We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"It was a good experience"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“"It was a good experience"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

It was a good experience staying in this resort. The people who served us were very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and in tip-top shape. Breakfast is good. We also played billiards beside going to the swimming pool. My husband and I had a good massage. We really had a great time at the resort chilling out, spending time together for a weekend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    76
    79
    29
    16
See reviews for
42
81
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Good points first, the staff were very very nice and friendly. Like it was about 2 mins walk from the restaurant/recept area back to my garden villa, but because it was raining very bad, after dinner one of the guys called the van to pick us up and send us back to the villa.

The ala carte dinner & breakfast is not too bad. Good spread of breakfast, but not warm enuff, only for non fussy peeps.

Downside, our villa is more of like a chalet, very empty, only a old school sofa in the living room, toilet, and the bed room. The tv is in the bedroom and v limited channels. We stayed in our room most of the time because we were very unlucky, it was pouring very very heavily. And brown color water was spilling into the villa underneath the door.

We couldnt do anything. So if any of you want to give it a try Bintan in Dec, my advice is, PLEASE DON'T. It was a scary experience on the ferry itself. The boat was rocking so bad that everyone was screaming and throwing up! :(

Its about 1 hr bus ride to the hotel from the ferry terminal. Long long ride.

So because the weather was so bad, we went there had dinner & went back to hotel to watch tv (which was out for 20 mins or so cos i think the atenna broke or smth and the phone wasnt working) *HORRORS*

Next day wake up do spa, the massage was quite bad too. Shes like damn rough altho i told her to be gentler.

The water at the sea is not clean. Not sure if i would want to do any sea sports there.

Honestly, i m sure i will enjoy it more if it wasnt pouring, but i raelly think batam is a better choice. Next time i am sure i will try other more popular resorts.

Room Tip: Pick the seaside villa. it looks much nicer than the garden villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Bought the 2D1N through a deal website. Didnt expect so much frm this deal but it turns out to be so much better than what we expected. The buffet lunch & dinner was good just that some dish were repeated. The buffet breakfast was quite a spread too. People there were very very friendly. We went to play banana boat on the second day so we checked out early so we don't have to travel from Agro back to Cabana. We asked the lady who's in charge of the water sports to take pictures of us & take care of our belongings. To our surprise, she actually took so many pictures of us on the banana boat & even pictures our banana boat overturned. Really nice & friendly people there. The scenary at Cabana is way better than Agro but Agro is more of a convenient place since massage & seasports are there. Travelling from Cabana > Agro already wasted 10mins. The food at Agro were great tooo! We love their fruit juice, so pure.. They even keep reminding us the time to board the bus back the ferry terminal. I will come back to Bintan Agro next timeeeee!! <3

Room Tip: My room was facing the sea. It's nice in the morning & day but scary at the night because it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in the room at the sea master block. Overall, it's a nice place though there isn't any real beach there. Due to monsoon season, the sea water is cloudy and there isn't any sun. Service is really good. The staff members I met were all very kind and courteous.

