We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Disney Magic sprinkled with a generous dose of 5 Star Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Seri Kembangan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Its Disney Magic sprinkled with a generous dose of 5 Star Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Its rare to experience a team of people whose sole purpose is to please and surprise. From the food, service staff GO's and GE's, our room and entertainment and leisure activities. Every corner i turn, something brings a smile to my face.
All this on a wonderful beach setting for family or couples.
The daily shows are really something considering that all the performers are in-house staff. At night they perform some outrageously choreographed number and the following morning they are all up bright and early cheerfully greeting you for breakfast. Talk about hidden talents and energy!
Chief de Village Mei, really holds it all together. The queen mother and her team are all about give, giving and more giving.

I came with my family of 5 and we had a blast!
Love it all and we wanted more of everything.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats closer to the restaurants and pool. Its easier to roll out of bed for some grub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    360
    90
    32
    30
See reviews for
855
226
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our four-day trip to Bintan came to an end yesterday but we are still basking in the afterglow of our first club med experience.
From the time we arrived at the resort, until the time we left, we felt every bit of it special. From the picture perfect view of the golf course to the pool side; from beaches to the beautiful landscape. We found warmth and happiness everywhere.

Appreciate the GOs who went extra mile to keep us happy and entertained. I respect their fun-loving spirit that made us fall in love with them.

My six-year daughter got so affectionate with her mini-club GOs that she started missing them even while we were getting ready for check-out.

The GOs were absolutely amazing. All of them were multi talented. Despite having own set of expertise we found them actually them doing almost everything. Loved the ever smiling and happy faces of all the GOs. Don’t remember names of all the GOs we met but still would like say a special thank you to all of them.
Few names that we remember are Lindsay, Mim, Niki, Daud, Prakash, Nale (we found him close to Baywatch’s David Hassellhoff), Micheal, Diana, Tonky, Marco, Ravi, Edward, David. There are many more whom I would like to thank personally but I am being forgetful.

Special mention to Marco, Mim, Lindsay and Niki. My daughter loved you all. The sports comedy and Asia Music award show was very well organised. Enjoyed every bit of it.

Rooms were good, clean and spacious. Loved the Big shampoo and shower gel bottles. Small bottles at other places are not so convenient.
Each and every thing was taken care. There was also arrangement for people who like lazying around and can’t make it to breakfasts and lunch buffet on time at the Terrace restaurant. Though the spread was not as good as the waterfall restaurant, one can still manage ☺

There were plenty of activities to engage us. Was amazed to see that kids were also thought about and had lot of activities listed for them without involving parent’s presence ;-)

We are thankful to all who made our stay so very special.

Special thanks to Mei for having such a wonderful team! We will return soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sp
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is the 3rd time I hv stayed in Club Med. and second time in bintan club med. Overall an excellent place - if you want lots of action you will find it. But if you choose to just chill out and relax they also have the option. Their spa is good! Will come back again. Rooms standard just average but Well compensated by the good food n drinks variety n entertainment n sports options. Make sure you use their kids or teens club if you hv children - they do an outstanding job!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Overall we had an exceptional holiday. We had 3 family's - 11 in total.

The good:
The GO's were exceptional - every single one of them. Our children had a blast in the kids club, they did lots of fun activities, made some lovely friends and adored the staff that looked after them. We felt completely confident that our kids were well looked after and safe.

The activities available for the adults and/or families were great. We were very happy to be able to take part in all the activities and have some time together as couples knowing that the kids were happily enjoying the kids club. It was incredibly relaxing for us.

The food was vast and plentiful. We enjoyed the buffet's and thought that the chefs and cooking team did an exceptional job for the numbers they were catering for. The service in the main restaurant was excellent and the waiting staff were very efficient. (only slight annoying thing was that you had to search for a spoon because they didn't set the tables with them - but, hay, no big deal)

Pool was good. Beach was lovely and the sea was warm.

The not so good:
The standard of the rooms was very poor. Our rooms were incredibly tired and dated, bordering on dirty, and really not up to scratch for the price we paid. It is my understanding that they are in the process of refurbishing the resort and that 1/2 the rooms are done. Just not the ones that we stayed in. (As a side note - the beds were very good, they were comfortable and clean)

The reception staff let the rest of the staff down. They were generally unhelpful.

The spa is overpriced and not good value. We went to the local village and had an amazing massage while my mum stayed at club med and didn't enjoy her experience at all.

However, when we really thought about our time at Club Med Bintan , it didn't matter that our rooms were well below average (we only went there to sleep) and it didn't matter about the other "not so good things" because the good far outweighed the bad.

