We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DREAM OF PARADISE - BINTAN” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Loola Adventure Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loola Adventure Resort
Save Saved
You added Loola Adventure Resort to your Saves list
Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“DREAM OF PARADISE - BINTAN”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A few friends of mine went to Loola, Bintan on the last week of December. We were greeted by a friendly staff called Jaya who picked us up from the ferry terminal and drove us to Loola. Upon reaching Loola, we were greeted with more friendly faces/staff and Achmad introduce himself to us for he will be our main point of contact if and when we need anything.

Food came in time for us as we were all hungry from the long journey. Its like home cooked food. Hot and tasty. The 4 days stay was comfortable, easy, calm and fun. We participated in most of the activities. Kak Siti and County were among the leaders who lead us to the different activities in Loola. Everyone was very accommodating, warm and friendly. Achmad and the other staffs constantly ask if we're ok ? or if we need anything ? Etc.

It's like in a paradise indeed. Here you are at a deserted island, but there are people who are there 24/7 to cater to your needs. Jaya mentioned if our stay was a good one, and we all said YES! He mentioned the staff at Loola always treat their visitors like family. Like Family indeed. It felt like home.

<3

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    32
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
64
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We had a really, really, good time at Loola! We totally and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves very, very much and Loola must have had the nicest, friendliest and most obliging staff around!!!

Siti, who was with us throughout our trip has been most helpful too and not forgetting to mention the other staffs! We asked for a motorbike exepdition and your staff readily obliged! Not only did we had pure good fun in all your activities, the food in Loola was really yummilicious too! Simply put, we LOVE everything about Loola (but well, at times, we did miss having a hot shower though!!! hehe!!!) and can't wait to be back again! Well done, LooLa!!! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had an awesome weekend at Loola resort. The friendly staff were available 24/7 to help us with all the activities. Waking up at Loola resort is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and I would recommend this resort to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We spend a weekend with our 4 kids (8,6,4 and 2 years old) in Loola. We really enjoy our stay. Loola Staffs are really nice, friendly and are really available. Don't expect luxurious stuffs...What make the difference in Loola is simplicity. We have spent a really quiet and wonderful moment. We slept in their rustic bungalows. Wonderful experience. Simple but ecologic housing. Our kids enjoy available activities like climbing, swimming and especially kayaking. We got the opportunity to go to small beautiful island within 1 hour of kayaking. Smaller 2 kids follow us with the speed boat. Really enjoy a beautiful sand beach with blue water. Hope that we will able to go back soon...refreshing time for our Singaporean urban live and far away from big Bintan resort area which are full of people ! For French people, it's like you go in a sunny beautiful Brittany instead of Cote d'Azur during full summer season...I recommend to everyone who want to be different and avoid other busy traditional and expensive resort in Bintan island, Indonesia.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Loola Adventure resort in late October, leaving Singapore Tanah Merah ferry terminal late Friday afternoon and returning Sunday lunchtime.
The resort is remotely located on Bintans east coast and is as quiet and peaceful as expected. We had booked the trip via e-mail with Loola resort directly. The resorts representative was waiting for us when we arrived at Tanjung Pinang ferry terminal. The car journey across the island to reach the resort took over an hour but as we had arrived after dark, it was pitch dark (very few street lights in rural Bintan) and the driver needed to drive more cautiously. We were joined on the journey by a representative from the company that have supplied Loola with their mosquito prevention technology. He promised us that we would not be bitten by mosquitos during our stay, and he was right, I don't recall seeing a single mosquito. However they do not appear to have yet mastered the technology to deal with sandflies.
Upon arrival we were greeted by the resort manager who introduced us to the resort. We stayed in one of the chalets over the sea and I believe that we were the only guests there on our first night. We arrived at about 21:00 so they served us dinner and then we went to bed.
The rooms are very very basic, featuring a small veranda to sit out, a large double bed draped in a mosquito net and not much else. There are no windows, however shutters around the walls of the chalet open to allow light in to the room during the day. The bathroom is average sized and basic, but everything seemed to work.
During the day we practiced archery and took a walk along the cost with one of the resort guides. We did not try any of the other adventure activities, although we in retrospect I think we may have regretted that.
We received very personalized attention the whole time and our assigned guide checked in with us regularly during the Weekend to check if we were happy and inquire if we wanted to participate in any other activities. Our meals were also planned with us a few hours in advance.
As other reviewers have suggested, the food was very basic but perfectly edible.
The journey back to Tanjung Pinang ferry terminal late on Sunday morning was somewhat quicker.
Having visited Loola hoping for a quiet, romantic getaway, I think we were a little disappointed. The resort is genuinely geared toward being an adventure resort and appears to cater very well to students. Being a little older, I thin k it was just a little too rustic for our liking, and therefore would be unlikely to return.
That said the resort is quite good value for money, the engagement of local staff to return the resort helps it to earn it's stripes as an eco lodge and it is very very peaceful (at least when it is quiet, I suspect that when the tour parties arrive, it may not be so peaceful). The staff are very qualified in their respective adventure sports domains but in some cases they speak limited English and their customer service skills are a work in progress. However the resort is clearly trying to improve in this area as our assigned guide delivered a feedback form to us shortly before our checkout and asking us to provide an evaluation of her service.
While I am unlikely to visit Loola resort again, I hope that it continues to prosper because the staff try very hard and it clearly is a great destination for groups of high school and college kids. However it does not really work as a destination for couples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We set off from Singapore with the 3 kids, aged 12, 11 and 8. Couldn't be easier, 2 hours on the Ferry from Tanah Merah FT and then a free pickup in a people carrier. 1 hour later, having driven through Tanjung Pinang and then a few Kampongs along the way, we arrived. The booking system by email was super efficient and emails came back really quickly with answers to all my questions, totally stress free experience all round.

