We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Sandy Beach and beautiful warm water!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“White Sandy Beach and beautiful warm water!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Club Med and we would definitely go back. As the bus drives down the driveway and many of the staff are in the lobby waving to greet you , you start to wonder what this place is all about. From the moment you step off the bus the staff (mostly called GO's) will go out of their way to try and make your stay at club med the best it can be. As an all inclusive concept you wonder how good the food is going to be and whether or not you will actually like it. Club med certainly surpassed any thoughts or expectations that I had about the food. There was so much food and nearly anything you could think of was available. There was Chinese. Korean, Japanese, Indian, pizza, hot chips, salad, fish, meat, vege's and the list goes on (and on!). Plus, it all tasted very nice. Way too hard to just have 1 course, unfortunate for the waist line!! Great for fussy kids and our baby too as they had a fridge with food just for him. There was activities running pretty much all the time which you could join in if you wanted, or just lounge by the beautiful beach or pool and relax (this could involve sipping cocktails- also included!) our kids had the choice of attending the various kids/mini/petit/teen's clubs for their respective age groups with timetables of activities lined up from about 830am till 830pm, keeping them busy. They also had an evening show they participated in which they found amazing. Besides the kids show one night, every other night they had a professional show put on by the staff that work there. Our family found this great as with young children we would not go out of an evening but when it is at the hotel it was great to stay up and see. Some of the staff are very talented especially the circus team who do various acrobats.
The location of this Club med is very good. There is the beautiful white sandy beach and the lovely blue warm water. But most important for us was it did not take that long to get too. It was only a 45 min ferry ride from Singapore then a 10 min bus ride to the village itself, which is set in well maintained gardens. The rooms are, as some people have mentioned, probably the only thing that might let this place down slightly. They do need to be re done or given a thorough clean. However, given there is so much to do outside the room there is no need to be spending much time there anyway!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    367
    91
    32
    30
See reviews for
863
228
26
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Just retuned from 9 days at club med bintan with my family and friends. We all had a fabulous time away and are all so sad to have left. All the G.Os put a huge amount of effort into making sure we were always having a great time and there was something to do. The Aussie G.Os especially Davo, Lindsay, Josh and Rob we're all great at checking on us and making sure we were enjoying our stay! And Dave's enthusiasm around the pool for crazy signs and pool games was infectious! We also spent a lot of time with the circus team. Tarik, Ashley, Chelsea, Danny and Said made our afternoons at trapeze so much fun! Overall there was a great atmosphere around the village and I can't wait to go back again soon! Thanks for a fabulous trip Club Med Bintan!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We spent a portion of our honeymoon at the Club Med Resort on Bintan Island. Little did we know how special our honeymoon would be thanks to great service and friendly staff members. From the minute we were greeted until we sadly departed the resort, every moment, every meal, every attention to detail was a reflection of pure professionalism, and exceeded our expectations.

We wish to extend a special thanks to Frandis from the restaurant, Amelia and all the Spa personnel and the friendly front office staff, Hafiz, Omine and Allison for your attention to detail and friendly faces!. Prakehs, Fahrir and Oliver not only organises the bar, but also ensure for great fun and laughter. The GO’s – Bjorn, Rob, Shirley and Sally ensured that our day to day and minute to minute needs were always catered for.

One of only two flaws was the housekeeping department that did not always clean our room as we would have expected, however after reporting this it seemed to have improved.

The second issue was a shocking and unpleasant experience that involved an elephant. On Wednesdays an elephant is rented where guests can feed, take photographs and go on a back ride. This specific elephants is treated cruel and hit with a batten if not submissive. All of this in full view of children and guests. We even noticed a trail of blood from where the sharp edge of the batten pierced the elephant’s skin. Our dissatisfaction was reported to Mei, the resort Chief but has recently learned that the elephant is still rented. This is obviously very disappointing in Club Med & Bintan Resort’s management’s judgement regarding ethical treatment of Animals.

We would give Club Med Bintan Island a conditional 9 out of 10, permitting the use of animals for entertainment will no longer occur.

