We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing. Used to be great, now sadly dilapidated.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
1 review
“Disappointing. Used to be great, now sadly dilapidated.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Mouldy rooms flaking paint, crumbling woodwork, dingy spaces, terrible food. And it used to be so good ( about 5 years ago). GO staff pretty ok, most of the rest fairly indifferent. Location is still great, great beach although I saw one person rescued from the sea ( no lifeguard on duty apparently)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    908
    348
    88
    30
    29
See reviews for
842
218
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed for 5 days. The environment and beach is relaxing and clean; most of the GOs made you feel really welcomed and were very helpful and freindly lot; and food on most days are great. We appreciated that they took pains to change the menu so that we don't feel bored. We had a pool side dinner which we understood was done when occupancy rate is low and it was really lovely. The trapeze was a great experience but some courage is needed to take the plunge!

The areas that need improvements :
(1) The rope with plastic anchor buoys in the swimming pool emits a bad chemical smell. I beleived under the sorching sun and water, the plastic is slowly disintegrating and emiting the toxic smell.
(2) There are kids around so a non-smoking rule should be implemented. In particular, I could not understand why the area around the pool allows people to smoke.
(3) My kid is 10 years old and knows how to swim. On one occassion, I was approached by the lifeguard who told me that I should not allow my kid in the pool unless she was being supervised by an adult. I said I was not told, furthermore, my kid could swim well. He insisted that that was the rules and pointed at a board which I did not even noticed. I re-iterated my kid could swim well and furthermore, if she runs into diffculty, that was exactly what he was for! He said he could not just watch over my kid. I told him "Excuse me, but there are less than 5 kids in the pool!"
(4) We did not sleep well on the first night as there were many mosquitoes in the room. I had to wake up three times in the night to kill 3 fat-with-blood mosquites. However, the situation improved after we took pains to kill all the mosquitoes in the room in the day and also stuff towel under the front door to prevent mosquitoes to come in. I did feedback the situation to the reception on the second day so I'm not sure was it because they did something or it was due to our measures that there were no further mosquitoes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My forth visit to this particular resort.
Wonderful GO team comprising Woo, Mark, Nane, Marco, Psyche, Pauline, Tam Tam, Eric,etc They are an excellent team who works very hard to entertain the guests. All round activities and resort layout and services were excellent. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and looking forward to another return visit in the next 6 months.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we spent our CNY at club med, Bintan. as usual (had several club med experiences, all excellent!), we were greeted by smiles, enthusiastic and energetic GOs thoughout the trip. Lots of actitivities and places keep kids busy indoors and outdoors , exploring your kids potentials such as circus, golf, archery and swimming....(or you can choose another gentle actitives-SPA, shopping and evening party)...besides, U must try setting at sofa and siping a cocktail at beach salon or walking alongside the beach, watching sunset with your love one.so serene and delightedful...Furthermore, club med also held lots CNY events/parties to celebrate Chinese new year with worldwide guests in village and specially banquet Chinese quests at the seaside terrace.
We were superised and exceited to having such unforgettable memory here....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been to nearly all the club meds in Asia and it is hard not to compare them. I summarize below the strengths and the weaknesses if this resort.

The best aspects of this club med are the sports and activities, beach, and GO team. The beach is gorgeous--hard to believe this is not far from Singapore. White, fine sand and crystal clear water surrounded by picturesque rocks/hills. The water was clean and waves fun enough to surf in but not too big for kids to enjoy. We went sailing most days with the kids, and snorkeling trips are offered twice daily in the dry season. They stopped on the day we wanted to go--November 1--due to rainy season arrival.

There is a nice bar on the ocean front with lounge chairs all along the resort under thatched umbrellas that protect you from sun and rain. Very beautiful and relaxing.... The only shortcoming at the beach is the limited number of chairs. We were not there during high season, yet nonetheless, several days during our stay we were not able to get a chair since guests would put towels on them early in the morning to stake out their places for the day. When we asked for help to find a place, staff were rather indifferent. Finally we dragged chairs from the lawn onto the beach where we were quite comfortable under the many palm trees. Management should make more of an effort to manage the issue more proactively--either remove towels on chairs that no longer appear to be used or add more chairs. (Phuket club med has someone looking after the beach chairs and guests--might be worth adopting in bintan)

Amazing golf!! We spent several days on the neighboring golf courses. Club med arranges transport and t time booking. The GOs in the golf center are fantastic. They offer lessons every morning and organize trips to courses with guests. We participated in an ambrose tournament which was so fun and very well organized. Ria bintan course is simply stunning. The first 9 holes are on the ocean, with jungle and pond OB areas. The other 9 are also beautiful--on the forest side. Don't bother looking for OB balls...there are snakes and monkeys in the jungle which adds to the excitement of the place. We wanted to play other courses in the area but kept coming back here since it was so great.

