We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The people make the experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The people make the experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We just had 5 nights at the resort as part of a group and had a great time. The resort itself is a little tired and could do with a spruce up. Nothing bad, just a few years old and nothing a fresh coat of paint wouldn't fix. The rooms were comfy and the facilities great.

This was our first time at a Club Med resort and the staff at the resort made it an incredible experience. Right from the welcome upon arrival to the farewell where they lined the driveway to wave us off, nothing was ever too much trouble. The GO team are there to look after the guests and that is exactly what they do, whatever we needed was arranged without any hassle.

I really liked the fact that the GO's mingle with the guests, we were joined for a meal on a few occasions by one of the GO's and it is cool to hear their stories of living and working in the resort as well as finding out about where they are from. There are staff there from all over the world.

The activities were really good, we tried the archery and the trapeze. Both were a lot of fun and made easy and safe by the staff. I also played 9 holes at Ria Bintan which was spectacular. It was easily organised by Rosie form the golf team. The Golf Pros, Bjorn, Rob & Wayan were a lot of fun and great to play golf with and enjoy a drink afterwards at the bar.

The beach is beautiful and safe, the water was warm and inviting. The different bars make it easy to find places to relax and the massages at the spa were amazing.

As we were there with a group, we had organised activities and Sally D, the Groups manager and Michael, the Land Sports manager were both fantastic. It is rare to receive service of the level they provided anywhere in the world.

If you are looking for a relaxing, carefree break, Club Med Bintan is a great option.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    361
    90
    32
    30
See reviews for
856
226
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Since I have been in the tourism industry since the past 10 years, I have always been attracted to and have sold Club Med holidays to many of my clients who wish to go to someplace where they can actually be disconnected from their everyday life. Listening to their feedback and experiences after they returned, only reinforced the fact that I HAVE TO make a trip there myself. Well, the opportunity presented itself and how....I went to the Bintan Island property belonging to Club Med on my honeymoon last year!!

Right from the time we entered and the way we were welcomed and checked in seamlessly to our rooms, I was very clear that this holiday / honeymoon was surely going to be a memorable one. What attracted me most about this place is that everyone right from the General Manager to the housekeeping staff have an infectious smile on their faces and are well informed about anything under the sun about the property. Like review title mentions, it truly is an epitome of the phrase 'Chill Out' because there are no deadlines to waking up, having your breakfast or any meals, doing any activities....it's as if time has no relevance or importance there!

The rooms are bathed in warm and earthy upholstery, have this mild and soothing lemongrass fragrance that instantly relaxes you and most of them face the sea....what else could you ask for? If you are the ones who can eat and drink like bottomless pits, then this is another reason to be here, a huge buffet welcomes you for breakfast, lunch and dinner and you can choose from different cuisines viz. Indian, Vietnamese, Chinese, Japanese, fast food, etc. You have not one but three bars open till midnight where you can make like gazelle and drink till you're almost staggering to get to your rooms!!

They also have a lot of activities for everyone from kids to senior citizens eg. swimming, water polo, aerobics, archery, dancing classes, stage performances by kids and the Club Med staff, yoga, spa treatments, etc.

All in all, I would give a double thumbs up to Club Med and certainly come back again albeit to their other properties in other spectacular locations and would strongly recommend this place to anyone looking out to chill and forget the everyday humdrum of life!!!!

Room Tip: Request for rooms with a view of the sea....really calm and peacful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have just returned from Club Med Bintan Island and very happy to share that the entire experience, from the moment we were greeted at terminal, to a somewhat sad to leave, farewell, was fantastic and would definately choose Club Med again.

All of the staff members were fabulous and focused on accommodating our groups needs so happily. In fact, the GO's Sally D and Michael the Landsports Co-Ordinator were so very, very helpful and went well above their call of duty to make every one of us have an extrordinary experience. The therapists in the Club Med Spa were exceptional and committed to pleasing their clients. What a wonderful trip and could not notice the difference in the quality of customer service when back on the mainland.

Thank you Club Med, one and all, you are all amazing.
Keep on dancin ' :-)

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This resort has amazing staff; nothing too much trouble. always with a smile on their face and making you feel welcome. food was great. entertainment was enthusiastic if very variable in quality.

