We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“We will be back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

9 days...we only spend 9 days in Bintan Club Med!! We wanted longer!! This was the 4th times in club med and the 3rd time we stayed in the Club Med Bintan. It was amazing holiday! We enjoy it so much. My son (13 years old) had fun in many activities. The night show is fantastic! Food and drink is good...variety of choice. Room is big and comfortable. What else?? Of course the GO team. They are awesome, enthusiastic and fun with full of energy. I would like to express my BIG thanks to Rendi (Mini club), Abi (Mini club), Josh (Land sport), Nancy (Teens club), Oliver (Bar), Diana (Bar), Robert (Water Sport), Wenny (Reception) ..........BUT special mention must go to Jaya (excursion team) and Anthony (the Bar). Jaya spend his free time and even his day off with my son. They went swimming, kayaking, snorkeling etc. My son had so much fun!!! Anthony, his special drink is incredible (I will always remember the ice coffee story). We had very nice dinners. Chat a lot! Laugh a lot! Such a nice memory!

One more can’t miss! The Chef de Village Mei!! Thanks for taking care of my son when he got injury. Your care means a lot for me!!

Thanks everyone! Are we coming back? The answer is YES! It will be really soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    361
    90
    32
    30
See reviews for
858
227
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the resort, until the time we left, we felt part of something unique and special. The view was picture perfect from the pools to the beach and friendly smiles everywhere we turned. So many activities for adults and kids to do, sometimes it was hard to fit it all in. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Interconnecting rooms for families was fantastic. Food was amazing........so many international choices......even the head chef would walk around tables and make sure u were happy. The GO's were such a fun group with so many talents. They became like family. A Special big thank you to Davo ("I am your father"), Rendi (warm heart), Robert (sports manager) ( Claudia sends her love to her favourite man), Anthony in the bar (we never learnt to say see u later in French), Rob the lifeguard (dont worry about buying a house yet), Leo (hope the foots healing well, i heard that bananas r good for forehands and watermelon for backhands) Michael (it's safe to say that I am not in the pool now), Josh (we know u love the colour purple, we wont tell anyone), Marco (the most versatile actor ever), Edward the lifeguard (or shall we say Edwardo for the ladies), Jemmy (mini-Michael Jackson), Shirley (keep off your feet).
And everyone else who just made our stay special. One more special thank you to the Chef de Village, Mei, what an amazing team you have. WOW! Until we meet again. Rob, Lucija, Mitchell and Claudia.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, it was a rainy day. When we first arrive at the terminal, there was a huge crowd. First big mistake by club med was not notifying the huge group that was there for a team event that they had a seperate bus. So when we struggle to get up the bus (standing in e rain), a staff came and told the group that they were on the wrong bus! Wonderful! So other passengers were left standing in the rain while waiting for the whole group to get off. The staff seems apologetic to the big group but not those that were left standing.

On arrival after the initial introduction, groups of GO held boards with names of people who was staying there so that they could bring them to the room. We could not find ours...so we had to go ask a staff (in green dress) that we didnt see our names. She asked us to wait while she checked. After checking, she said sorry but our names were placed in another board with another family. Then after that told us the room was not ready yet. Pls I am not stupid...if the room wasnt ready yet, just say so. Why say that our names was on another board with a another family? Contradicting.


Anyway, we were brought to have our lunch n told we could check in at 2pm.
After lunch, we went back to check-in, we were given our card and was told to go ahead. NO GUIDE PROVIDED! We asked the counter staff where was our room and she promptly said to go to the third floor and walk to the "E" building. The worse was...it was still raining so we had to walk in the rain to the room. Mid way we realise that, if you had gone via second floor, we would be sheltered to our room.


This was really the start of my second visit to club med after so many yrs. Disappointed. Hopefully, the remaining will be a gd trip.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

4D 3N package with family (x3 girls). As with other Club Med holidays GO's were excellent. Very good Kids Club and Teens Club. Kids participated in the evening shows, and fully occupied during the day and evening allowing M & D quality time. If you want a quieter time away from the main pool the beach is an excellent escape.
My 10yr old daughters comments - "Sally was really good at organizing the kids club and making up the dance routines for the kids club. Vivi, Lindsey, and Rendi were really good at taking care of us and having a good time".
Also the teenage girls were very well looked after by Nancy and all the GO's running the activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S'agaro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The premises is by no means luxurious, but certainly benefits from beautiful vistas- and especially a beautiful beach, which is as safe as possible for children. The rooms are rather basic (and could benefit from a renovation) but are clean and functional. Water pressure in shower was great in my rooms (1310-11) and everything works well.

At every level the staff makes sure you are cared for and welcome: restaurants- bar- sports & activities- pool. The lifeguards are very cautious at the pools and in general you feel relaxed to let your kids free, which obviously is welcome for all parents. The staff is very attentive to everyone, but especially children, which is a huge plus. Our kids made many friends and the whole experience helped them grow up a little more.

One huge advantage is having Ria Bintan, the “2nd most beautiful golf of Asia” next door…..a 5 minute drive and you’re teeing off with minutes. Private lessons are possible and I would certainly recommend any of the fantastic golf staff, who are very talented. A special thanks to Bjorn for helping me straighten a few things out!

The nightly entertainment was great- especially for the kids and adults could enjoy cocktails by the pool or beach bar. Marco and his staff has all the kids laughing and entertained. Ask Anthony at the bar to prepare you a surprise drink if you get tired of your usual stuff.