There is a nice sports center which, despite being in need of an upgrade, has 6 tennis courts, 2 covered badminton courts, basketball, gym, archery and exercise classes ( Pilates, muscle fitness, aerobics, etc). Yoga is also offered two times a day at the spa on a beautiful terrace overlooking the sea! Teachers are top notch. After yoga you are given a lavender scented cold wet towel and a refreshing cold herbal tea. There are daily tennis tournaments organized by the GOs.

Spa is clean, nice and service is professional and worth the 'resort' prices. I had a strong massage but wish I had more time to book other treatments.

Kids club is great--kids loved the outdoor activities and performing in and watching nightly shows. Evening shows and parties were lots of fun for the whole family.

Ok, now the areas where things could use improvement...there are two main shortcomings at the resort. First is the food, second is the administrative and process management.

Food ... Food at this club med is a sizeable notch below other Asian club meds. Maybe it reflects this club med's noticeable absence of French management, or maybe a decision was made to keep food simple--- but dinning was overall disappointing. In the morning the staff begrudgingly cooks eggs to order, pointing to the greasy, over cooked mass omelets set out in the buffet. Dinner menus and choices lack special items like a wider variety of seafood and delicacies. cheese selection was pathetic. We ate at la terrace for diner and found the food better there than in the main dinning hall. This is a beautiful, intimate outdoor area on the beach. To eat there you need to book first at the large restaurant--so don't waste your time tying to book at reception or in the terrace restaurant directly.

Service--aside from the excellent GO team, service in the dinning room, housekeeping and the reception was sub standard. Part of the problem seems to relate to the resort's policies and internal processes, part of it also seems to be a silo mentality problem. Staff doing their own thing somehow in silos rather than working together to offer good service.

Examples abound:
--Tried several times to book golf, but our family's busy schedule meant that we missed morning hours (9-12) and evening hours 5-7 pm when the pro shop was open. Reception would not book it for us directly until I insisted rather emphatically.

--dinning rooms are large, noisy and service for coffee very slow and inefficient. They have one espresso machine where guests queue up for a tiny cup. For families with small kids waiting in line can be stressful. It can take staff over 10 minutes to fetch it for you, if they don't forget (which they often did).

--one afternoon while playing golf we needed to pass on an urgent message to the kids club GO but found that the reception did not do it, which was upsetting to our son and caused confusion.

--bar was often out of ingredients needed to make drinks (tomato juice, mint, olives)

--the hotel has a policy of not providing bottled water in rooms each day. I understand the need to conserve plastic use but, it is very inconvenient with 3 small kids to care for coming back to the room to find no water to brush teeth and have to drink over night and in the morning. We requested that bottles of water be added to our room each day, but staff often forgot. Reception vould not arrange delivery of water during times when house keeping staff were on lunch break or in the evenings. We suggest that the resort put water coolers in each of the room buildings so guests can at least get water at times when needed and the hotel is not able to provide it.

Finally, the resort is in need of refurbishment. Tennis court nets have holes, communal places are worn down and dark, and rooms are dark, a bit dirty and shower doors are clumsy.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second trip to Club med Bintan and wont be out last,
it was like coming home from the welcoming to the farewelling (?) everything was great.
i cant recommend it highly enough,the GO's were fantastic and seemed to remember all the guests,always had a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them,sorry but i cant name them all but Aaron,Eric,Bjorn and Mike were standouts, especially with our daughter (10).
The accommodation was excellent,room was clean and the " animals that appeared every day on our bed" (made out of towels) was a welcoming surprise when we came back to the room....not that often as there was always things to do outside.
food was fantastic,so much variety and so much of it,there was always something you could come back and get some more of !
the kids club is a great reason for staying here ,they treat kids like royalty,you could wave them goodbye in the morning and not see them until dinner time.
beach was picture postcard stuff,pools were ace
can highly recommend the restaurant by the ocean(cant remember the name sorry)
but needs to be booked(when you go in for breakfast )....with good reason.
And if you play golf ........the course next door is world class,it is worth the trip alone.
To Mike and the Team,
you are doing a fine job and we cant wait to come back
thanks again....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Club Med, Bintan. From the start till the end we were greeted by smiles, superb service and by staff who were always wiling to stop to say hello.

The facilities and activities are suited to anyone of all ages. Beautiful pool. Great beach. Indoor sports. Outdoor games. Random sun dances. Theatre/entertainment/performances. Quizzes and the list goes on.

Rooms are standard. But they were clean and that's all you need.

Overall, a fantastic trip that exceeded our expectations. Families, couples, groups will undoubtedly have a great time at a place that is focused on the guests and delivering the best they can to give you the best holiday possible. What more can you ask?

Our superstars are:
Shira - Trainer
Sheyra - boutique assistant
Eric - Sports
Ara - Sports
Woo - Sports
Marco -
Rueben -
Rob - sports
Jonathan - Sports
Matt
Abra - Housekeeping Manager
Ari - Restaurant Manager

The list goes on!

We'll be back, for sure!

Room Tip: ask for sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.