We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Club Med experience enjoyed by a regular visitor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Club Med experience enjoyed by a regular visitor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been to this Club Med more than 10 times. It is an easy ferry ride from Singapore where I currently live. The beach is fantastic, the pool is great and there are all the usual Club Med activities to choose from. The rooms were redone a few years ago, and are a little bit tired in places but then how much time do you want to spend in your room?! The food choices are usually pretty good, but its a shame there is less dining options offered at the outdoor restaurant these days. The new spa is very nice though and a great location for the 9am yoga. If you want to have fun, enjoy the beach and activities then its the place for you. If you want five star luxury and pampering then you would be looking for a different location. We love it and regularly visit with either with extended family (those in their 70's) or with friends and their kids.

Room Tip: If you have a chance to be in A, B, C,D blocks you are pretty close to the main building and ghe res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    333
    85
    28
    29
See reviews for
812
213
24
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Juz back last nite (19 Jun 2013)... to hazy Singapore. This was our 3rd trip to CM Bintan and upon arrival this was what we heard a child telling her mother (they were at the Reception area, all packed and waiting for their departure) "Ma...I dun want to go home, I want to stay here forever!"...the reply from her mother was "oh baby...I also want to stay here forever!". That's the feeling most GMs feel...

Food : For lunch & dinner - generous and good variety. Breakfast spread could have been better.
Room : Deluxe room (Blk A) we had was well maintained and the toilet has been refurbished. Great view (pool & sea).
Facilities : Well-equipped and good mix to cater to most guests. The beach is awesome...clear and calm, suitable for young families and the elderlies. Elephant ride caught many kids by surprise.
GOs : They are the ones who made the difference in the CM village. Their patience when coaching us the various sports, their dedication esp towards the kids at the mini club, their passions when it comes to the performances.

Like to thank Mei and her team...for making CM Bintan so inviting. Special mention to Leo for spending so many sessions of badminton with us and showing us his magic tricks. Marco for his hilarious performances (actually he is a very nice guy in person...not the sissy as he portrayed on stage). Davo for the daily soccer matches and also Jayret for his patience in coaching archery (should see his Lady Gaga pose). Not forgetting vivacious Chef Simon who has taken personalization further.

CM Bintan is highly recommended for short vacation for its proximity to Singapore and a great resort for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This trip exceeded our expectations and there was never a dull moment. Thanks to Mei and her team of GOs who made our trip so memorable: Shirley for showing us around when we first arrived; Eduardo for teaching us how to sail; Robert for teaching us how to windsurf; Leo for the squash lessons, magic tricks and great company; and the many many others whom we had the pleasure of interacting with. You guys are the reason why a Club Med experience is such an awesome one!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife, kid and I were at Club Med, Bintan for 6 days last week and it is by far the most relaxing vacation that we've had since the little boy came along (he's 4).

Much of the credit goes to the wonderful team of GOs at the Mini Club especially Min, Nikki, Sebastian, Prisy and Sally who organised activities for the little ones under their charge and gave all of them the entire VIP treatment. :) When asked what he enjoyed most about his stay, our little boy gave an unequivocal answer - "MINI CLUB"!

Having him in their good hands also allowed both of us to take part in many activities that we would not have been able to - like snorkelling, Aquagym, tennis lessons, sailing, kayaking and chilling by the pool. In the process, we also had a chance to interact with Josh, Lucy, Nate, Leo and many other GOs without whom the experience would have been a less colourful one. We would also like to express our thanks to Mei, the very visible and hardworking Village Chief, who went out of her way to ensure the comfort of all her guests at Club Med.

We will definitely be back! Muchas gracias!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with young children, request for a room further removed from the pool as that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I had a blast at Club Med Bintan. Although this place is ideally for families (with kids 4 - 12 yrs old in my opinion), the warmth and service of the GOs made this trip such an exciting one. Firstly, the generous spread of food and desserts is going to make you want to come back for seconds, hence gaining a few pounds post trip is inevitable. Apart from an array of Korean, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Western delicacies, the effort put into the presentation of this food is well appreciated. One can even visit the Terrace Restaurant to have a romantic meal overlooking the beach.

The most amazing thing was the stamina of the GOs - while they had to oversee activities - windsurfing, archery, golf and circus, they still participated in the daily entertaining 9 pm shows and had to rehearse for the next day's shows at midnight.. These indefatigable warriors never showed their exhaustion and were so sociable/photogenic and even went the extra mile in showing us magic tricks.. Special shout out to Leo who not only taught us tennis patiently but in the newly opened Karaoke rooms, he was a hoot to be with. His impression of Adele is one not to be missed as he can easily reach the high notes.. We also had a great time with Robert, Nat, and Alex for the watersports as they gave us the confidence to sail, kayak and surf out on our own..

