet breakfast
Choice of ONE of the following activities:
Snorkeling (min. 4 pax)
Flying Fish
Poparazzi
Big marble
Banana Boat
City Tour with Lunch (min. 6 pax)

1) Ferry from Tanamerah Terminal: sat in ECONOMY CLASS. ordinary ride, approximately 45mins - 1 hour. showed cartoons (e.g. tom & jerry) throughout the ride (there is another upper class called EMERALD)

2) Bus Trip to Agro: there were staff at Bintan custom greeting us with smiles, asking us where we were going to stay & giving good directions for us to find our driver. bus trip took ~1hrs10mins & it was pretty bumpy, driver drove insanely fast,

3) Check-in: efficient, we were allowed to check-in earlier than the usual 3pm. staff were very welcoming with smiles.

4) Souvenir Shop: Agro has a souvenir shop, pretty warm & stuffy (didnt sell BINTAN magnets, but the shops at the custom have)...nothing much to buy..they had a table outside providing HANNA services

5) Convenience Store: small, price pretty much the same as Singapore's products.

6) Room: unexpectedly huge with a lovely balcony overseeing the sea. hairdryer, electric kettle, 2 bottles of complimentary mineral water were provided.

7) Electric Sockets: same as Singapore's (3-pin). experienced 1 power failure during the 2d1n

8) Bicycle Rental: we had a 1-hour free bicycle rental but it was pretty redundant (we were only allowed to cycle in the resort - which is pretty small -) we could finish 1 round of the resort in 15 mins

9) Pools: 2 pools, both pretty small & not suitable for swimming, only recommended for sun-tanning & chilling by the pool

10) Food: only 2 restaurants (1) SUNMOON - good food, reasonable price, having larger portion meals as compared to ASIANA. situated on kelong, good dining view, might be able to see people playing water sports (2) ASIANA RESTAURANT - food not bad. is where buffet brekky is served. but serving portion of meals is pretty small ! both restaurants serve a wide selection of alcohol (price similar to Singapore's)

11) Sea & Sunrise: it has v low tide, so low that we were not able to have the banana boat ride (had to be driven 10 mins away to another beach for the activity). water is very dirty. however, the sunrise is beautiful..be there at 530am to catch sunrise.

12) Gym: they have a "fitness center", the one & only gym in the world without aircon...with many reasonable equipments

13) DVD & TV Rental: tv reception wasnt too good..mostly indo channels & a channel 8 (all fizzy blurry & grey). rented a DVD player & 2 DVDs @ $10 for 12 hours. not too bad :) hotel staff had to come fix up the DVD player. relatively old movies but a wide range to choose from.

14) Currency $$$: they accept SGD or rupiah @ the conversion of 1: 7,300

15) Oceanic Spa: booking in advance of 1 day gives you 10% discount. we had the SWEDISH massage @ $36/hr (original $40/hr). may choose your own oil scent, they serve ginger tea as a welcome drink . massage was ordinary.

16) Water Sports: pretty pricey !! e.g. 10 mins of poparazzi/banana boat for S$12/pax. there are special packages though

17) Trip to Tanjong Pinang: they have a daily 615pm shuttle service to a shopping mall called Tanjong Pinang @ S$10/pax

18) Zoo: the tiniest zoo ever. with the saddest animals living in it (beside the basketball court). there were many rabbits (hungry & havin only grass to eat), tortises that live in muddy (as hell) water, many roosters, parrots & birds. their cages look so abandoned.

19) Photo-taking with horse: we saw a pretty horse with it's rider by the beach & decided to snap pictures. rider was helpful & friendly. but after all the pictures, he asked for S$2.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We were at this place with our kids (7 and 3) for a 2 day holiday from Singapore. Pickup from airport went off flawlessly and the drive, though long, was beautiful. Unfortunately, it was all downhill from there.
First thing we realised on checking in was that the room smelt of cigarette smoke strongly and the flush didnt work. After explaining this to the front desk, they eventually agreed to change it to the next one. We were told that the hotel was completely full. This didn't seem to be true when we walked around the pretty large property later, lots of entire buildings seemed to be vacant. In any case, the second room turned out to be better.
The other major challenge was food. We tried ordering various things customised to kids tastes but all the food came out very greasy and unappetising. If I had to pick one thing that set the tone for the trip, it would be the bad food.
What did stand out though was the beach. It was beautiful and we would have really had fun if it weren't for the fact that we were switched off by allnthe things before we got to it. I would definitely recommend the trikora beach as a place to go!
We specifically wanted to get out of the very touristy resort cluster in the north of the island, but we did expect a basic but clean place with reasonable food even if it didn't have many luxuries. Based on this experience, I am pretty sure I will not be going here again. In retrospect, for what we paid for this place including the food etc, I would probably have had a better experience in the more packaged resorts..

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Me & my friends plan a short getaway from Singapore since its holiday. We stayed in Cabana Beach Resort May 5-5 for holiday summer getaway. It has a very nice view of the beach specially when you booked a sea view cabana. The staffs are very helpful and accommodating. The sister hotel 'Agro Beach Resort' offers an island hopping cost $20 which is super worth it for the very relaxing clear blue water, white sands and sun. They also offer a free land transfer from Cabana to Agro. I definitely recommend the BINTAN CABANA BEACH RESORT specially those in tight budget. =)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Yes we bought a Groupon Offer but even if the 4 of us hadn't too big expectations, we were disappointed. The hotel was not charming at all, the rooms were not clean, the equipment and furniture were very old. We had to cop with regular electricity shut down. The wind passing through are windows was whistling all night. The food was good, but the restaurant still under construction. Painter was 5 meters away from our table. The swimming pool was nice, luckily because the sea water was just dark and oily.
Staff was friendly and trying to help. We had a good time at the foot massage spot on the beach.

Still wondering how so nice pics could be seen on their website.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

A very basic place that is in need of a lot of work to update it. It looks very tired. However, it is the terrible customer service that ruined the whole weekend. Everything was too much trouble for the staff and our requests for information fell on deaf ears.

There is no beach but when the tide goes out you are left with many square kilometers of mud flats which are fun to explore with the children who found loads of crabs, shell fish etc in the pools. When the tide is in the same expanse is covered in approx. 1 metre of water and makes an ideal location to kite surf.

Expect budget accommodation and no service if you chose to go here. However, the seafood restaurant was very pleasant and we were always happy with our food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#8 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bintan Agro Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.