We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its like visiting a distant relative who misses you so much” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Loola Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loola Adventure Resort
Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“its like visiting a distant relative who misses you so much”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

out of curiosity why loola is among the top resorts in bintan, we booked it for a 3d2n holiday. upon arrival in the terminal, we were greeted by one of their staff and send us in a van. it was a long drive from the ferry terminal and once we arrived our lunch was served a few minutes after by a bunch of people with smiling faces headed by Romi and a lady that always smiles who is charge of food (missed her name). we left our bags in our rooms and then did activity after activity after activity - well you get the picture. from tree climbing, archery, kayak, everything their website has got to offer, it was there. at the end of the day somebody will come to you and ask you what you want to do the next day, what time you want to eat, basically arranging your itinerary based on your personal preference day by day. about the food, it is rare for a resort to be able to cater for all the taste buds of their foreign visitors but i believe they were able to do so - the menu is quite simple but it is appealing to everyone. there is no air-con in the chalets but the sea breeze is enough to make your sleep all well. all staff know their roles very well and they are good at each task they perform. kudos to Darren for flawlessly arranging all the necessary for this trip. the service here is ultimately genuine and you will feel like you are a special part of the big family of loola.

Room Tip: there are 6 chalets. 5 of them on the sea, of course pick one in the sea! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    32
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
63
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 6 - two 63 yrs old Grandparents, two parents and a 4 & 2 yrs old children. We went for the Easter weekend from Singapore.

The Resort was really Colomendy in paradise (A school activity centre in North Wales, UK) During term time, it caters for up to 400 school children from Singapore who go for an activity week. They sleep in two large bunk rooms - no bunks, just sleeping platforms and mattresses. There were no children when we there.

The resort also has 5 'chalets' on stilts over the water. Each has its own en suite (no hot water - Eco lodge remember!) and four-poster bed with mossy nets. No air conditioning but you open the three floor to ceiling double veranda doors, looking directly out to sea, and are cooled by the consistent sea breezes. You watch both the sun and moon rise from your bed. Amazing.

All 5 'chalets' were occupied ( about 22 people in total, including children) so there was a full activity programme arranged. We had the run of all the activities with the full staff. Amazing.

We did:

The climbing wall - a proper job with overhangs etc.
Boom boating - throw yourself off the top of a boat into netting strung out alongside.
Flying Fox - Zip wire from top of climbing wall into sea water swimming pool below.
Leap of Faith - climb to the top of a palm tree, balance along a pole strung to another one, then jump off, trusting the man on the end of the rope to stop you before you hit the floor.
Kayaking to an offshore island.
Topper sailing.
Wake Boarding.

When the tide went out, it goes out about half a mile, leaving behind pools etc. we went looking for crabs (by the million), starfish, sea cucumbers, rock fish etc.

There was also a lovely beach to sit and swim.

Also fished from our 'chalet' and caught the odd fish and crab.

The food was very Indonesian and excellent. Rice/noodles and a variety of eggs, meats, fish, vegetables and curries for all meals. Really excellent. Each 'chalet' had a cold box which they kept stocked-up with soft drinks and beer in lots of ice, at ridiculous prices - by Singapore standards any way. S$3, about £1.50 per can of beer. Take your own wine.

To get there, having been picked up at the ferry port by SUVs, we were driven for about an hour, initially along roads teeming with m/cycles then along dirt tracks. This place was really remote.

A really great weekend, full of activity. The kids loved it and Annabel, aged 4, did all of the above (except Wake Boarding) believe it or not. The staff were fantastic. they could not have done more

All in all, a fantastic weekend. It is not for you if you are looking for a luxury spa resort. But if you want to experience a bit of real Indonesia and Indonesian food with plenty of activities, then this place has it all. It is not luxury in the true sense of the word but it is luxury in the experiences you have.

Will go again when the schoolchildren aren't there.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our family 2 adults and 2 teens ages 12 & 15 went to Loola during the March school holidays. We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to Darren, Jaya, Elsa, Amin, Ahua, Conty, Arung (the driver) & the team at Loola for making our family trip an incredible experience! We simply love the rustic and tranquillity of Loola!

We had a blast doing many activities as the first of our lifetime; special thanks to AHUA (he was controlling my rope) for his encouragement and resistance of not letting me give up on the rock climbing half way. I had a sense of achievement in everything that I never believe I can do before. it is with the fantastic encouragement of the staff that I attempt the activities!

Every meal was simply great and well served, even the camp fire was fantastic!

Loola is a lovely paradise, we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I went to Loola with my son 11 yo, and we both had a great time. You get a lot for the price, including basic but clean huts on stilts on the water, friendly and helpful staff, great activities for the kids (and adults), and also very good locally inspired food that the kids like as well. Another important advantage is that Loola is small enough to make you feel genuinely welcome, as might not be the case at bigger resorts where this is more 'proffessional' than genuine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Loola is a great eco-resort, we were attended to by a very dedicated and happy living team delivering their best to make our stay feeling as friends hosting friends and it's very fun too for kids and parents! Plenty of outdoors and water activities all included in the deal : rock climbing wall, coconut climbing, boom netting, kayaks, sailing boats and if you add a very fair top-up, some awesome massage! The managers obviously include the villagers nearby in running the resort and their great sense of hospitality and attention to details and safety shows they're really dedicated stakeholders. You'll find at Loola what other sterilized 5 star resort will never be able to offer : some true soul and great fun, kids do really get beyond themselves, gain confidence and would never leave the resort!

Room Tip: Those chalets on stilts over the water will give you a soothing sea breeze and you'll totally fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our family (2 kids - 13 & 10) along with another family (3 kids similar ages) spent 4 days at Loola. The management was very thorough and prompt in setting everything up, which included a hassle-free journey from Singapore to Bintan Island (45 minutes) and a 75 minute bus ride to the resort. The resort is very basic, which we felt was spot-on for us and an eye-opener for the kids (who've probably been to one-too-many 5 star resorts). Dormitory bedding (our choice - there are chalets), a short walk to showers, sinks and WC's, no hot water or AC, etc. The staff were very pro-active in setting up and running multiple activities (zip line, skywalk, wakeboarding, tree climbing, boom-net jumping, etc.) and in between, the kids just had a blast exploring the shore line, playing football and running around. Food was very local - tasty, but not something to write home about. We came away incredibly relaxed but also invigorated. I highly recommend it for families with kids above 6. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Not the typical resort (which is good) but with staff and atmosphere that is better than most resorts. Very friendly and attentive people. The resort is great for people with children or, like us, people who just want to get out of the city of Singapore for a good rest and relaxation. The activities are fun as well (Boom netting, climbing, kayaking/dragon boat race, make-your-own-pizza). I would definitely come back with some friends for a long weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Loola Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loola Adventure Resort

Address: Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmatched for variety and quality of activities (sail, kayak, dragon boat, climb, zipline, skywalk, archery. climbing wall and climbing trees, and our famous boat and boomnet expeditions), LooLa is a family favorite as well as the number one destination for overseas school trips. LooLa is Bintan's most exciting destination for those who want to experience the real Indonesia, appreciate a mix of total tranquility and healthy action, and like sitting on a balcony above the sea and under the moonlight! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loola Adventure Hotel Bintan
Loola Adventure Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loola Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Loola Adventure Resort to your Saves list