I was also impressed at the different themes I experienced each night.. Night 1 - Miniclub theme night where we were treated to the cute and lovely performances of the kids.. Night 2 Casino night/Michael Jackson/circus night - croupiers/ chips, cards were all brought out to revamp the Santai area to a classy casino.. Night 3 - Sports night as Olympic medals were dished out to the winners of the Olympic games held earlier in the day. Night 4 - Opening ceremony of the Karaoke bar, not to mention the sportmanship of the GOs who enthralled us with their silky dance moves.. MJ, Gaga, Pink, Rihanna reprised their roles and added gloss to the opening of the Karaoke rooms..

If there was one bad point about the trip, I would say it's the small flat screen TV in the room but with abundance of activities in the resort, there wouldn't be a need to hole up in the room for the FOX and HBO movies.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just came back from a 5D4N stay over at the resort. Let me try to break down the whole experience.

Ferry: The resort is 45 mins by ferry from Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal. Do ensure that you upgrade to Emerald Class for an additional S$21 per seat per way. It makes the whole check-in process hassle free. There is a lounge for you to rest and relax before boarding the ferry. You will be the last to board and first to alight from the ferry, hence when it comes to custom check-in, it is much faster.

Transfer to Club Med: Look out for the Club Med counter which is near to the exit. You will be given a luggage tag, the next time you will see your luggage will be when you are in your room. This also means that you will be assigned a room when you are at the counter. The bus will wait for all passengers to arrive before leaving to the resort.

Upon arrival: There was a huge fan-fare greeting our arrival and you will be served with a glass of cold drink which is perfect for the weather. There will be a briefing for different languages before the assigned GO usher you to your room.

Our Room: After reading so much about the room, we have mentally prepared ourselves for the condition. Yes, it is a bit old and tired but you are in Club Med, who stays in the room!!! Personally, I find that the room is acceptable.

My husband is quite sensitive to dust and he was sneezing non-stop when we were in the room. He called for housekeeping to clean the room again. The housekeeping staffs were very prompt and cleaned up the room while we were having our lunch.

Our block is near to the main building as well as all facilities and it has a lovely view of the beach. Some reviews wrote about having to walk a long distance to the main building. To be frank, the blocks are not too far away from the main building, a quick stroll of 3 mins is all you need.

Restaurants: There are 2 main restaurant in the resort. Buffet Style at the Waterfall and ala carte at La Terrasse.

La Terrasse offers a fantastic view of the South China Sea. It opens late for breakfast 1000 till 1100. Lunch 1400 till 1730. Dinner starts at 1845 and you have to reserve if you would like to have your dinner there. Reservation starts at 700 at the Waterfall. Maximum number of pax for the restaurant is 100.

Waterfall opens at 0700 till 1015 for breakfast, lunch 1200 till 1415 and dinner 1830 till 2100. It offers good and wide selection of buffet, the quality of food is quite good as well.

I prefers Waterfall to La terrasse as there are more variety of food available.

Watersports: Do reserve your slots early as the places are quite limited. Even though reservation starts at 900, you can see a queue forming at around 850. We've tried the wind surfing and snorkeling.

A big thank you to Alex for being so patient and clear in your coaching. We had great fun in wind surfing.

As for snorkeling, do not expect clear water and tons of fishes. Visibility is poor and the corals are dead. Do bring along some bread to feed the fishes.

Mini Club: We traveled with our 2 year old child and we decided to leave her with the Petit Club for one of the day. Petit club is chargeable at S$25 for half a day and S$50 for a full day. The activities lined up for the club is quite comprehensive and my girl enjoyed herself for the day.

We had a bad encounter with some of the GOs in the petit club and this accounts for the Very Good rating instead of the Excellent rating. In order to register the child for the petit club, you have to open an account with the check-in counter at the main lobby ( do remember to bring your credit card along). I opened an account and registered for my child the day before. On the actual day, I was told by one of the GO, that there is no more vacancy as I did not make payment when I registered. I was quite taken aback as I did ask the GO who did my registration regarding the payment and all she did was to take a look at the credit account. I've the whole day planned out and now I've to cancel all my plans just because the GO did not inform me to pay. The GO who was on duty in the morning also didn't really help and all she could say is you did not make any payment. Luckily, Stephanie, the petit club supervisor came and acknowledge that it was a mistake on their part and agreed to let my child to be part of their programme.

Even though we had a bad encounter, I must applaud the GOs for the fantastic job in coming up with the mini club show and kept all the kids involved. Well done GOs.

SPA: The SPA has a daily promotion. If you are interested for some massage, do check with the staff at the SPA counter (near to the check-in counter) for more details. We took the buy 2 get 1 free offer for a 1.5 hour massage. We paid S$280 for the whole massage which I find that it is quite reasonable. The room has a great view of the sea. Do not take the afternoon slot as the room can be quite stuffy and warm due to the afternoon sun.

On the overall, we enjoyed out stay and a BIG THANK YOU to Mel and her team. It has been a memorable stay and we do look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Kampar block is the nearest to all activities BUT it can be very noisy at night. Jati has a lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

An all-inclusive beautiful resort, games, meals, drinks, activities, classes, etc. Lots of activities for adults and children.

Rooms are average but some parts of the resort are seriously in need of upgrading. Food quality is average and can be improved.

A truely Club Med experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.