We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Darwin, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful but disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Bintan in April and unfortunately the only trip we took friends also from Australia with us. The resort was very quiet which was lovely but the staff were really lacking in enthusiasm, perhaps tired after the busy easter break. I had told our friends all about the Talent show my daughter had got to go in (not on this time) also the great kids show where she had got to dress up in costumes with her face painted and put on a polished entertainment show but again not done this week. Instead they did a very dismal Bintan's got talent show where any random kid got up. Very disappointing for our firiend's child as we had shown them all our photos of previous two years. Also the beautiful terrace restaurant no longer had a small, but tasty buffet with the yummy grilled chicken, we now had to order of a tiny menu and though we tried it all, nothing was nice except the steak and the sauce too hot for the kids. Kids menu was nuggets only, every day! The pool side snacks also no longer included pastries and fruit that i used to have for breakfast, In fact no breakfast food there at all. The other snacks were carrot and cheese cubes every day, not the previous quality at all. We were also charged for the transfer and first meal which had never happened before. Not a very nice way to start an inclusive holiday.
The staff didn't seem very happy and the new manager seems to have made changes to all the good parts of a club med stay just to save a few bucks.
It is still beautiful and I would return but I hope they return to the previous practices with effort put in to the kids club activities which were terrible this year and return to the old menus for the terrace and pool side.snacks.
The spa ladies were all fabulous

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    361
    90
    32
    30
See reviews for
856
226
26
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We were a group of 6 ladies on a get together 5 days 4 night trip on 12 - 16th April. We had a great time at Club Med Bintan. The resort was nice enough, food was good ( piled on a couple of kgs ) and we were treated really nicely by the Executive Chef, Simon Lau and the General Manager, Mei.
Although we did not join in most of the sports activities apart from in the swimming pool, the shows put on nightly were entertaining enough and the GOs worked hard to ensure all of us had a good time. Special thanks to GOs Leo and Syera who were our constant companions during our stay, Diana who made such great mocktails and cocktails...and Marko and his team for the entertainment nightly.
Thanks for a great time :)
Susan Liew (Malaysia)

Room Tip: Block B ( Balau ) was good as it was very central but far from the noise too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

By far, the best location for families traveling to the Riau Islands! Team of dedicated staff, who go above and beyond to keep guests and their families entertained. Value for money compared to other resorts within the vicinity. So many activities to choose from for both Adults and children. Kids wont' be bored and get a chance to make lasting friends from across the globe. I have visited the resort on several occasions and have seen many a teary eye from children leaving the resort. The kids never want to leave. Very personalized, with staff friending guests on their
face books and keeping in contact with previous guests.
Yes, rooms a little tired, was in mine only for showering. Too much else to do! Food, entertainment and activities certainly make up for it.
Seeing the staff not only work all day, put shows on at night, then rehearse again late into the night for upcoming shows....don't know where they get the energy.
Huge thanks especially goes to Syerafien Deandra at the boutique. Great help and a genuine care for guests.
To Rob, always eager to help with questions and see things run smoothly.
Ibra....thanks to your efficiency and kindness..ensuring items I left behind at the resort were kept until our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Club med bintan has its own private beach, so it gives the place a feeling of exclusivity. There were also many activities that we could try out, such as the trapeze, golf, aqua aerobics, but as we were there for only 3D2N, we only had time for archery. Also, it was the monsoon season so many sea activities such as kayaking and snorkeling were unavailable. We were there during Christmas, so there was a huge Christmas feast laid out at the main restaurant, with all kinds of seafood you can think of and turkey and meats. The ambiance was great and the staff really friendly - each night there was a performance and basically you could party every night if you want. Just make sure not to go during the monsoon season, as the rain and waves could dampen your spirits a little.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

