We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable Vacation!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorable Vacation!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to Bintan Club Med after 6 years. Our family of 7 (with 14yo, 12yo, 5yo kids & my parents) arrived Bintan at 10am & were glad to hear that our rooms were already ready for check-in (instead of 3pm). Room condition was clean, however the bathroom was without bathtub & separate toilet had no spray jet. We had to keep our doors closed at all times as there were mosquitoes.

The snorkeling trip was not as fulfilling since the water quality was not that good. The water is not as clear and do not expect to see much fishes or corals at the snorkeling spot. Of course this is something beyond Club Med’s control but they have done a great job keeping their side of the beach clean and litter-free. The GOs at the sea sports centre were friendly & helpful. We had only 1 lesson from them & were able to sail on our own.

The food was delicious and definitely a generous spread. The menu is changed daily & a wide variety of freshly baked bread was served. We had a choice of buffet at the main restaurant or ala carte at the terrace restaurant (reservations required). Ambience is nice at the terrace restaurant however mosquitoes can be a pest.

Archery was more fun this time compared to our last visit. The instructor, commonly known as “Jay Chou of Club Med” was friendly & funny. The sports centre is located at the back end of the village, surrounded by jungle so there are plenty of mosquitoes.

The night entertainment shows were well choreographed & the comedy skits never failed to make us laugh out loud.

We had a chance to visit the spa for a traditional massage. The spa room is nicely furnished & apparently every room faces the sea. The massage itself is definitely one of the best.

Thanks to GOs Jayrate, Santi, Marco, Nate & Exec Chef Simon, our stay was made both enjoyable & memorable. The warmth & sincerity of the GOs during the send-off made us feel sad when we bade our goodbyes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    883
    337
    86
    29
    29
See reviews for
823
214
25
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

For anyone in Sout-East Asia, going to Bintan is very convenient, at 1 hour from Singapore. The Club is well situated in Bintan, beautiful beach and surroundings. As usual, atmosphere is friendly and the buffet for all meals somptuous. Same for the open bar with lot of great cocktails, all included, with original liquors brands.
Don't expect rooms furnished with luxury amenities and furnitures.
A good place to enjoy with familly or friends or even for seminars.
I would not recommend this place for travellers coming from Europe, Americas or Australia as there are better Club Med in South Asia to discover local culture.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Just returned today from club med bintan . Had been there 10 years earlier and facility looked like i needed a spruce up. Happy with food , drinks service etc . All staff extremely obliging and helpfull with GO's lots of fun and entertaining , especially Chelsea and Davo , great fun and great at their jobs. Both represent the essence of Club Med perfectly. Tried every activity , loved the sailing & the Ping Pong. For people who like swimming in warm water , this resort is perfect.

A great place for doing nothing or heaps.

Will go back next year

Room Tip: A 3rd floor overlooking circus and beach would be great. Rooms are not 5 star but in a Club Med you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a family holiday to Club Med Ria Bintan with our 3 year old and 10 month old. My mother, brother and sister were also with us so there were 7 of us in total. We had an absolutely fabulous time and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone considering a visit. There were activities for everyone from sitting on the beach, to windsurfing and flying trapeze (and of course golf). The food was outstanding with a large selection of European, Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, Korean food to choose from at every meal, all freshly cooked. I think I ate my body weight in fresh croissants for breakfast... The rooms were very nice, better than I expected having read the reviews on TripAdvisor and were very clean and well serviced every day. The highlight though were the staff, led by Mei the General Manager. The GOs were friendly, helpful, entertaining and good company. The staff in the restaurant and servicing the rooms always smiling and extremely polite. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Our 3 year old enjoyed the activities in the Petit Club and the babysitting service was well priced and very convenient. The entertainment was fun and inclusive. A few less crazy signs would perhaps have been my personal preference, but there was no obligation to participate! We could not fault the holiday and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Club Med Bintan had it all. A most beautiful tropical setting. The staff were amazing, always enthusiastic and friendly and always going a bit further to make sure you were having a good time. Having everything included (food, drinks, sports, shows) made it very relaxing, and enjoyable. We tended to try many new things that we would not have done if there was a cost. The quantity and quality of the food was amazing, almost more than we could cope with. The decor of the rooms was a bit dated, but very clean. There are a lot of stairs in this resort, obviously built to take advantage of the view - however there is too much to do to sit in your room and watch the view so a lower floor room would be better.

Room Tip: Although higher floors have a view there are a lot of stairs. You only go to your room to sleep so I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I took the family (wife and two children aged 5 and 3) to Club Med Bali 12 months ago and we had a sensational time. So we decided to book Bintan and have just returned after spending 8 nights there. Apart from the beautiful Bintan beach - every single thing about Bali is better. Firstly the resort is in dire need of renovation. The rooms, the pool, the pool lounges, the dining area, etc. It's as if nothing has been spent in the last 25 years. The GO's try hard especially Shirley, Dave, Leo and Wayan, however we were astonished to hear anti-Semitic comments from one of the Australian GO's. The food was not good - and for the expense you should expect a lot more. After falling in love with Club Med Bali I would now never risk a Club Med again.

Room Tip: Go to Club Med Bali instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Its my 4th time to CM Bintan and sad to say the experience was not as great as before. Was there 24-26 May for our corporate incentive trip with 23 of my colleagues. The food variety and quality at the main restaurant was bad. The food at the ala carte restaurant was much better but you need to make reservations for dinner.

The bar manager and one of the other bartender tend to pay more attention to selective guests (they are of the same race as my colleagues and I, mind you) and we often had to wait quite awhile to be served. There was even once, an Australian guest observed that the bartender ignored me and served three others who came after me and he told him off. Thanks mate!

On the brighter side, activities were carried out professionally n the disco night where we could dance till 3am was fun. The pilates and body conditioning classes with Chelsea were great. Body conditioning class was real tough. Oh, and if you wanna join the cycling activity, sign up early on the day itself at the sports center at 9am. They only have 3 bikes.

We had the superior seaview rooms at block T and the rooms were comfortable. Rather far from the main area but I didn't mind the walk. I know CM is not about the rooms as we are hardly in there so I don't have high expectations in this area.

The food and overall service needs improvement so I would say this is my worst experience among the CM villages I've been to so far (besides this being my 4th time to bintan, I've also been to phuket and Bali). Unfortunately, based on this latest experience, I'm going to shelf holidays to CM for awhile...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.