We loved our time at Club Med Bintan - we would go back and we would definitely go to another Club Med with our family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We're basking in the afterglow of our first club med experience as a family and the glow is not only coming from our suntans. Despite the five full days of on and off rain showers, we still managed to get in some sun, snorkeling, kayaking, beach games, chillaxing by the pool/beach.

The multinational GOs & local GEs work very hard to keep us GMs partying happily day and night. They do it with such a light-hearted, fun-loving spirit, we couldn't help but fall in love with them all. At the end of five days, they made fans (& more so friends) out of some of us. We knew many of them by name and some of them knew us by name and nature. Daud (always so kind and happy), Edward (for that wonderful turtle find on our kayak excursion and being so sooo good with our daughter, Mandy!... You're such a fun croupier, too... "Winner! Winner! Chicken dinner!"), Haffiz (for being the only one to step up and meet our bedroom arrangements, making it wonderfully fuss free for us), Eric (the yoga instructor - my new motto: 'Bend it like Eric, not Beckham!' Loved his breakdancing moves!), Ravi (good job on keeping the restaurant wheels running throughout the day - full house and guests still looking happy! That's a great sign) Dani (our first server who instinctively knew it was our first meal and offered to get us our wine and beer because we looked kinda lost), Josh (life of the party! He's so good at leading games & your kids will get attached to him!), Michael & David (while we were there, they both had some minor but serious mishaps. Like heroes, they sucked it up and continued running around doing their thing - taking my hat off to you!), Danny & team (thank you for keeping the adults and kids safe on the trapeze. Also, we fully appreciate the acrobatic performances), Jemmi, Zoe, & team from boutique - so friendly, patient, helpful. I'm glad you guys won the rocket competition & I won a beautiful hat!).

Marco Marco Marco, the event manager (you double touched our hearts with your persona, magic tricks, antics, and talents. My daughter will always be a number one fan! So talented and versatile!). We didn't get to know him personally but there's a Michael Jackson in the house - a must watch.

Mei, the chef de village, is always around speaking to GMs and very concerned that everyone is happy with their stay. So genuine and warm. She makes a wonderful Chef de village for Club Med Bintan.

Our check in was a little rough at the beginning. There was some misunderstanding because we thought that coach transfer was part of the inclusion of our stay since no mention of cost was made throughout my emails with the reservation side. Anyway, upon arrival, we were taken aside and told that we had to pay (rp100,000/person which was not exorbitant but we thought was unfair). We paid and wrote an email to our reservation contact person. We'll see what they have to say.

Another thing we felt uncomfortable about was that upon arrival at around 1pm (sg time would be 2pm), we were told that if we wanted to dine at anytime before 2pm (that would be check-in time) please pay for that meal. Otherwise, wait till 2pm. We went to check out our room which was ready. By 1.45, my daughter was starving, so we decided to head to the restaurant. No fuss at all from the restaurant... Was that kind of calculative first impression neccessary?

The rooms are well cared for. Not 5-star amenities but good enough and linen clean. Floors sufficiently clean. Twice, the shower did not have any hot water on. Water pressure was ok. Two single beds were joined together to make up a king size. Due to the uncomfortable joining in the centre, my husband stayed on his side of the bed and I stayed on mine. Our 9 year old loved her day bed, in her own corner, she created her own world for all her stuff. I appreciate their eco-friendly concept of not cleaning towels on a daily basis. I was also told that water was recycled to water plants. Another environment friendly gesture is the "ask if you need a straw" policy. Big shampoo and shower gel bottles are a fantastic idea to conserve the use of plastic. Having lived in Indonesia for 3 years, we have come to appreciate how clean their floors tend to be kept and this was evident throughout the resort (except for the toilet/shower room for late check-out guests by the bar/pool).

Positives!

The beach is so clean and we saw lots of fish in the sea (even from knee depth). This time of the year, parents can sit back and watch the kids play on the beach safely without too much worry about strong currents. There are jelly fish, though. Few and far apart but they exist.

We liked that generally, guests (GMs) were nice and sophisticated enough not to scramble for food. We especially liked that even if we missed the breakfast and lunch buffets, there was la terrasse for other times of the day (which we liked better because of the setting and the lovely sea view).

I loved doing yoga at the spa! So relaxing and Eric, the instructor was helpful and not very pushy. After all, we're on a holiday!

Wherever and whatever it is within the resort, kids are always thought about. They even have their own drink order counter at the bar with a cute step ladder and all... A wide array of mini mocktails. Kids' favorite I'm guessing in "Don't tell mama!"

