We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for family with young kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best for family with young kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We brought our two year old and five year old boys to Club Med Bintan Istand in mid December and spent five nights there. It was very relaxing and fun. Kids loved the beach and the pool. We did not participated in much other activities at the hotel although we know a lot of things were going on everyday. Staff there were very friendly and helpful. They genuinely love what they do which fill the whole place with a happy atmosphere.

Room of the hotel was rather basic but we were given two connected rooms which make it so much easier for two active boys to go to sleep at night. The resturant was obviously trying hard to make sure everyone is well fed. It is such a relief staying at Club Med that we don't have to worry about what to eat next. That's a bg plus.

We will definitely be back. It is well worth a six hour flight!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    367
    91
    32
    30
See reviews for
863
228
26
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
shanghai
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Family of 5 with 2 kids and 1 toddler. A well appointed and very well run resort. The staff were the best we have ever come across and the food over the Christmas period was way above our expectations with excellent quality produce and a large choice. We have eaten in 3 star restaurants around the world and we are generally picky eaters so this is a real testament to the cooks focusing on both quantity and quality every day. The rooms are a good size although needing a lick of paint here and there to earn that full five stars, but still comfortable and clean. The kids clubs are great too and again the staff very friendly and always helpful. We hired a nanny through the club, Yeni, and she was so good we would have liked to have taken her back home with us.
Overall we loved it here and will be coming back, we cannot recommend this place any higher for the beauty of the beach and hotel architecture, quality and naturalness of the staff both the GOs and the GEs, the activities for the whole family. Feeling quite guilty about the 4 and a half stars but just a lick of paint and your good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very good choice for family holiday. The energy and friendlyness of the GOs are amazing. Better go at June holiday as the weather is perfect for all the activities. We were there on early Dec and it was monsoon season, so some of the sea activities were closed. It rained once or twice everyday during our stay, but the various in-door activities were enough to keep us busy.

Room Tip: most of the rooms are sea-view, connected room are available for parents and kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

My family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children aged 10 & 15) recently (Sept/Oct 2012) travelled to Club Med Bintan for a 7 night holiday. Upon arrival at the ferry terminal, we were greeted kindly by Club Med employees who directed us onto a bus that took us directly to the Club Med resort. At the resort we were greeted by some lovely GO's who were waving to us as the bus was pulling up. We were offered a cold drink and a cool towel, then shown around the resort and to our rooms. The staff were very hospitable and lovely from the moment we arrived. This hospitality continued for the entire week - by all the GO's, GM's and the Chef de Village.

Our children joined the kids club almost immediately. Our daughter in the teen club, led by Tina and our son in the pre-teen group led by Otto, Iris, Sonny, Geril & Nova (apologies if we have forgotten to mention some staff, they were all great!).

We met some other wonderful GO's & GM's namely, Tam Tam, Shun, Pierre, Louis & Robert (both Aussies). As Michael Clarke (the Aussie Chef de Village) was absent for the first couple of days of our stay, the lovely Nora looked after the place and did an incredible job. There were so many other amazing staff, including all the waiters, bar people, pool attendants, sports and recreation staff and cleaning crew. During meal times, the staff ask to sit with you and it was very interesting to hear where everyone was from and what their expertise was.

The resort itself was beautiful and clean. The pool was delightful and was the coolest place to be as the weather was so humid each day. From 7am we made our way to the pool and had a dip before having a delicious breakfast in the main restaurant. There was a wide selection of yummy things to have each day. We looked forward to every meal, especially dinner, which was themed each night. We did try the speciality restaurant by the beach for one of the nights but felt that the food in the main restaurant was better with more selection. Also due to the extreme humidity (80%+) as this was an outdoor open air restaurant, we were sweating so much that we could not enjoy the meal and couldn't wait to get back to our room which was air conditioned.

The resort is not air-conditioned other than the restaurant and the rooms. The rest of the resort has fans which don't do much other than blow the humid air around. If you have thick frizzy hair like me, don't bother with the hair dryer as the moment you step out of your room the humidity hits and your hair frizzes right up immediately! Nora made me feel very comfortable with having my hair out "au natural". Thanks Nora!

Each night we stayed up for the shows. The staff really put in a lot of effort to produce entertaining shows which show off their various talents, from circus performances, to dancing extravaganzas to comedy routines to magic shows. Of course it wouldn't be a club med without the children's show. Without a doubt, the team works so hard to ensure that all the kids are included in the show - and you can see that everyone had lots of fun preparing and performing.

Beware of the monkeys that roam around the resort. We had all been immunised against various illnesses as I wasn't sure what to expect from an Indonesian holiday, especially as I had read about the monkeys. They wander around the resort climbing up the railings into people's balconies and into their rooms (if the sliding doors have been left open/unlocked). We witnessed some very clever monkeys that had entered someone's open door on the TOP floor balcony. They had collected some powdered milk sachets and brought them down to the ground before ripping open the packets and eating them. They then take away the used wrappers - very clever indeed! My son was eating an apple as we were walking from our room to the communal area when a monkey approached him and jumped onto him trying to grab the apple. DO NOT EAT ANYTHING AS YOU WALK ALONG THE PATH OUTDOORS. The monkeys are not scared of people.