Only one negative thing about this trip - the mosquitoes in our room. There were a lot of mosquitoes, probably 10+ flying around. Perhaps due to the occasional rain so there were more than usual? I was bitten quite a few of them. Bring mosquito coils and insect repellant/patch!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Stayed on the honeymoon package for a night in the Blue Ocean Room. Spacious room with privacy. Ideal for couples looking for intimacy and privacy and spending time together away from the hustle bustle. The candle-light dinner was alright with a dedicated waiter to service you. The buffet breakfast was just ok. However, be prepared for the long hour ride via van or bus from the ferry point to the resort itself. We were already tired out from the long 2 hours boat travel and 1 hour van ride but quickly perked up upon seeing the nice Blue Ocean room interior. Had a relaxing intimate time though.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Just got back from a 2D1N Bintan trip. This time, my wife and I stayed at the Bintan Agro Beach Resort. As we only decided to go for this trip 2 weeks ago, the choice of hotel were rather limited. Our familiar resorts were either too expensive or they required us to book for 2 nights minimum. So, on impulse, I decided to go for Agro. The night before the trip, I decided to read up on the hotel on Tripadvisor and the some of the reviews that I read made me think the trip might turn out to be a nightmare. Well, thank God, it did not!
The hotel is an hour's drive from the island's ferry terminal (BBT). The route passes through agricultural area and the seaside. Nothing spectacular. Be warned, the condition of the shuttle can be less than desirable depending on your luck.
The hotel standard check in time is 3pm but you can check at the front desk at around 2pm to see if they had your room ready early.
We took the Superior Room without sea view. The room was clean and well furnished. It came in 2 super singles config. There were a few problems though. The toilet design did not seems to be well thought out. They had the toilet bowl on one side and the toilet paper dispenser on the other side of room. The water heater is the individual boiler type, which means you will have to turn the unit on at least 10 minutes before you get any hot water for your shower. There were these frequent power trips but they did not affected us much as the power came back on really quick. One caution on room selection, some of the rooms are located at very strange places like right by the hotel lobby or along a busy walk way. If you are a light sleeper, you might want to request not to be given these rooms.
The beach was nice. We enjoyed the low tide when we can walk out onto the sea bed and find interesting sea creatures left behind by the waters. Its the monsoon now, so the water was murky. But this did not stop many people from enjoying the water activity like banana boating, kite-surfing, scuba diving, etc.
There are 2 restaurants in the resort premise. Asiana Bistro is where the complementary breakfast is hosted. The breakfast provided was buffet style asian cooked food with some pastries. The spread is reasonable but the quality is not fantastic. The SunMoon restaurant is located on a jetty. The food there is great (you MUST eat the seafood)! Prices are reasonable and service is excellent.
The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and speaks reasonably good English. Free Wifi is only available at the Asiana Bistro and the hotel lobby. Password is given upon request.
I am looking forward to going back there again, but next time, will avoid the monsoon!!!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the lobby and main walk ways if you want privacy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

The Pros: Great service, neat rooms, good massage and food was acceptable.
The Cons: Long Journey ride

The First trip to Bintan, was disappointed with the Beach but i when during the monsoon period guess the weather plays a part. First reached was really worried about the condition of the resort. we have our rooms at the 3rd floor and entering the room was pleasant as the rooms was clean and with seaview.

Recommend list

1. Plan your activities upon arrival, firstly there was discount for advance booking and to prevent of not getting any slot available.

2. Travel in bigger size as most of the water sports required more then 2 pax and groups make the trip more fun but it takes a good planning to make things work.

3. To join the evening tour to Tj pinang, went for the food at hawker with a good spread of food that is cheap and great. Had 4 Fishes, 1 sotong and 3 ayam penyet which cost around $6 per pax sharing with my 5 friends. Also grab some bintan beer, drinks and snacks in the supermarket which cost alot cheaper then price in the resort.

Note* The tour was a bit messed up as the first drop off was actually to head to supermarket and 2nd drop off to makan place but we was so hungry that we actually ate our dinner in the first drop off.

Hope the resort could improve by changing the itinerary to makan place before super market. who can shop a super market with an empty stomach and the time reached supermarket was 7 plus already. Itinerary should stated more clearly that we can have dinner at which location or it was even possible as what stated was going to a supermarket and melayu shopping centre.

Overall
Improvement in the management is needed. Do inform tourist to prepare rupiah as restaurant charge in rupiah. they do accept sing dollar but the exchange rate was low and the payment was unclear payment in master but it will be calculated converting to rupiah rate and lastly no snorkeling in this period wasn't mention before hand in the many mails that we communicated and even when i have asked the charges for snorkeling.

But but but overall i have enjoyed my trip very much even with many complains with what was stated. I have a enjoyable trip most importantly that the staff was friendly and the rooms was great. With the amount i paid i find that it is good rate with a enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.