The down sides?

not enough bikes ; only 12 people can go for a ride each day.
if you want to snorkel off the beach, and see the lovely fish, then bring your own mask, as you can't borrow one unless you go on the official snorkelling boat trip.
it rains a lot. it is not possible to go for a walk as there is nowhere to walk to

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hello,

I always try to give review from an Indian perspective as we Indians are very fond of Food !!! And here you would be harassed for food.. The chef doesn't know to cook Indian Food at all, so dont go here if you are vegetarians !!! If you are an Indian but Non Vegetarian, you will have a feast... The spread is Entire Asia on your palate with global cuisine as well... Rooms, location, beach, activities all get 5 stars.. We had been to this place as it had Petit and Mini Clubs for Toddlers and young kids which keeps them busy as well enriches them too.. There are whole lots of activities; cultural, sports, fitness; for adults as well... The day is well planned and balanced... Would strongly recommend for couples as they would have a perfect mix of all... Its expensive tough but all hotels in Bintan are expensive but the culture and attention you get here is fantastic... Its an total Club Med experience !!!!

Room Tip: Probably Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

the resort is a little tired and could do with a reno but don't let that worry you. We were anxious before we left (having read the reviews) but all of that disappeared once we were there. The GO's make the club and they were excellent. The food was great ( better than the intercontinental Singapore!) but mainly Asian and spicy ( which we love).

TIPS:
-pay the extra and get a ground floor superior room ( new bathrooms) towards the specialtiy restaurant with a terrace

-pay for the upgrade on the ferry, esp on the return worth the money for the relaxed check in and speedy disembarkation

-avoid the Asian holidays if you are an aussie as we were one of 2 aussie families at the time ( a little difficult for our 4 year old to communicate with her new friends but loved the kids club)

- Bring your own nappies, v v expensive at the resort

- try the mangrove trip - see all the snakes in the trees!

ENJOY we did despite a fire in a generator 2 days in, all credit to club med looked after us and gave us an appropriate comensation package well done mae and her team

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

If you are considering a vacation to Club Med Bintan, do take some time to read my experience before you make the decision. My experience reflected that Club Med has abandoned their promises of service level and customer satisfaction is now something they are prepared to sacrifice without any shame. My family had been to Club Med Bali 3 years ago and we had a great time there. Although the quality of accommodation was far from satifactory and never been able to compete with other resorts of the same cost, the all inclusive, hustle free and pressure free service promises were well kept. But this time I felt cheated and betrayed by Club Med Bintan, my expected service level was far from the same and my expected hustle free and pressure free vacation was definitely ruined.Why there were so many good reviews? From my observation, Club Med treat customers differently according to their countries of origin, the size of your gang, the duration of your stay and how you made the booking. i.e. directly through Club Med. or through travel agents. Their tactic was to keep your kids or accompanied family members happy so that those who really pay the money will not care much or pay attention to what the quality of service they were getting.

My vacation started off with the news from a Malaysian Chinese G.O., who greeted us at the ferry terminal. She told us that there was a fire at the Club Med resort during the night before our arrival that crippled one of their generators. Half of their rooms were out of electricity and without hot water. She then lured for our sympathy and asked for our consent to stay in another resort, Bintan Lagoon Resort, and promised that all services and conditions will remain the same. We could choose to use the services and facilities in Bintan Lagoon, all cost covered by Club Med or the services and facilities in Club Med. Timely and adequate shuttle services would be provided between Bintan Lagoon and Club Med and the waiting time would be no more than 10 to 15 minutes. She further promised that once the conditions in Club Med permitted, we could move back to Club Med. With these promises and our past experience with Club Med, we accepted the offer and set off to check in at Bintan Lagoon.

At Bintan Lagoon, we met another Taiwanese G.O., who assisted us to check in. She told us that the amenities in the rooms at Bintan Lagoon were compatible to what we had booked at Club Med Bintan. But not until we asked whether our room would be facing the sea ( we had booked a deluxe seaview room at Club Med), did she ask for a seaview room for us. She promised that we would have free WIFI just like in Club Med but she said we would have to ask their representative on the next day. We then headed for our room and found that it was not a seaview room and the safe inside the room was not functioning. The room condition could not be worse. We had to get it over by telling ourselves that Club Med should not be much better.

Since it was late and we were hungry, we headed for Club Med for dinner. After dinner, we found a bus schedule at the Club Med reception and the shuttle bus service was hourly. We immediately asked the reception and they replied that the travelling time was 10 to 15 minutes but there would be only one bus for each hour. We expressed our concern and dissatisfaction but they kept replying the same thing like a playback recorder and would not care about our concerns.Back to Bintan Lagoon that night, we had to fight by our own to switch to another room with a functioning safe and the staff of Bintan Lagoon told us they did not have any seaview room at all. We checked our room price at Bintan Lagoon and it was around US$100 but we had paid more than US$180 for a Club Med room.

