We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I went here with my family for a week after a visit to Singapore. Amazing is the only word to describe it. When we first arrived there was a ‘welcoming party’ where the staff were waving and cheering playing music handing out face towels and refreshing drinks on arrival. The owner of the Club Med did and introduction of how things work. The MO’s are great, they join you for breakfast, lunch and dinner, only if you would like them too of course. They are very friendly and interesting. The food was beautiful, so much selection and all you can eat and drink which was fantastic! Every night there was a theme where you could choose to partake in, each night there was entertainment you could choose to go and watch and they were very good. The bar staff were great and made whatever we wanted! They loved partying with the Kiwis which was great. The activities were awesome there was so much to do. I loved snorkelling, archery, riding an elephant, lounging by the pool and everything. It was family friendly too, having a club for small kids and a club for teenagers which my younger brother enjoyed. The rooms were nice and air-conditioned which is definitely needed! This was the best experience I have ever had even made friends with the staff which is really nice. When it was time to go there was a ‘farewell party’ much like the welcome party. Overall it was a great time and I would recommend to anyone! I want to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    337
    86
    29
    29
See reviews for
823
214
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We went over with a large group and have to say that our time spent at Club Med was fantastic. The staff were a delight to be around and we sgared many good nights out with our crew aswell as the resort staff! Great place for taking children as the staff will make your journey nice and relaxing by the use of their kids club which has so many activities during the day. All inclusive drinks and food too! Buffet was awesome quality and variety and cocktails were delicious! You really don't need to leave this place once your here as it's got everything in one location. Rooms nice and clean, beds could need a litlle bit of an upgrade though, but overall good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been to this Club Med more than 10 times. It is an easy ferry ride from Singapore where I currently live. The beach is fantastic, the pool is great and there are all the usual Club Med activities to choose from. The rooms were redone a few years ago, and are a little bit tired in places but then how much time do you want to spend in your room?! The food choices are usually pretty good, but its a shame there is less dining options offered at the outdoor restaurant these days. The new spa is very nice though and a great location for the 9am yoga. If you want to have fun, enjoy the beach and activities then its the place for you. If you want five star luxury and pampering then you would be looking for a different location. We love it and regularly visit with either with extended family (those in their 70's) or with friends and their kids.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to be in A, B, C,D blocks you are pretty close to the main building and ghe res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Juz back last nite (19 Jun 2013)... to hazy Singapore. This was our 3rd trip to CM Bintan and upon arrival this was what we heard a child telling her mother (they were at the Reception area, all packed and waiting for their departure) "Ma...I dun want to go home, I want to stay here forever!"...the reply from her mother was "oh baby...I also want to stay here forever!". That's the feeling most GMs feel...

Food : For lunch & dinner - generous and good variety. Breakfast spread could have been better.
Room : Deluxe room (Blk A) we had was well maintained and the toilet has been refurbished. Great view (pool & sea).
Facilities : Well-equipped and good mix to cater to most guests. The beach is awesome...clear and calm, suitable for young families and the elderlies. Elephant ride caught many kids by surprise.
GOs : They are the ones who made the difference in the CM village. Their patience when coaching us the various sports, their dedication esp towards the kids at the mini club, their passions when it comes to the performances.

Like to thank Mei and her team...for making CM Bintan so inviting. Special mention to Leo for spending so many sessions of badminton with us and showing us his magic tricks. Marco for his hilarious performances (actually he is a very nice guy in person...not the sissy as he portrayed on stage). Davo for the daily soccer matches and also Jayret for his patience in coaching archery (should see his Lady Gaga pose). Not forgetting vivacious Chef Simon who has taken personalization further.

CM Bintan is highly recommended for short vacation for its proximity to Singapore and a great resort for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This trip exceeded our expectations and there was never a dull moment. Thanks to Mei and her team of GOs who made our trip so memorable: Shirley for showing us around when we first arrived; Eduardo for teaching us how to sail; Robert for teaching us how to windsurf; Leo for the squash lessons, magic tricks and great company; and the many many others whom we had the pleasure of interacting with. You guys are the reason why a Club Med experience is such an awesome one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife, kid and I were at Club Med, Bintan for 6 days last week and it is by far the most relaxing vacation that we've had since the little boy came along (he's 4).

Much of the credit goes to the wonderful team of GOs at the Mini Club especially Min, Nikki, Sebastian, Prisy and Sally who organised activities for the little ones under their charge and gave all of them the entire VIP treatment. :) When asked what he enjoyed most about his stay, our little boy gave an unequivocal answer - "MINI CLUB"!

Having him in their good hands also allowed both of us to take part in many activities that we would not have been able to - like snorkelling, Aquagym, tennis lessons, sailing, kayaking and chilling by the pool. In the process, we also had a chance to interact with Josh, Lucy, Nate, Leo and many other GOs without whom the experience would have been a less colourful one. We would also like to express our thanks to Mei, the very visible and hardworking Village Chief, who went out of her way to ensure the comfort of all her guests at Club Med.

We will definitely be back! Muchas gracias!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with young children, request for a room further removed from the pool as that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a blast at Club Med Bintan. Although this place is ideally for families (with kids 4 - 12 yrs old in my opinion), the warmth and service of the GOs made this trip such an exciting one. Firstly, the generous spread of food and desserts is going to make you want to come back for seconds, hence gaining a few pounds post trip is inevitable. Apart from an array of Korean, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Western delicacies, the effort put into the presentation of this food is well appreciated. One can even visit the Terrace Restaurant to have a romantic meal overlooking the beach.

The most amazing thing was the stamina of the GOs - while they had to oversee activities - windsurfing, archery, golf and circus, they still participated in the daily entertaining 9 pm shows and had to rehearse for the next day's shows at midnight.. These indefatigable warriors never showed their exhaustion and were so sociable/photogenic and even went the extra mile in showing us magic tricks.. Special shout out to Leo who not only taught us tennis patiently but in the newly opened Karaoke rooms, he was a hoot to be with. His impression of Adele is one not to be missed as he can easily reach the high notes.. We also had a great time with Robert, Nat, and Alex for the watersports as they gave us the confidence to sail, kayak and surf out on our own..

I was also impressed at the different themes I experienced each night.. Night 1 - Miniclub theme night where we were treated to the cute and lovely performances of the kids.. Night 2 Casino night/Michael Jackson/circus night - croupiers/ chips, cards were all brought out to revamp the Santai area to a classy casino.. Night 3 - Sports night as Olympic medals were dished out to the winners of the Olympic games held earlier in the day. Night 4 - Opening ceremony of the Karaoke bar, not to mention the sportmanship of the GOs who enthralled us with their silky dance moves.. MJ, Gaga, Pink, Rihanna reprised their roles and added gloss to the opening of the Karaoke rooms..

If there was one bad point about the trip, I would say it's the small flat screen TV in the room but with abundance of activities in the resort, there wouldn't be a need to hole up in the room for the FOX and HBO movies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.