But not so good for adults... But I guess lying in the sun is what you expect and what you end up doing. The food is great. But why in 2013 don't they make it easier to recharge our electronics? Inaccessible and too few plugs, and the power is off when you take your room key out of the slot when you leave the room. The internet they have keeps dropping out and it weak, which is really irritating, and I reckon they could sell or have a better library of real books to borrow or buy. If it rains, and it does, you have very little to occupy yourself. The in house tv content and reception is absolutely appalling. Again, it's 2013. Could we not have had pay per view or simply streamed movies in the rooms when it's too hot or wet? Even the lowliest motel has that. Also there is no where to sit in the rooms.
Swimming lessons for kids is a missed opportunity that could save lives. And why have plastic polluting drinking straws when paper ones will do and not end up in landfill or in the water? More commitment to the environment please.
Staff and service are fantastic. Food as i said is great but its really noisy and akin to an ikea restaurant. then again this place is kid friendly. the a la carte restaurant is much more peaceful but of course the menu selection limited.Trip to town a sad company village was a waste of time. It's a pity there is no obvious acknowledgment of the local culture.
And could someone tell Chinese people to refrain from spitting?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have been to club med bintan twice. The beach is lovely and even though it was very busy the second time we were still able to do all the activities we wanted. My 14 year old loved the teen club and we barely saw him. My 8 year old refuses to do clubs but there was plenty for him to do outside of the clubs so he was happy. My daughter did kids club and loved it. Both boys loved the 5pm soccer game every day. The GOs are fantastic - special mention to Suna, Ibrahim and Ara for the soccer, Niko for the bar and Jemmi for the much under utilized power walking. The food was is good but the second time, perhaps because there were more people, we felt the standard had slipped a bit. Overall a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, it's a rather run-down property - so be warned. It's not 5 star or even 4, maybe 3 and especially if you've chosen the superior option, you may be dismayed (as I was) to find the room bare, faraway, back of the block with totally no view but you may be happy to find out that there's a promotional upgrade to Deluxe rooms with a 20% discount. But anyway, one does not come to Club Med for the rooms. One comes to Club Med for the activities, the fun, the people. Don't stay in the room unless it's raining and storming and you have no choice.

Oh and one more point. The bed is uncomfortable but thankfully you would be so tired out every night you'll have no problems sleeping.

The People make all the difference between a wash-out holiday and a fantastic one. On Day 1, a waiter spilled food on a favourite travel tote and left stains which could not be removed. Leo, our GO, was very helpful and tried to look for a dry cleaner somewhere on the island to try and get the stains removed. The front desk manager also attempted to contact the other hotels to see if they could help but this is Bintan after all, so nope nothing could be done for my bag. What they did instead was to offer to pick up the cleaning bill when I get it done in Singapore. I was impressed with their sincerity and that effort to go the extra mile.

My kids loved Mini Club and could not get enough of it and I can see why. The GOs at Mini Club (Vivi, Sun, Rendi, Yuki, Otto) were all such wonderful people who took great care of the children. My younger daughter (3 yrs) who did not qualify for Mini Club but wanted to tag along with the older girl was able to. Club Med has a list of inhouse baby sitters you could hire for SGD5 per hour and that helped us get some time away to join in the activities we the adults wanted. Look for Yeni. She's good and patient and my daughter took to her.

But I think the information flow could be better managed at Club Med. There were activities round the clock and we were given only a general hardcopy of the activities while the daily updates were posted on the walls. Again, hard copy. What Club Med can do is perhaps push info out to the guests via an App or say let us sync our smart devices with the daily updates. We had to resort to taking photos of the activity sheet with our iPhones because we had to remember the adult activity schedule and the Mini Club's schedule. Imagine you had a kid each in Petit Club, Mini Club and Teens Club!

There was also conflicting information on how old a child needed to be to get on the Trapeze and try out Archery. Some GOs said 5-8 years old for Archery, others said 4-12 years or 5-8 for Trapeze. It was only when we talked to the Mini Club folks that they explained insurance did not cover children under 4 for Trapeze that we understood.

Food. Honestly, I read all the bad reviews about food on Tripadvisor and to my surprise (maybe I was already prepped for bad food!?), the buffet is actually not bad at all. It's not the average buffet fare you may find at the other hotels. Here the chef tries to vary the menus and they also plate the food nicely for you. Always go with what the GOs recommend like Saturdays Korean Ramen is good and Wednesdays Korean Kim Chi stew. The GOs have eaten there week after week so they know what they don't want to miss.

Personally, I enjoyed the yoga classes, water aerobics and archery lessons. My husband was happy with sailing the hobby and we did some kayaking. Having a private beach is nice too and the waters being quite shallow allowed the children to play on the beach safely.

It was hard getting back to reality and missing my daily Mojitos-on-demand. haha but well, that makes us want to go back and try another Club Med holiday! Hope this was useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.