Next morning, the whole atmosphere changed.We met the worst G.O. of all, named Kos, and his title was Liesure Activities Manager but kept on emphasizing that he was the representative of Club Med Management at Bintan Lagoon.When we asked about the activities and facilities at Bintan Lagoon, his reply, with a stern face, was that we could only use the activities and facilities in Club Med. Club Med would only cover the cost of accommodation and the morning breakfast at Bintan Lagoon. No, they would not even cover the WIFI cost. We started to feel that we had been cheated and betrayed by Club Med. The shuttle bus service was bad. The bus was small with only 25 seats. People had to squeeze into the bus. If you were late, you would have to wait for another hour. During the rush hour, especially the meal time, more than 60 people had to squeeze into the small bus and the drivers were driving very fast along the road without any street lights at night.

We were not the only family that complained. We saw a Chinese family of 14 people, with kids and elderlies, complaining at the lobby at Bintan Lagoon asking to stay at Bintan Lagoon to use the facilities and join the activities there and Club Med should bear all the cost. We joined in for the complain and created quite a scene at the lobby and there were new Club Med arrivals there waiting for check in. Kos, the worst G.O. of all, was nervous since there were new arrivals and kept telling us he would follow up but did not make any committment to solve our problems. Talking to him was like talking to a playback recorder. He just kept on repeating the same thing.He had no sympathy to our situation at all and only wanted to drag us away without affecting the new arrivals. After the clash, we were labelled and no more smiling faces on the G.O.s' face when they saw us or bumped into us. The resort manager was no better than a PR trying hard to flash his charm and hypocritical smile everywhere. His crisis management ability was as bad as his PR skills which did not work on us.

Imagine what we had lost. Supposedly, we could lay back at the swimming pool or beach. After swimming and enjoying the activities, we could go back to the room conveniently for a shower or a nap and change to dry clothes before going for lunch or dinner. Now, we had to travel back and forth between two resorts, with the fear and pressure of missing the shuttle bus, or eating at the restaurant with wet clothes. I saw families bringing with them large bags and small bags in the morning to Club Med to avoid going back and forth between the resorts. The poor parents had to take care of the kids' clothing and other belongings. It was really a hectic.I also saw elderlies and elderlies with wheelchair travel between the two resorts and Club Med simply did not care and offered no help at all.Is it too much for us to ask for the same service level at Bintan Lagoon just like others enjoyed at Club Med which we had already paid for? The situation did not improve till the moment we checked out.

From my observations, almost all families dumped at Bintan Lagoon were Asian families from China, Hong Kong, Korea and India. Seldom did I see any families from Europe, North America or Australia using the shuttle bus services. We could see many families staying at Club Med that were obviously from Europe, North America or Australia but you could not see them at Bintan Lagoon. Asians tend to compromise to situations and are more tolerable to adverse environments.Asians are also more concern of others' (kids, family members and other people) well being than themselves. Seems like our noble Aisan characteristics had been taken advantage of. Asians might be easier to manage but we are not stupid.

It's disappointing and felt like being betrayed by an old friend you trusted because of money. To me, our old friend had been trying to minimize his loss due to the fire, which we could never verify if it was true, in the expense of our service level he had promised. He had sacrificed our customer satisfaction and simply use our money to pay for his losses.

Of course, the staff who served us in the restaurant and the activities were great. Special thanks to Simon Lau for his dedication and Tommy for being such a good listener. To the management team, we can only say we are terribly disappointed and Club Med is no longer our trusted friend anymore.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMedAP, General Manager at Club Med Bintan Island, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear RKLAU,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay on Bintan Island.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you and your family members.

For the safety and comfort of our guests, we had to make last minute arrangements with a neighboring resort to accommodate the affected guests. We understand it was not a real Club Med experience.

An internal assessment is underway with technical experts to assess the situation and prevent recurrence of such incidents in the future. Our customer service department will be contacting you shortly to follow up with your comments.

Once again, kindly accept our most sincere apologies. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again and restore your confidence in Club Med.

Kind Regards,
Chef de Village / General Manager - Club Med Bintan Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.