We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad impression from the start” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Agro Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bintan Agro Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad impression from the start”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011 via mobile

Went on a weekday with a deal.com coupon. Had a bad impression when I went to collect my tickets at Anita travel....overheard the travel agent demanding a room from the hotel at all cost... "even if it is haunted". Arriving at Bintan, the hotel sent a crappy and old fan to pick us up. It was a long ride....about an hour to get to the hotel. The hotel is quite rundown. We were assigned a room on the 2nd floor. No passenger lift available. Can hear noise from drilling and hacking throughout the day. The power supply tripped a few times during our stay. Food was miserable. Definitely won't go back again. The beach is nowhere near the pic shown on deal.com. Simply misleading!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    75
    74
    29
    15
See reviews for
40
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

How we ended up at Bintan Agro:
My friend & I purchased a deal from Groupon at S$98/pax. Supposed to be Bintan Cabana Beach Resort. But according to the indon agent, it was fully booked for our travel date 26th to 27th Nov. In the end, we paid additional S$20/pax to "upgrade" to Bintan Agro Superior Room.

Time taken from Bintan ferry terminal to Bintan Agro/Cabana = 1hr plus!

Check-in saga:
We were NOT informed about the check-in time is local time 3pm means SG time 4pm. Check-out time is local time 12pm. But we were taking a 2pm ferry back to SG the next day, hence we have to check out earlier than 12pm to catch the bus to send us to the ferry terminal. We reached at SG time 2pm plus. When we asked the reception if we can arrange for slight early check-in, the receptionist reply was, "Cannot. You see, many also waiting." YES! We can see many, I mean many people are waiting to check-in. We wondered why…

Beach saga:
Then when ask when the beach high tides will start, the receptionist looked at us with "weird" look and said, "the beach cannot swim. If you want to swim, you have to take shutter bus to Cabana." Somehow, we felt misrepresented from the beautiful beach pictures at Bintan Agro.

To kill time before we can check-in, we walked around the beach area. As it was low tide, we could see the sea bed. To our disappointment, it was quite dirty with alot of black seaweed or whatever plant leaves and many rocks. Some rocks were as tall as 1.4m or 1.5m (I'm using my shoulder height as a point of reference). No wonder the recept said cannot swim. The SEA is to SEE ONLY.

The Room:
When we could finally check-in, we had to climb 3 level up with no lift. The room door was abit old and need to have "technique" to open it. The Room I must say is quite spacious. Have all the basic room facilities. No bath tub. The balcony door would always get jammed and we basically had difficulties opening it. We had to ask the staff to help us open. The view from balcony was GREAT! We could see the sea view. Quite windy too. I think we were lucky to get the sea view room. The air-con was working very well too. I think the room we stayed was quite alright, besides the doors.

Breakfast served in the resort:
The breakfast spread was simple. Eatable but no standard.

Some surprises:
In our 2D1N stay, the room blackout at least 3 times. But it recovered quite fast, in minutes.

Overall:
2.5 over 5 stars. I think maybe Batam will be a better choice for short stay, swim or just do nothing & enjoy the sea.
For those of you who are reading this review and will be going to Bintan Agro, enjoy the experience.

Room Tip: Choose seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The hotel IS located on beautiful land (without a real beach to swim on though) but I had a horrible experience. Stayed at this resort from a 2 pax Groupon deal, woke up at 3:30 am to horrible bug bites all over my body. Worrying it might be bedbug or worse, I requested the front desk for a room change in the middle of the night. While they were nice enough to accommodate the request, the new bed again had an army of ants crawling while we changed room. We were doused in bug repellent before and after and guess what - more bites. These were large red ants 3-5mm long.

I asked the front desk about the bites the next day fearing the worst, and the front manager was nice enough to send me to the local hospital to confirm those were ant bites and not bedbugs and paid for medicine. Went to the beach and again, beach chairs were covered in ants. Given up on the weekend at this point.

The groupon deal included free meals but the only choice given for lunch was white rice with a small whole fried fish with lots of tiny bones and little meat. We ordered more food and paid on our own the next day as the meal provided was neither delicious or sufficient. After 30 minutes in an empty restaurant waiting, we had to go up to the chef and get bus our own table by retrieving the dish as the servers were chatting in the corner thinking about life - and we were PAYING customers!