Room Tip: Rooms are generally nice, but if you do not have a sea view, ask for the R-block. This is close eno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our whole family really had a great time during the 6d5n in Bintan Island.We love the environment there.I myself also made friends with Chinese G.O Laura,Nancy,and Anson.They helpd our family a lot,for my family members don't know about English except me.And I also wanna thank those Bartender.Except for drinkings,they taught me a lot about the world that I've never heard before.Prakash,Olivier,Fahri,they are nice and friendly.After I came back to Beijing,I miss everything and everyone there.Clubmed,see you next time!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hsinchu, Taiwan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hey Ere'body!

During the stay at Club Med Bintain Island... I am out of words. Basically it's the best resort I have been to. Everything was awesome, starting from the food, activities to the people. If I can remember correctly, the top 3 things I did was:

1. Aqua Gym all the way
2. Drinking Mock tail until the sun turn black
3. FOOD!

Since that I am only a teen, I attended the Teens Club. The club itself is very amazing, but since that the lovely GO, Ms. Nancy was our guide. It was even more awesome. When I was in Teens Club, I met a lot of great people, from Australia to Brazil. They are all so cool and sweet, no one can ever replace them.

Moving on from Teens Club, the schedule for it is even better than you can imagine. During the trip, me and my family, only stayed for five days. However with five days, I probably had the best time of my life, Nancy took all of us to aqua gym, badminton, basketball, archery, sailing, kayak, beach volleyball, yoga and much more.

After doing the activities, we will either lounge in Suntai bar to play card games, or drinking fruit punch. It was always so relaxing.

Anyways, as mentioned earlier, aqua gym was quite popular during the trip... The sport itself is awesome, but I guess the coach is what got us going... he's... wonderful. (read that in an italic font)

At the end of everyday, there will always be a show for us in the auditorium played by all the amazing GOs. It's like you have a broadway show every night! Finally, what's the point of having fun when there's no comedy after the show? So yeah.. thanks Marco the entertainment manager, the night was funnier and better than expected.

So yeah, have a nice day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our April 2013 Club Med Bintan experience was amazing!!! After a long journey over from Perth we arrived at a breathtaking paradise. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left our experience exceeded all expectations. The scenery, the food, the activities, the kids club but most of all the staff made our stay unforgettable. The memories this amazing place gave us will be ones very hard to forget. A special thank you to David, Josh, Wayan, Jaya, Lindsay, Chelsea, Dee, Marco, Suna, Ara, Robert, Ren, Ibra, Sally, Shirley, Eric and Mei. What an awesome team, thanks for the memories.

Nick, Julie, Allegra and Caleb

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the resort with our two youngs kids.
Postives
- Beach is lovely but then so are all the beaches I have stayed at in Bintan.
- Rooms were spacious and mostly clean.
- Kids enjoyed most of the kids activities but they could use some more variation and focusing on age apporiate evening activities. Which three year old wants to play card games. Not mine!

Negatives
- Food and Drink quality was pretty mixed. Don't order things like 'fresh' watermelon' and 'orange' juice. The ones I ordered all tasted like they had been sitting around way too long.
- The fruit across the hotel was generally disgusting and missing any flavour. We live in singapore and can confirm there is nice fruit in the region but they are certain not using it in the hotel. So happy to go home and eat something healthy.
- Kids club seems a bit disorganised. They didn't even bother formally getting my kids details on the first day and were busy feeding them lots of unhealthy things like plates of coloured sugar cereal with soft drinks. It was hard to identify anyone in charge.
- Choose a room closer to the main areas if you like to party but if you don't avoid it at all costs as evening events very noisy. Long walk to rooms out on the edges and lots of stairs to climb.
- Hotel spa is very expensive. There are nice alternatives outside the hotel that offer free pickups but make sure you let reception know you are expecting to be picked up. They won't let the cars in and we missed our massage althogether. Dreadful front desk service.
- The hotel should stop making any pretence of being environmental. They have little signs at the bars saying please requests straws so less plastic waste. Meanwhile at two events on our stay they did mass release of plastic balloons all eventually one might suppose ending up in the ocean for the local turtles to play and choke on.
- Organised day activities were a little light on quality. The snorkling trip is only for an hour (front desk says two) and goes to a spot where the water was very murky.

I wouldn't stay at this club med again but rather choose one of the other bintan resorts I have stayed at. Much better to go with a place with a higher quality of food and service than all the gimmicks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.