We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience for the Family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loola Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loola Adventure Resort
Save
You added Loola Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience for the Family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

3 days at the resort with the family.

The activities were just about right for everyone, could possibly add in a bit more, I believe, if requested. schedules of activities are well planned and gives enough time in between for us to soak in the cool sea breeze and do our own explorations.

Food is quite good, and well protected from the flies coming form the kitchen.

No air conditioning as mentioned, but the night air is pretty good.

Mosquitoes are a bit of a problem in the night, but lighting the mosquito coils seem to do the trick if your nose is not sensitive to the fumes. We were fine, and the mosquito nets help very much as well,

windows can be left open even if it rains, to allow the cool breeze to make the nights so much comfortable.

The sea is quite shallow and calm, and is mostly safe to swim around when the tide comes in.

Great fun for everyone as mentioned by other reviewers.

Room Tip: Get the rooms/huts built over the sea at the jetty :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    35
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
70
14
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Spent 3 days in Loola Resort - 13-15June with my family of 6, including three kids aged 11, 9 and 5. To be honest, I was hessitated whether to proceed after Darren (the reservation staff) told me over email that there is no aircon, no TV, no internet and most importantly - no water heater in the sea chalets! I was also very concerned that there will be many flies and mozzies at night since there is no aircon at night !!

However, after seeing all the good reviews about this resort online and some discussions with my family, I went ahead to book it and after a 2-hr ferry and 45-min land transfer, here we are at Loola Resort! Staffs were very friendly once we arrived; the resort is very clean and comfortable. The sea chalets are clean and neat; and the sea view is just fantastic.

Activities were just awesome. My kids enjoyed the activities a lot : coconut tree climbing, sky walk, zip line, archery, rock climing, low tide walk and fishing. Not forgetting the highlight of the trip - Boom netting where each of my kid jumped at least 10 times from 2 storey high !! My 5 yo did not join the acivities as she is too young! All Loola staffs are very friendly and encouraging !!

Meals are ok with home cook style. We also made our own Loola-style pizzas which tasted terrific. Camp fire on the 2nd night.

Overall, my family enjoyed the experience in Loola a lot. My kids are already talking about coming back soon.

Only complaint is the mozzies and flies; but Darren already warned me about it so this is not an issue at all :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place is just waaayyyyyy too cool... Love the food, the activities (especially zipline and boom netting)... BTW this place is worth giving up WiFi, TV and air conditioning for... Basically it is awesome... SOOOOOOO going back next year

Room Tip: The sea chalets have the best breeze, best view, best eating area and best everything else that I mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

So be truly mentally prepared that there are no Air Conditioners, no Hot Showers, no internet, no TV, no 5 star resort Luxury....

Do expect awesome scenery of the waters during high and low tides, spectaculars hues in the sky during sunset and sunrise, brilliant stars in the night sky, great home style meals, fresh fruit juices, eager encouraging staff and trainers, nerve wrecking actives so FUN and challenging, that I felt on the verge of crying and laughing all at the same time :-). I never knew I could climb up a really tall coconut tree!!!

Inquiry via email with Darren, to reserving the chalets for our group of 4 adults and 3 children, all where done easily. Paying though had to be either by bank transfer or PayPal with a service fee, so can't use the ease of paying by credit card.

There seemed to have been a slight arrival time mix up with picking us up from the Airport, so we had to wait an hour before we were finally picked up. But we still made it in time to the resort to enjoy the Boom Net Boat trip with the other guests already there. Darren and the staff were courteous about the pick up delay and as a kind gesture refunded the cost of the sodas and juices we ordered at Loola.

Overall, great experience for my family and we look forward to coming back to Loola again :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went with 4 other familes to Loola for a long weekend. From the point of first contact by email to waving goodbye to our driver at the ferry terminal the service was faultless. The activities were sensational: flying fox into the swimming pool, rock wall climbing, jumping off a moving boat into nets, coconut tree climbing to name just a few. There was an organised activity every morning and afternoon - at first blush this seemd over organised for a laid back trip, but it actually took all the hassle away from wondering what we were going to do next. The staff were friendly, helpful and conscientous. Some of the activities involved considerable risk (and thus immense satisfaction when complete) but I never feared for anyone's safety. The equipment is well maintained and the staff well trained. Another thing is that there are no age limits. Any child of any age can do any activity subject to the parent's approval. This is not the place for those who want air con, hot water and a menu of european food, but the great thing is that everyone does their homework so you only get like-minded familes there. We are planning our return trip.

Room Tip: Go for the sea chalets which are on stilts over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New york
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We and the kids loved Loola resort! This is a great place for adventurous families, who think 5 start resorts rather boring. The days were filled with nerve wrecking activities, delicious food and company of other fun-loving families and children in the same age. Great concept for a good price. Our favourite activities were the zip-line (we were so proud of our 3 year old zipping down), and boom netting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

2 families stayed 2 for nights at Loola, sharing one of their dorms as their overwater chalets were all booked up. There was loads of room to spread our things out in the dorm and it turned out to be quite an adventure for us. We all slept really well under the mozzie nets - it was actually quite peaceful! In the evenings, the whole group would have 'cocktails' (juices for the kids, beers or BYO for the adults) on the balcony overlooking the sea.
Yes, you could say it's basic, but everything was very clean - the towels and sheets smelt fresh, the toilets and showers well looked after, plates, cutlery, glasses, food serving areas all spotless.
The whole team at Loola were superb. So patient, cheerful and encouraging. We felt safe all the time during the activities and they really put us at our ease. We were all gently coached by the guides who never pushed us but patiently waited while we challenged ourselves to get past our comfort zones and do things we've never done before. Such as climb a coconut tree. Or jump from a pole in between 2 bamboo trees! The rock climbing was also great fun, as was the zip-lining, the low-tide beach walk and trip out in the boat boom-netting. The last thing we managed to fit in was a kayak, running out of time to do other stuff such as archery or trekking.
The food was tasty too - mostly Indonesian fare with lovely rice dishes, curries, lots of fruit (though kids were well-catered for in case they didn't like this food too). We made pizzas on Saturday night which were cooked in their purpose-built pizza oven, then roasted marshmallows in there too!
Actually, right down to the greeting at the ferry terminal to the end of our stay, we felt cared for.
So, apologies if I miss anyone out but huge thanks to Romy, Conty, Jaya, Siti, Abu (you are very strong!), Elsa - and to the other strong guides who always held tight to our safety ropes, and big shout to the guys who spent about 3 hours standing in the pool while we all larked around on the zip-wire! Everyone had huge, happy smiles all the time. Last but not least, thanks to Darren back in Singapore - the whole booking process was very easy, especially as they sorted out our ferry tickets for us, and provided all the information needed to make the journey and stay successful.
Thank you Loola!
(NB: hardly glimpsed any mozzies while we were there - they control it in an environmental way - nor did we encounter any sandflies at all.)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loola Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loola Adventure Resort

Address: Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmatched for variety and quality of activities (sail, kayak, dragon boat, climb, zipline, skywalk, archery. climbing wall and climbing trees, and our famous boat and boomnet expeditions), LooLa is a family favorite as well as the number one destination for overseas school trips. LooLa is Bintan's most exciting destination for those who want to experience the real Indonesia, appreciate a mix of total tranquility and healthy action, and like sitting on a balcony above the sea and under the moonlight! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loola Adventure Hotel Bintan
Loola Adventure Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loola Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.