The Village chief Mei is always present and making sure things happens the way they should – she is incredible. Don’t hesitate to consult her for anything.

Ravi – the restaurant manager- was always there to welcome us and make sure we felt welcome and cared for. Rudy, as well as many other chefs always tried to ensure that we enjoyed the food. We would recommend dining a couple of times at the Terrasse restaurant overlooking the beach.

Our special thanks go to Mei- Ravi and Rudy- Marco- Francesca- Bjorn and the entire golf team- Josh for a great tour on mountain bike – Dany- Chelsey- Tarik- Anthony- Olivier- Michael- the lifeguards who always had a careful eye on the kids, Hafiz- the reception manager for the warm welcome upon arrival and of course housekeeping for making sure the rooms are always clean and in order. There were many others who contributed to a great holiday, but I don’t remember all their names unfortunately!

A few suggestions for improvement are: more activities in case of rain- more activities between 12h00 and 15h00- more lessons for Tennis (an afternoon session would be great for those who don’t want to be there at 08h30). Renovation would be great as well, although we realize it’s not always that simple…

Conclusion: if you’re not looking for 5-star luxury- but a pleasant and familiar family vacation full of activities and fun this is the ideal place.

Room Tip: We took a connecting deluxe seaview room and were happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Club Med Bintan village is warm and relaxing, and entertainment at your fingertip. Private beach is really a nice place to be - gentle and quiet, nice breeze all day, sand was amazingly soft and beautiful. Sleeping on sunbed throughout a day is a great option for adults. GOs were so nice and entertaining, as always as other villages, but Bintan GOs are very warm and attentive, without any hustle. Village (esp. facilities) are cozy but well coordinated not to face many people in corridor. Yoga morning class was great in relaxing spa place. We played squash, studios and gym space are well coordinated. Food quality was great, always freshly served, but less variety in menu selection especially for fruits. Another restaurant for late breakfast/lunch is a nice place watching over the beach, enjoyed the breeze. Thank you Mei and GOs, it really was a great holiday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This was my first time visiting Bintan Island and first experience at a Club Med resort. My partner, 10yro son and I enjoyed 7 nights here during early July. We loved it! From the minute we arrived at the ferry terminal and were greeted by C.M staff till the minute our luggage was returned to us for our trip home...we felt we were well looked after.

Yes the greeting at the foyer felt a bit 'cheesy' and all the clapping you do at the evening shows seemed a bit 'over the top'... but after a day or 2 at C.M you get into the spirit and find yourself greeting new guests (if you happen to be walking past the reception) and you jive as you clap for the G.O's performance. It's a happy place and truly has a warmth about it.

Yes, the rooms are a bit weathered and could do with a revamp but they were still clean and comfortable. The gardens and beach were so well maintained and inviting. The activities are plentiful and you just can't get bored. You can do as little as you like, laze around the pool...(if you can find a free sunbed) or snorkelling , swimming, archery, golf, yoga, paddling, wind surfing, sailing, circus...the list goes on! The pools are big and clean and so warm. The beach too is clean and safe for kids to dig and build sandcastles and the water is clean and divinely warm. Don't forget to bring your goggles or personal snorkelling gear because there's loads of fish to see by the rocks just off the shoreline.

The staff are warm and friendly...I smile alot normally...but I found myself smiling most of the time greeting staff constantly. Particularly the maintenance and cleaning staff...such happy and friendly people... bless them.

G.O's that should get a big mention are 'Dave (Davo), Danny, Chelsea, Ashley, Tarik, Eric and Wayan. We had so much fun swinging in the air and twisting about during circus. Equally enjoyable was mountain biking with Dave and learning more about him and C.Med. We felt Dave is an asset to C.M and a wonderful representative for C.M. This guy deserves much praise.

I celebrated my 40th birthday whilst at C.M and totally appreciated the 'fuss' the chefs and waiting staff went to by making me a beautiful cake and singing 'Happy Birthday' to me. Then after the Michael Jackson show being brought up on stage by M.J (Wayan) and Mei to dance with them. Thanks for a memorable birthday!

Food and drink is plentiful at C.M with lots of variety. I've noticed a few complaints on Trip Advisor about the food and I struggle to understand these. My partner and I are vegetarian and my son eats meat and we all felt we were well catered for.

Suggestions... get in early for a poolside sun bed by putting your towel and bag on it (fear not, no one will take it). Book excursions directly with the venues - it's cheaper. And supports the beautiful hospitable locals (and book in early...incase it rains and the show/tour is cancelled... you can reschedule). Get up early too see the wildlife, lots of monkeys, squirrels, lizards and birds to be seen. Try all the activities at least once. You've paid for it so you may as well. Use the kids club, the G.O's are well trained and great fun. And....try the 'Jemily' (drink) they are yummmmy!

Mei the G.M is a woman to be admired. She runs the resort well. She's friendly with the guests and has great M.C skills at the nightly shows.

Another mention is Danilo the afternoon/evening entertainer in the main bar downstairs. Great singer and keyboard player... and he lets you sing with him on stage. A wonderful friendly man.

All in all, we had a fun filled family holiday and would highly recommend C.M to any family.

Room Tip: For small kids I'd suggest you ask for ground level rooms as there's 3 levels. If you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.