We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“relaxing holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

our 4th visit to Club Med Bintan and we were not disappointed. the check in at the airport, after customs was very smooth and quick. as there were 3 of us, Club Med provided a car to whisk us off to the resort without having to wait for the entire bus to be filled up.
although rooms were only ready at 3pm, our room was ready around 12.30pm. the room is spacious with a corner for reading. bed and pillow are comfortable. we had very good rest at night. the bathroom is basic but clean. wifi is available in the room but you have to keep connecting it.
all meals are provided for and plenty of activities for all to enjoy. you can go for all the sea sports and games at sports centre etc or soak in the sun at the beach and read all day. the choice is yours. want to interact with other fellow GMs? then look out for activities organised by GOs. the pool games and aqua-aerobics are a good start.
each service staff at the restaurants are excellent. they are quick to clear the table for the next guests to use and will promptly remove your plates once you are done. you will always return to a clean table ready for your next plate of yummy food. the staff are polite and attentive.
good food too! the chef preparing the special dish of the day called Dody was especially interesting to watch. he had many many plates to prepare but always does it with a smile and makes each plate with special care. you would think he has only 1 dish to prepare a day!
The village chef, Mei made an effort to say hello to all the GMs. she comes round during meal times and when you leave Club Med, urging you to come back quickly. we spoke to her once during our meal and she remembered our names when she bid us farewell.
overall we had a very enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    367
    91
    32
    30
See reviews for
863
228
26
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

This is the first club med experience for me and my hubby and we must say "we are impressed!" We had a great time, from all the food and drinks provided all round, relaxing by the pool, to the entertainment of activities organised by the team. The sand and clear blue sea is almost perfect. The staff were all very friendly and sincere. the last night we went to karaoke and had a fabulous time. This definitely will not be our last club med!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We traveled here in the middle of a visit to family in Singapore. We thought the food was excellent, lovely bakery selection & big choice buffet. We thought the staff were excellent. Always trying to please & being very helpfully. It was February so wet season, but that didn't really spoil it. Although I don't really like shows, each night they put on a show, and it was suitable for all ages & nationalities , and was surprisingly good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We travelled to Club Med Bintan for our 3rd time with another family from Sydney.
Our kids had a blast! We have a 10, 8 and 7 year old who didn't stop from the moment they woke up. It is a great environment for them to have independence and try a whole range of new activities and sports. My son cried when he left and vows to come back and work here.
The food is vast. Will be working off those desserts for a while. Do be prepared however, the rooms and common areas are dated, they are clean but are certainly showing their age. Having said that we weren't in our room except for sleeping and quickly changing for dinner. I never saw our housekeeper but we did love our towel creations and little flowers on the beds.
The beach is beautiful...lovely white sand, clear water, lots of fish to see around the rocks, loved the evening drinks at the beach bar.
What really makes this holiday are the great staff. They were so wonderful to us and our kids...really included and supported them in trying new activities, always joking with them. Special mentions to Leo, the great tennis instructor, Wayan for his fabulous golf tips, Bjorn and Jono for organising our pack for the golf and good guys to be round, Marco and Ara for cracking us up especially in the nightly shows, Rob for his patience with sailing, Jaca always serving around the pool with a smile, Lindsay so kind in the mini club. Mei, the chef de village, was amazing at knowing all the kids names (our girls took a shine to her as she would let them use her special hair softening spray...thank you!)
Just one tip...keep your doors shut...we had a monkey come into our room...nothing a bit of screaming couldn't fix. It is surrounded by rainforest after all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Bintan in April and unfortunately the only trip we took friends also from Australia with us. The resort was very quiet which was lovely but the staff were really lacking in enthusiasm, perhaps tired after the busy easter break. I had told our friends all about the Talent show my daughter had got to go in (not on this time) also the great kids show where she had got to dress up in costumes with her face painted and put on a polished entertainment show but again not done this week. Instead they did a very dismal Bintan's got talent show where any random kid got up. Very disappointing for our firiend's child as we had shown them all our photos of previous two years. Also the beautiful terrace restaurant no longer had a small, but tasty buffet with the yummy grilled chicken, we now had to order of a tiny menu and though we tried it all, nothing was nice except the steak and the sauce too hot for the kids. Kids menu was nuggets only, every day! The pool side snacks also no longer included pastries and fruit that i used to have for breakfast, In fact no breakfast food there at all. The other snacks were carrot and cheese cubes every day, not the previous quality at all. We were also charged for the transfer and first meal which had never happened before. Not a very nice way to start an inclusive holiday.
The staff didn't seem very happy and the new manager seems to have made changes to all the good parts of a club med stay just to save a few bucks.
It is still beautiful and I would return but I hope they return to the previous practices with effort put in to the kids club activities which were terrible this year and return to the old menus for the terrace and pool side.snacks.
The spa ladies were all fabulous

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were a group of 6 ladies on a get together 5 days 4 night trip on 12 - 16th April. We had a great time at Club Med Bintan. The resort was nice enough, food was good ( piled on a couple of kgs ) and we were treated really nicely by the Executive Chef, Simon Lau and the General Manager, Mei.
Although we did not join in most of the sports activities apart from in the swimming pool, the shows put on nightly were entertaining enough and the GOs worked hard to ensure all of us had a good time. Special thanks to GOs Leo and Syera who were our constant companions during our stay, Diana who made such great mocktails and cocktails...and Marko and his team for the entertainment nightly.
Thanks for a great time :)
Susan Liew (Malaysia)

Room Tip: Block B ( Balau ) was good as it was very central but far from the noise too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

By far, the best location for families traveling to the Riau Islands! Team of dedicated staff, who go above and beyond to keep guests and their families entertained. Value for money compared to other resorts within the vicinity. So many activities to choose from for both Adults and children. Kids wont' be bored and get a chance to make lasting friends from across the globe. I have visited the resort on several occasions and have seen many a teary eye from children leaving the resort. The kids never want to leave. Very personalized, with staff friending guests on their
face books and keeping in contact with previous guests.
Yes, rooms a little tired, was in mine only for showering. Too much else to do! Food, entertainment and activities certainly make up for it.
Seeing the staff not only work all day, put shows on at night, then rehearse again late into the night for upcoming shows....don't know where they get the energy.
Huge thanks especially goes to Syerafien Deandra at the boutique. Great help and a genuine care for guests.
To Rob, always eager to help with questions and see things run smoothly.
Ibra....thanks to your efficiency and kindness..ensuring items I left behind at the resort were kept until our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.