We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent short break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Med Bintan Island

Save Saved
You added Club Med Bintan Island to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Med Bintan Island
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
All-Inclusive Packages
Ranked #3 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

My first Club Med experience. Like the surroundings. Love the food, Excellent performance every night by the GOs.

Will definitely go for another Club Med experience. Maybe other locations, but definitely another visit to Club Med.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    871
    333
    86
    28
    29
See reviews for
813
213
24
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

It was our first trip to a club med resort and also our first time with 2 little ones overseas. I would like to say a big THANK YOU to Cupi, Koko and Michiko for accomodating to our requests and taking good care of our kids during our stay at the village. Oh yeah.. and Eric who is like a Energizer Bunny (keeps going and going through out the day). It is a pity we did not have a chance to thank Cupi on our last day.

I am quite disappointed that our daughter had to go through the health certification by Olivia, the resident doctor. Club Med needs to review this issue about showing the health certificates to prove that the child has gone through some vaccinations before being allowed to join the Petit Club Med. How can a medical checkup on the spot reveal what kind of vaccinations the child has gone through? In the end, we have to pay for the infirmary fees for a superficial check up. My wife, a medical doctor by profession, felt that my daughter was well enough to take part in the activities. Isn't that the same? The resident doctor showed little respect to other medical doctors. I will like to question her abilities as a doctor too. She insisted that my child is having a fever 37.4 deg C. Hello? She just took part in beach activities under the sun. I asked her later on the spot to take the temperature again. It dropped to 37.1 deg C and I said that's not considered fever. She wasn't very 'satisfied' and took one more reading herself immediately after that which read 37.2 deg C and told me it was still high. I am not a doctor by training but I am not a fool either. These readings fall within normal temperature range. If she is genuinely concerned with my child, she would have asked if my child was ok in the next couple of days when we happened to see her walking in the village. Unfortunately, she was too busy networking with the caucasian guests.

Room Tip: Ground floor units with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Ou first Club med experience and as retires were not sure what to expect. However this was the perfect way to break our journey from Europe to Brisbane. The staff superb and very attentive wthout being pushy. Food, wine beer and cocktails excellent. The trapeze show wonderful with the trapeze set up over the glorious pool. Staff excelled at interacting with guests and we enjoyed the company of G.O.s at lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Beautiful view through the palm trees to the beach and ocean. I was glad we had a ground floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We are just home from the most amazing holiday at Club Med Bintan Island in Indonesia. Every aspect of our stay was fantastic. Our beautiful terrace rooms had views across the resort to the stunningly beautiful beach. Our mealtimes in the restaurants and the food selection was astonishing. The day spa is exquisite and you will leave there feeling reborn. Above all, the amazing staff made our holiday experience incredible in so many ways. Their genuine warmth, tireless energy and endless enthusiasm made every day a pleasure. We have never laughed so much at their hilarious antics and were in awe of the world-class entertainment we had the pleasure of experiencing every night. Outstanding and professional in every way Jeff, Clayton, Lee, Brendan, Ben, Shun, Dr Olivia, Diego, Eric, Hertog, Made S and Made, Rachel, Jocel, Manu, Kenny, Angie, Giles, Jua, Chupi, Aswin, Miho, Tidoor, Teresa, Eva, Soe, Yonnie, Yas, Fablo, Takashi, Gid, Pierre, Jaka, Joni, Tisna, Eng, Suna, Muri, Sam, Rivan, Marcelo, Rajesh, Evan, Raymond and many others. Our kids have had the best holiday experience of their lives at Club Med Bintan Island. The location is simply stunning . . . you cannot want for more from this fabulous Club Med . . . you have to experience this for yourself!!! Jane Catania & family, Melbourne Australia

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I went to Club Med, Bintan in September 2011 for our honeymoon. We both wanted a free & easy vacation with everything taken care of. We were really glad that we picked Club Med Bintan. From the moment we arrived, we were very well taken care of. Merlin & her GO team (namely Ghazzo, Made P., Tisna, Anggiat, Sam, Syarif, Ramsez) ensured that we both were comfortable and had everything that we wanted. As we have never been to Club Med before, we were happy to see that this resort went the extra mile to ensure that all their guests were having a great time. The GO's know all their guests by name and are all very friendly and ever willing to lend a hand when needed.

We stayed at the Deluxe seaview room. The room was clean and very comfortable. The mini bar was stocked with refreshments and we found this very helpful. The food was excellent - with a vast variety and a different menu everyday. The GO team even arranged for special dinners for us both every night - 1 was on a golf course, another was a candle light dinner on the upper gazebo and such.

Club Med, Bintan is a great place to go to for an enjoyable time. We were given our privacy when we wanted it and we also got a chance to mingle with all the other guests and GO's. Our honeymoon was absolutely memorable and we are both really glad we chose Club Med, Bintan. We are definately planning on returning there soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We have just got back from Club Med Bintan and the best holiday ever. From the minute we arrived and were welcomed by Merlin and her team we felt special. This holiday has something for everyone in the family and the icing on the cake for us was DIEGO the teen club leader. What a fantastic job he did with our 11 year old son and the rest of the teens. He entertained these kids from morning to night, guiding them from one activity to the next, telling jokes and stories, making them laugh and always with a smile on his face. Our son leapt from his bed every morning straight to teens club, he couldn't get enough. When our children are happy we are happy. So thanks a lot to all the GO's but especially Diego, you've created the best memories for our son. He will never forget you. The Porceddu family

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

My son and daughter are 8 year, 4 year old. So this is the first trip abroad for them. They enjoyed all day long 'Fully' !!! Kind G.O always care my kids in Miniclub, so my wife and I could spent much time with out our kids (So nice!!!). After nice dinner, my son and I saw the sky, so many, uncountable stars, galaxy! We were so impressed with the time and scenery together.
And Korean G.O Alicia and Min were very nice and kind, because of them we have enjoyed perfect travel. I'm planning the next trip abroad club med again!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Club Med Bintan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Med Bintan Island

Address: Jl Site A11 | Lagoi, Bintan Utara, Riau Islands Province 12920, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Med Bintan Island 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Island of Bintan to the south of Singapore is full of history, marked by fallen empires. Its tranquil bays were long used by the Orang Laut pirates as a refuge. This is where Club Med Bintan Island, a haven of tranquility and refinement combining modernity with Asian tradition, now nestles. From the terrace of the Bar, feast your eyes on the mass of lapis-lazuli blue, mother of pearl and emerald, from the pool to the lush gardens. Nearby, Ria Bintan Golf Course is also a golfer's heaven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Club Med so you can book your Club Med Bintan Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Med Ria Bintan Hotel Bintan
Club Med Bintan Island Riau Islands
Bintan Club Med

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Med Bintan Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.