We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012 via mobile

A totally awesome place .... Good price ... I will definetly come back to this place

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    76
    81
    29
    16
See reviews for
42
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

I do not generally like to give a negative review unless I feel that I have been led astray by false advertisements. I even took the extra precaution of checking out the photos briefly to check on the quality of this resort.

Apparently they have an excellent photographer who can capture photos and make the place look much nicer than it actually is. First off, the journey from the ferry terminal was really long and painful. We were cramped into a small van which had a sub-par aircon for close to an hour. This has to be a BAD start to a holiday.

The resort quite ok. We had lowered expectations owing to the fact that we had gotten the deal off Groupon. The room was decent, equivalent to a mid range chalet type with the basic facilities such as bar fridge, tv etc.

We decided to go have lunch. Lunch was just rice with a catfish, soup and some vegetables thrown in. It was free and relatively delicious so I would not be complaining. We proceeded to hit the pool which was not bad. The pool looked really out of place as it looked much newer/nicer compared to the rest of the place.

The beach was nothing to shout about. We decided not to try the beach sports as the boats were made of fibre glass and looked like somewhat dodgy. That aside the free kayaking was quite fun and we had a nice time paddling around.

The night was boring to say the least as we had a dinner similar to lunch and headed back to the room for some TV which was shorn of selection and entertainment value. I was already eagerly anticipating the spa package we were going to enjoy the next morning.

Breakfast was sub par with little selection. I was not really complaining as it was part of the package and the previous day’s experience had made me lower my expectations even lower to avoid disappointment.

The spa I have to stay was good. The place was quite tranquil and the staff were really nice. Whatsmore we got a discount as we had booked the package the day before. This was easily the best thing we had experienced before our pilgrimage (see the sarcasm?) back to the ferry terminal.

Overall it was a poor holiday bar the spa. I feel slightly frustrated at having to spend money and weekend time at a poor place. I would have spent the money better else where. To be honest I reckon my office would have been a nicer place to spend the weekend lol.....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012 via mobile

The place is an hour ride from ferry terminal and basically an hour from any decent beach or food places except its own 2 restaurants. Good value and friendly staff are two plus points.
The spa facility is half done, with only cold water to shower. Massage itself is ok, but don't do the body mask or anything require a bath unless you are super robust.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in Bintan Agro Cabana, the sister hotel nearby and the biggest disappointment for us was that we booked this hotel as it advertizes itself on booking site(s) as being in the LAGOI area - where the great beaches and resorts are. The hotel is however at TRIKORA, at a small stretch of sand, with shallow water and no waves. The place is 1.5 hours away from Lagoi! Activities and bike / car hire are overpriced, for motorbike hire 10 SGD/hour, which is more than what you pay in Bali for a full day..... Service also struggles to be mediocre in Cabana, in Agro Beach it is ok. It's a beach and I'd trade it for a day at the office most of the time, but during the stay i couldn't shake the feeling of being cheated.
So my advise:
Spend MORE and visit one of the great resorts in Lagoi,
OR
Spend much LESS and go to a beach a few km further, called TRIKORA 4 (empat. MUCH wider beach and nice waves to play with. And the beach is totally FREE! Accommodation nearby is easy to find, just drive along the coastal road and try a few places and take one you like.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

The location is superb, nice white sands ... Bintan cabana is a nice place to relax and unwind ... I will sure to come back to this place.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

It was a good experience staying in this resort. The people who served us were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and in tip-top shape. Breakfast is good. We also played billiards beside going to the swimming pool. My husband and I had a good massage. We really had a great time at the resort chilling out, spending time together for a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good points first, the staff were very very nice and friendly. Like it was about 2 mins walk from the restaurant/recept area back to my garden villa, but because it was raining very bad, after dinner one of the guys called the van to pick us up and send us back to the villa.

The ala carte dinner & breakfast is not too bad. Good spread of breakfast, but not warm enuff, only for non fussy peeps.

Downside, our villa is more of like a chalet, very empty, only a old school sofa in the living room, toilet, and the bed room. The tv is in the bedroom and v limited channels. We stayed in our room most of the time because we were very unlucky, it was pouring very very heavily. And brown color water was spilling into the villa underneath the door.

We couldnt do anything. So if any of you want to give it a try Bintan in Dec, my advice is, PLEASE DON'T. It was a scary experience on the ferry itself. The boat was rocking so bad that everyone was screaming and throwing up! :(

Its about 1 hr bus ride to the hotel from the ferry terminal. Long long ride.

So because the weather was so bad, we went there had dinner & went back to hotel to watch tv (which was out for 20 mins or so cos i think the atenna broke or smth and the phone wasnt working) *HORRORS*

Next day wake up do spa, the massage was quite bad too. Shes like damn rough altho i told her to be gentler.

The water at the sea is not clean. Not sure if i would want to do any sea sports there.

Honestly, i m sure i will enjoy it more if it wasnt pouring, but i raelly think batam is a better choice. Next time i am sure i will try other more popular resorts.

Room Tip: Pick the seaside villa. it looks much nicer than the garden villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.