The only reason I did not rate this hotel as "horrible" was that they were nice enough to send me to the hospital to ensure it was not bed bug bites. However, customers were not paying that price to suffer painful swollen red bumps and waking up in the middle of the night for more. If the hotel can't be bothered to use Raid in the rooms, bring your own.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Dear all,

Just back from a 2 day 1 night from the cabana resort via groupon:

Pros:
- Service ok
- peaceful place
- Sun moon restaurant (in the main resort) was ok, food was yummier than the cabana resort and cheaper!
- Beautiful sea view (in both) - maybe can add more deck chairs for chilling

Cons:
- Rooms need to be maintained and clean - I was sneezing all the way as I am allergic to dust.
- Food ex - maybe good to travel to the main resort for food
- Lack of amenities - need to travel to main resort if you are looking for karaoke, restaurants, spa treatments, pools or gym
- shuttle service gap was too far apart - considering that it is just 10-15 mins away
- Breakfast buffet at cabana resort - needs to improve ....really average quality

If you are travelling there, although I have never stayed in the main resort (rooms) - will recommend you to stay in the main resort - based on the amenities + food choices.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 days and 2 nights and the very first thing that we applaused about them is the food. Every thing that they serve is a well-done meal! From the Sun moon's chicken mushroom soup,their tasty kangkung belacan, and sweet and sour chicken - they were all nice!
Asiana restaurant also serve delicious meals but its more expensive than sun moon's rates.
This resort has mini zoo, oceanic spa, and water activities!! Must try all!!:) we had banana boat, flyfish, u-slalom, and an unfamiliar ride for me which is the marble. Its like a round sofa in water and a speedboat will drag you left and right!! So get ready to scream!!:)
They have 2 swimming pools,one is small and one is average size.
White sand is just across agro resort and its very clean!!:)
Im sure ill be back here!:)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panipat, Haryana, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I, along with my family members made a quick and short trip to Indonesia and was not left with much options with hotels as it was a last minute decision so we booked ourselves at the Bintan Agro beach resort. On reaching we were absloutely clueless about our resort but it turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Extremely beautiful and serene resort. Good food, great rooms and cottages, over water bungalows and all this at a very affordable price.
They have some very good beach sports options.
A thumbs-up !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

stayed at agro cabana (the sister resort of agro beach) - suite room. the things in the room were well maintained. mineral water, tea & coffee (the standard) were provided. lovely view from our room window. faced the beach directly, great view of the ocean! beds were comfortable too! we had 2 connecting suite rooms which was a great touch.

its disappointing that most of the sea sports activities were at the main agro beach resort which is a hassle to get there so we stayed in ours to rest and relax instead. had all 3 meals at the resort. the breakfast buffet was not good. few variety of ready cooked food. the chef couldn't even cook the eggs properly (they had scramble, omelet & sunny side up). very haphazard job by the cook at the eggs station. we had pizza, prawns and fish for lunch. pizza had a very very very thick crust and hardly any toppings, prawns was not exactly fresh and sweet & sour fish's batter was not even crispy. poor food quality. this was chosen after they didn't have french onion soup nor calamari nor squids.. dinner was much better, we had beef rendang (slightly tough but edible), curry chicken (this was pretty good) & vegetables.

the food took really long to serve and I felt that there was no sense of urgency in terms of the service. alot of time was spent waiting to be served.

the rooms sound proofing was not good, could hear constant noises from the outside traffic (i think the back of our rooms was facing a road). but i am not that a light sleeper and the night's sleep was ok.

the beach fronting our suite room felt like a man made beach but the water was relatively clean and we had some fun waddling in the shallow waters spotting fishes and other creatures in the water.

there is a package online that consist of a day city tour (consisting of 2 "malls" and 4 temples). a few of the temples were interesting but the malls were poor. not the type of shopping one would expect, there were hardly more than a few shops that one will walk in, let alone buy anything. the lunch provided at a restaurant at the kelong was of pretty decent standard, quality and proportion.

Room Tip: ask for the suite rooms, it was on slightly higher level with a good view of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bintan Agro Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Agro Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora km.36 | Teluk Bakau, Riau Islands Province, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the new plane of paradise at Bintan Agro Beach Resort.Located in the south-eastern coast of Bintan Island, come revel in the realm of sparkling beaches and picturesque shorelines that will help set your mood for the perfect getaway. Home to a spread of scenic floras, crystal white sands and clear turquoise waters, our resorts nestle along the beachfront-with a cosy touch of perennial decor, friendly services and warm hospitality that will ensure the ideal retreat you deserve. Seafood lovers can also replete with delectable savouries in alfresco dining style that sits above the calm, glistening waters-while you indulge in the panoramic view of a breathtaking seascape.And for those who wish to escape the hordes will consider their time well spent here. With our first-ever ocean side spa on the island, imagine retreating into a calm journey that will soothe your body and mind for the many adventures to come.Appealingly casual and laidback, we have an atmosphere that makes for the perfect vacation. Only at Bintan Agro Beach Resort, experience the perfect holiday destination that will leave you wanting for more.LocationThe island of Bintan is about 40 Km from Singapore. The travel time to Tanjung Pinang is about 1 hour 45 minutes by Sindo Ferry / Indofalcon Ferry / Wavemaster Ferry and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is situated on the South-Eastern coast of Bintan and is 45 minutes away from Sri Bintan Pura Ferry Terminal. The travel time to Bintan Resort is about 55 minutes by Bintan Resort Ferries (BRF)and Bintan Agro Beach Resort is 60 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Otel so you can book your Bintan Agro Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Agro Beach Hotel Bintan
Bintan Agro Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Agro Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.