The beach is a must to visit and although I am not one who loves the sand, just walking along the beach from end to end is lovely. The ocean itself is so warm and calm that you can stay in there for ages and relax. JUST DON'T FORGET TO USE SUNSCREEN. Although the sun hides behind the clouds it still comes through and does tan/burn you.

We had a number of massage treatments in the health spa which is highly recommended. My husband and I had a couple's massage on the first and last nights of our stay. The first was to unwind and the last was to get us ready for the long trip back home! The staff are very skilled and after the relaxing massages we were taken to a gorgeous outdoor lounge area and offered tea to drink as we lay on the day beds and looked out at the ocean. Pure bliss! Our daughter had a manicure, which in hindsight was not such a great idea as due to the humidity, the enamel didn't dry for ages and so the manicure didn't last very long. However she did have a nice experience being pampered.

This is our 3rd time at a Club Med resort (twice at Lindeman Island and now Bintan) and it feels good to know that everything is included in the package so no need to take out your wallet for anything. There is a boutique on site which changes its stock daily (according to the theme of the day) but you can charge all purchases to your room but just showing your charge card. This is the same for any photos, spa treatments or extras that you may wish to purchase during your stay. The only thing that required cash was when the locals came on site to sell their wares. We bought 25 hand-made string bracelets to take home as gifts for our daughters friends. If you are from Australia, be aware that you cannot bring home any items made from wood and lots of items that the locals sell are made of wood (and also some items in the boutique).

We had a wonderful time at Club Med Bintan and we highly recommend it as a relaxing and enjoyable place to visit as a couple or as a family.

Room Tip: I would pick a room located as far from the communal area as possible so that you can walk off all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is my first Clubmed experience and it is awesome. We (2 adults and 2 kids: 6 & 7 y.o.) stayed a total of 5 days/4 nights and this is the most relaxed and enjoyable trip we have had for a long long time. The scenery is beautiful and the beach line is extremely gorgeous. The room is sparking clean and the spa is heavenly. The restaurants offered a huge variety (Western, Indonesian, Chinese, Japanese, Korean etc) of delicious food and facilities are always kept at tip top conditions. Other than those mentioned above, what I felt that made our trip so memorable is definitely the friendliness and professionalism of each and every GO who went to extremes to ensure that we enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. I also wish to express special thanks to all the GOs at the MiniClub who have tirelessly planned and ran events after events for my kids day after day. We will definitely be back again. This is a heaven on earth!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I know my title may sound cliched but a ClubMed vacation is unlike any ordinary holiday resort. First off, the hospitality staff who call themselves GOs all play multiple roles. For example, Syera, the sweet young thing who served us in the Boutique giftshop doubled up as the lead dancer the same night in our dinnershow. As a repeat visitor to Bintan ClubMed, I've always come away impressed with the boundless energy of these bubbly ambassadors, who come from all over the world.

So why do I say that you will get as much as you give? As I see it, the Club Med culture is "wholesome engagement" in a myriad of activities available right within the spacious resort grounds & pristine white sandy beachfront. Over the years, we've excelled at archery & ping-pong in particular, and more recently, taken to singing on stage & dancing into the night.

On multiple occasions, my wife & I have "escaped" to this little pleasure island with our 2 growing sons & twice before as a couple only. From our pictures (see gallery & visit our blog http://skindeepclinic.blogspot.com), you will appreciate that Bintan has made many happy memories for our family.

As a typical Singaporean, or for that matter, like any savvy globe-trotter, I'd like to come away from a holiday feeling that I got what I paid for. Everytime I've visited, the food has been excellent even though it's restaurants aren't Michelin-starred. I don't consider myself a foodie but the amazing variety, hygiene standards & daily menu changes get my vote.

One final impression we've taken away is that management seems to seek continual improvement. For instance, the Waterfall Restaurant now has a fridge with readymix baby food for families with toddlers, and on one occasion, the chef personally came round with freshly-made porridge from his kitchen, for our new friends, an Asian-American family with 2 young ones. Bravo !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

You must really experience this once in your life . I have been to Bintan for 5 times, this was the most enjoyable and fun at Bintan Clubmed. I am spoilt with choices for the various food variety. Follow by the entertainment shows and programs at every nights. It really a big Plus in my stay at thanks to Mike, Marco, Aka and Rob for the fun entertainments they and their team brought to all of us.. In the day we would spent our time in the pools and at the beautiful beaches. We also enjoy the sports entertainments every noon time . I would not miss my yoga lessons twice everyday. Thanks to my yoga instructor Eric. He is very experience and i enjoy the yoga session.It is my first time experience to playgolf. The golf instructor was very good and professional. My gals loves the free flow of drinks . Their favourites are Blue Dolphins, Don't Tell Ma Ma and many more.
We met Jamie the bike instructor. He is very friendly. We enjoy the lunch session with him too. He also bring us to the nature walk and power walk and riding the bike around the islands .
A Big Thanks to All the Go teams at Bintan Clubmed. \^0^/
-Viv

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.