We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Bintan Island
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

But not so good for adults... But I guess lying in the sun is what you expect and what you end up doing. The food is great. But why in 2013 don't they make it easier to recharge our electronics? Inaccessible and too few plugs, and the power is off when you take your room key out of the slot when you leave the room. The internet they have keeps dropping out and it weak, which is really irritating, and I reckon they could sell or have a better library of real books to borrow or buy. If it rains, and it does, you have very little to occupy yourself. The in house tv content and reception is absolutely appalling. Again, it's 2013. Could we not have had pay per view or simply streamed movies in the rooms when it's too hot or wet? Even the lowliest motel has that. Also there is no where to sit in the rooms.
Swimming lessons for kids is a missed opportunity that could save lives. And why have plastic polluting drinking straws when paper ones will do and not end up in landfill or in the water? More commitment to the environment please.
Staff and service are fantastic. Food as i said is great but its really noisy and akin to an ikea restaurant. then again this place is kid friendly. the a la carte restaurant is much more peaceful but of course the menu selection limited.Trip to town a sad company village was a waste of time. It's a pity there is no obvious acknowledgment of the local culture.
And could someone tell Chinese people to refrain from spitting?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,078
    425
    103
    38
    33
See reviews for
981
243
31
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have been to club med bintan twice. The beach is lovely and even though it was very busy the second time we were still able to do all the activities we wanted. My 14 year old loved the teen club and we barely saw him. My 8 year old refuses to do clubs but there was plenty for him to do outside of the clubs so he was happy. My daughter did kids club and loved it. Both boys loved the 5pm soccer game every day. The GOs are fantastic - special mention to Suna, Ibrahim and Ara for the soccer, Niko for the bar and Jemmi for the much under utilized power walking. The food was is good but the second time, perhaps because there were more people, we felt the standard had slipped a bit. Overall a great time was had by all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

First of all, it's a rather run-down property - so be warned. It's not 5 star or even 4, maybe 3 and especially if you've chosen the superior option, you may be dismayed (as I was) to find the room bare, faraway, back of the block with totally no view but you may be happy to find out that there's a promotional upgrade to Deluxe rooms with a 20% discount. But anyway, one does not come to Club Med for the rooms. One comes to Club Med for the activities, the fun, the people. Don't stay in the room unless it's raining and storming and you have no choice.

Oh and one more point. The bed is uncomfortable but thankfully you would be so tired out every night you'll have no problems sleeping.

The People make all the difference between a wash-out holiday and a fantastic one. On Day 1, a waiter spilled food on a favourite travel tote and left stains which could not be removed. Leo, our GO, was very helpful and tried to look for a dry cleaner somewhere on the island to try and get the stains removed. The front desk manager also attempted to contact the other hotels to see if they could help but this is Bintan after all, so nope nothing could be done for my bag. What they did instead was to offer to pick up the cleaning bill when I get it done in Singapore. I was impressed with their sincerity and that effort to go the extra mile.

My kids loved Mini Club and could not get enough of it and I can see why. The GOs at Mini Club (Vivi, Sun, Rendi, Yuki, Otto) were all such wonderful people who took great care of the children. My younger daughter (3 yrs) who did not qualify for Mini Club but wanted to tag along with the older girl was able to. Club Med has a list of inhouse baby sitters you could hire for SGD5 per hour and that helped us get some time away to join in the activities we the adults wanted. Look for Yeni. She's good and patient and my daughter took to her.

But I think the information flow could be better managed at Club Med. There were activities round the clock and we were given only a general hardcopy of the activities while the daily updates were posted on the walls. Again, hard copy. What Club Med can do is perhaps push info out to the guests via an App or say let us sync our smart devices with the daily updates. We had to resort to taking photos of the activity sheet with our iPhones because we had to remember the adult activity schedule and the Mini Club's schedule. Imagine you had a kid each in Petit Club, Mini Club and Teens Club!

There was also conflicting information on how old a child needed to be to get on the Trapeze and try out Archery. Some GOs said 5-8 years old for Archery, others said 4-12 years or 5-8 for Trapeze. It was only when we talked to the Mini Club folks that they explained insurance did not cover children under 4 for Trapeze that we understood.