The awesome thing about this place (& other repeaters are saying the same thing after having moved around themselves) is that this resort property layout is so contained therefore safe for children to move around autonomously without parents worrying too much about safety. We feel that it is a controlled gated resort area where the main entrance gate is too far for wandering children to get out of or strangers to get in. The beach (if I understand correctly) is not a private beach but due to nature, is closed off to non Club Med Bintan guests.

I wonder if we do return on a less festive period, would we receive similar surprise treats (freshly squeezed OJ on Singapore's National Day), fireworks, champagne, BBQ at the beach bar... We're so spoiled.

My husband and I are quiet people and we just enjoyed sitting / standing back and watching people party and having fun. This is our ideal family vacation. No need to worry about where to go for our next meal or how much is a particular sport or fun activity (most of them are included).

Our daughter cried on the coach after the particularly touching send-off. We had not yet left and she had already requested for a return trip and even 'demanded' that we stay for a whole month the next time we return... I wish! We need Mei's help on that with a big discount! Lol

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We were two families, three generations each and a total of 17 people. All of us had a fabulous time during our five days stay, despite the downpour that happened every afternoon. We would have been bored to death if not for the resort's ever enthusiastic G.Os and the free flow drinks which even the children enjoyed. Our kids felt very at home, especially after they joined the Mini Club. They knew all the G.O's names (and vice versa) and saw each other several times each day and the G.Os were truly warm who don't just breeze by but stopped to chat with them for a few minutes before moving off. Kids were great fans of Marco, the events manager.

Mei, the General Manager, is always around. I have seen her topping up oranges during breakfast and moving around the club during the day and as with her great and talented team, provided good entertainment at night. Special thanks go out to Ravi, the restaurant manager who helped with booking at the Terrace restaurant, with our big group and birthday celebrations and also trying to sit our families close together, which is not an easy task with the restaurant being very full unless you arrive early.

I would have given the entire experience a full 5 stars rating but felt that three things need to be addressed. Firstly, the rooms are dated, cupboards with chipped wood, chipped toilet doors and dull looking bathrooms. Out of the 7 rooms we collectively had, there were light bulbs, phones and remote controls that were not working. Housekeeping does a great job in coming timely and very obliging toward requests for additional bottled water, change of towels/ bedsheets, it's just the state of the rooms that can't be helped.

Secondly, can't really complain since wifi is complimentary. However, one had to log in several times a day once you are out of the room. The last complaint is about how unfriendly the communication of the day's activities was being carried out. Great if you are hanging out at the public areas, but if you are in the room stuck with a sleeping child or wanting to plan for the activities for the next half of the day, you have to depend on the main channel on the TV and wait for the relevant screen to come up with the day's schedules and timing. Thank god for smartphones, myself and my friend, and I'm sure many other guests, resorted to taking photos of the screen in order to save those information! I can understand if the resort wants to be green and save on printing papers, but at least in this digital age, maybe try to load the schedules/ themes for meals all up on a website? If we are made to login several times a day, I think it will help to direct us after the login to a main page that lists the activities and their timings?

Other than the above, you will really enjoy a stay at the Club Med Bintan. We are beach bums and this beach is one of the best in terms of marine life (snorkel right at the shore) and clarity of the sea and cleanliness of beach. Food-wise, plenty of variety, freshly cooked and kids enjoyed the plastic trays with compartments - very practical! I just wished more information could be disseminated beforehand and timely, such as the need to pack a bag with belongings labelled if your child is going to join the Mini Club. No doubt, our second stay will be more enjoyable now that we know how to 'survive' during our stay at the resort. We have gone to CM Cherating but felt that Bintan offers a more enjoyable experience.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

9 days...we only spend 9 days in Bintan Club Med!! We wanted longer!! This was the 4th times in club med and the 3rd time we stayed in the Club Med Bintan. It was amazing holiday! We enjoy it so much. My son (13 years old) had fun in many activities. The night show is fantastic! Food and drink is good...variety of choice. Room is big and comfortable. What else?? Of course the GO team. They are awesome, enthusiastic and fun with full of energy. I would like to express my BIG thanks to Rendi (Mini club), Abi (Mini club), Josh (Land sport), Nancy (Teens club), Oliver (Bar), Diana (Bar), Robert (Water Sport), Wenny (Reception) ..........BUT special mention must go to Jaya (excursion team) and Anthony (the Bar). Jaya spend his free time and even his day off with my son. They went swimming, kayaking, snorkeling etc. My son had so much fun!!! Anthony, his special drink is incredible (I will always remember the ice coffee story). We had very nice dinners. Chat a lot! Laugh a lot! Such a nice memory!

One more can’t miss! The Chef de Village Mei!! Thanks for taking care of my son when he got injury. Your care means a lot for me!!

Thanks everyone! Are we coming back? The answer is YES! It will be really soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.