First off, Loola's is on an amazing plot of land. Palm trees, a scattering of low rise huts, the sea and some islands in the distance. Nothing else - no buildings, no noise, just peace. We booked 2N3D, in hindsight an extra night would have been nicer and less rushed, but honestly, we felt we had been gone a week, not 3 days!

The bungalows over the sea are great and the constant breeze means that it never gets too hot, cold showers are not an issue, it's hot! Little fans are fixed to each level of the double bunk beds (I had to turn these off the first night as I was too chilly!).

No menu but the food is honest home cooked asian, plenty of rice, curries and fruit. Even my fussy lot found plenty to eat and the snack shop that the staff run had crisps for those extra hungry moments.

The activities are great! Very safely run and there was never any doubt that the staff were compromising on safety. I would encourage families to do them as a family, they are not just for the kids! The skywalk was downright scary for me, but the encouragement of my family helped me to leap off the log fixed between 2 palm trees 10 meters up. I felt great after that and promised myself that I would give everything a try. On our last day we payed extra to learn how to Wakeboard, I managed to stay up and do a lap of the bay. My confidence has had a real boost from this experience and it really brought our family together. On our last night they lit a camp fire and we danced to music that the kids liked. Just us! Even the boys joined in!

Room Tip: All the water bungalows have great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is truly an amazing getaway. Love the activities and scenic environment and most importantly, the staffs are very friendly. There is only a handful of tourists when my group went, so we got the full attention of the staffs which is a bonus. We have guides fetching and sending us personally during the transit between loola camp and singapore. The site is eco-friendly and the local food is tasty. Good job loola team!! Thanks for dancing with us at the campfire!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Loola Adventure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loola Adventure Resort

Address: Kampung Galang Batang | South-East Bintan, Riau Islands Province 1N 103E, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Best Value Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unmatched for variety and quality of activities (sail, kayak, dragon boat, climb, zipline, skywalk, archery. climbing wall and climbing trees, and our famous boat and boomnet expeditions), LooLa is a family favorite as well as the number one destination for overseas school trips. LooLa is Bintan's most exciting destination for those who want to experience the real Indonesia, appreciate a mix of total tranquility and healthy action, and like sitting on a balcony above the sea and under the moonlight! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Loola Adventure Hotel Bintan
Loola Adventure Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Loola Adventure Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.