Food. Honestly, I read all the bad reviews about food on Tripadvisor and to my surprise (maybe I was already prepped for bad food!?), the buffet is actually not bad at all. It's not the average buffet fare you may find at the other hotels. Here the chef tries to vary the menus and they also plate the food nicely for you. Always go with what the GOs recommend like Saturdays Korean Ramen is good and Wednesdays Korean Kim Chi stew. The GOs have eaten there week after week so they know what they don't want to miss.

Personally, I enjoyed the yoga classes, water aerobics and archery lessons. My husband was happy with sailing the hobby and we did some kayaking. Having a private beach is nice too and the waters being quite shallow allowed the children to play on the beach safely.

It was hard getting back to reality and missing my daily Mojitos-on-demand. haha but well, that makes us want to go back and try another Club Med holiday! Hope this was useful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great setting, however an effort to get there given you have to fly into Singapore and then do customs all over again to get into Indonesia. Staff are generally v good, however the local staff do have a tendency to say "no" when they don't understand a question - they need to learn to say "i don't know however will find someone who does". Rooms are being refurbised - the newer ones are 4 star, the older are 2 star and very poor (beware). Food is great. Ria Bintan golf course is amazing. Great for kids, no doubt about it

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

we are just back from one week in CLUB MED Bintan and we are extremely satisfied about our holiday there.
The village is extremely good ,the personnel very kind and the GOs extremly active.
for the sports actvities ,special mention for Mr. Leo the tennis teacher and for the whole "circus" team:very professional in what they do and very nice human beings ,too.
The Mini club ,lead by Mr. Otto from Thailand is very good :you can see what kind of passion he puts in organizing the kid's shows.Great guy.
For the "show" time they have a real talent in the person of Mr. Marco Chen from Taiwan :amazing and extremely funny character.

Only a minor negative remarks : they have to fix the mountain bikes which need serious maintenance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Ideal location for a family with kids who love to explore new sports every day! The last day our kids concluded that they had done 17 sport during 7 days. Rooms were very basic, food was excellent but cantine was very noisy- too many people at the same place. I would highly recommend families with children in the age group 6-12 to go here. For couples I would reccomend you to go to a more laid back place

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Just got back from the best vacation ever

I would especially like to thanks to The village chief, Michael and his excellent team Ibrahim, Jo Jo , Amy and everyone in petit club and the resort- you guys are incredible
Everyone’s really dedicated warm, welcoming and compassionate. Whatever you wished or asked for, the GO’s & G.E’s team is willing to go the distance to make sure we were completely satisfied.

We got our first room far away from the pools and after some concerns we were immediately offered some alternative free upgrade, any other requests were answered immediately.

The beach and swimming pools is well maintained and very clean, Food and drinks was so amazing with great selection and the quality was faultless, entertainment was good and I want to compliment all the participants for their hard work and all the efforts they made. We cannot say enough about this location as the vibe is marvellous that make the overall experience so memorable. I didn’t mind the music by the pools as we have a 2yrs toddler who sleep at 8ish, so me and my husband just seat outside the balcony listen to the live music which is great

This is a great place for couples, families, and groups. It is clean, super friendly team , and has great service. As it was our first Club Med experience, it was pleasant and we definitely return. Thank you for the wonderful experience and we are already talking about planning another trip

Thank you sooo much as you have made our holiday most memorable.

P/S: First room given to us certainly can do better with some refurbishing


Tips for parents: You can book the Petit Club on arrival, this give you more flexibility to choose the date you prefer instead of the entire stayed

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bintan Island hotels
2.0 mi away
The Sanchaya
The Sanchaya
#1 of 4 in Lagoi
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
4.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Bintan
Banyan Tree Bintan
#5 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 933 reviews
4.6 mi away
Angsana Bintan
Angsana Bintan
#8 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Nirwana Gardens - Nirwana Resort Hotel
20.5 mi away
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
#6 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 317 reviews
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Lagoi Bay
#7 of 29 in Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.