We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but still need improvement” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good but still need improvement”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

A few things to highlight:

1. The swimming pool is very dirty. Bugs can be seen floating on the water.

2. Sea water are quite surrounded by unwanted plastics, need someone to clean it.

3. The one and only restaurant serves wide range of food. We tried Chinese cuisines, western cuisines and BBQ set during our 3D2N stay. All were good except for the BBQ and fish n chips. The spring chicken, chicken wings, satay were burnt and dry. Otah were highly recommended. Fish n chips smells too fishy.

4. Tap water in the room are totally sandy and yellow. Luckily the restaurant sells those 1 litre bottled water for drinking + additional 2 comp small bottled water provided daily in the room.

5. Understand that electricity cut off will happen since it was nicely written in the information book provided in the room. But there was one day the electricity cut off more than 10 times. The most unacceptable is a lot of cut off during midnight.

6. The toilet where the shower take places smells really badly when we check in. But on the 2nd day after the housekeeping clean the room, the shower place smells so much better! I must blame that the housekeeping supervisor did not check the room before allowed the reception to check us in.

7. Spa was good. No complain about the staff or their skills.

8. Kudos to all the staffs, although some of them might not have a good English, but all of them gave us their best service!

Hope the management can take note of the notes above and improve the resort :)

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    132
    48
    10
    12
See reviews for
42
99
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

It was an unpleasant one-night stay we had with Bintan Spa Villa. The 60mins ride there was horrible, curvy and rocky ride, we all felt nauseous at 15mins of the car ride even though non of us has motion sickness, my child was retching away during ride.

It is a beach resort but yet we were unable to enjoy clean and sandy beach front, it was filthy and smelly.

The room reek of the unpleasant filthy smell due to the netting along the royal villas. The balcony was totally untouched during our stay.
The toilet is filthy and the heater failed to function so many times that we had to bathe in cold water. Ironically the toilet in the spa and lobby is better off than the room's toilet.
The TV shows repetitive programs, that gets jammed up very often. You need to call them to resume playing.
There are much inconvenience when it rains, as there are no shelter from the villas to the lobby.

The spa is mediocre. Room not conducive for massage, no privacy and too bright.

The pool is very small and filthy. Swimming with bugs and fallen twigs/leaves.

The food is acceptable, but unfortunately one of us suffered from food poisoning the following day of check out.

Definitely not recommended for guests who simply wants to enjoy pleasant and comfortable stay. Staffs were courteous, and speaks better English than a five star hotel in Phuket.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide your feedback on your stay, it is much appreciated. We deeply regret that you did not find your stay with us satisfactory. We apologise that you found the ride to the resort uncomfortable. Extra emphasis has been given to our drivers to drive smoothly and at a comfortable pace, and we will continue to do so for better journeys for our guests. As for the heater function in your toilet, we have since done maintenance checks on all the royal ocean villas and are all functioning well - we apologise for the momentary malfunction during your stay. We have been having some technical issues with our complimentary movie channels, and will be going through a series of upgrading this week which will resolve this issue and provide our guests with higher definition tv shows. Umbrellas are provided in every room for rainy occasions, as well as in the lobby. We apologise for the inconvenience of not have a sheltered walk way, but building one would obstruct the beautiful sea view that our guests enjoy so much. The swimming pool undergoes cleaning 1-2 times a day as per our SOP, we apologise that it was not clean at the time of your use. We are also very alarmed and deeply sorry that your friend suffered food poisoning - such cases are very rare from the resort and we treat food cleanliness and preperation very seriously. We will make extra effort to ensure this remains an isolated incident. Once again, we are deeply sorry for the inconveniences you have faced during your stay and we regret that you had an unsatisfactory holiday. We will ensure that these momentarily lapses are addressed so that guests do not face such problems again. Thank you for providing your feedback

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very nice house above the sea, great staffs and food.
The swimming pool is perfect.
Only downside you can't swim in the sea even at high tide.
But a quick 10 min boat trip and you can be dropped off on a white sand island with coral around.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Thomas,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this pleasant review. On behalf of our management and staff we would like to thank you for choosing Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort as your holiday destination. We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, especially the service, the rooms, the food, and the swimming pool. The swimming pool is a brand new addition to the resort and boasts a magnificent seaview, being situated right by the beach. As you mentioned, the surrounding waters are shallow and guests prefer to go to white sands island just 10min away, with beautiful waters that we use for snorkeling and exploring marine wildlife. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

It was my first trip to Bintan with my girlfriend and we love the privacy of the resort. For couple who like to spend time with each other and want some privacy from the crowd, this is an ideal place to visit. Room is nice and great view for Sunrise.

Some dislike is the often power trip during the night, it can happened like 30mins per interval, when the power is back, the aircon is off. I have to wake up and on it every times. And also the long 1hr trip to and fro the resort is quite tiring.

Overall, it is a pleasant experience.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time off to write this review and provide your valued feedback. Thank you for choosing Bintan Spa Villa as the holiday destination for your romantic little getaway with your girlfriend. We are very glad that we managed to serve as a private and romantic escape for you. Being a small resort and set up right by the ocean, Bintan Spa Villa has indeed been a favorite among couples looking for a private and intimate getaway. The beautiful scenery and moments away from the crowds make for some romantic moments.

We would also like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you have had experienced during the night, and we would like to assure you that this issue regarding the air conditioning has been SOLVED. When power trips occur, our generator operates immediately and black outs last a mere few seconds. The air conditioning now automatically switches back on after a power trip and guests will need not manually switch it back on during the night. Once again we would like to apologize for this momentary technical fault that occurred during the week of your stay.

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perfect place for those looking for a relaxing holiday spent lazing by the sea. Had an amazing time here away from the hustle and bustle of the city. Staff are incredibly friendly and easy to talk to. Food is also incredible (absolutely LOVED their Tom Yum, Friend Noodle and Fried chicken with garlic). Resort faces the East so waking up to see the beautiful sunrise is a MUST at least once on your stay. The Resort also offers simple water-sports facilities but the highlight definitely has to be the chill, relaxing atmosphere.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 801, no complains at all. Unobstructed view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time out to write this very exciting review - we are very glad that you seemed to have really enjoyed your holiday with us! Bintan Spa Villa is indeed a place to relax and rejuvenate, away from the business of city life and we are glad you managed to do just that. Thank you for the compliments on the f&b, our team will be greatly encouraged to hear your compliments. Like you said, the sunrise really is beautiful! While it occurs really early (545am), it is worth it to wake up to experience the sunrise over the horizon of the ocean. Thank you once again for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The place is really simple, nice and clean. it was at this time not possible to swim at the sea since it was too ground and too hot, but the swimming pool was ok to leisure (not for laps). The room was quite ok. The breakfast was very poor, just 2 cut fruits, eggs/omelettes/rice but then not much to enjoy. The internet was not stable and slow. So this is a place to just relax a couple of days and not too expensive.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide your feedback, it is much appreciated. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your trip overall. Like you mentioned, the sea surrounding the resort is shallow and hence water is often warm during the day. Our brand new swimming pool should address our guests swimming needs. The wifi at the resort is provided by our own satellite dish and unfortunately is unable to provide internet speeds as fast as in the city - we seek your kind understanding in this area as it is difficult to provide such facilities in such a location. Bintan Spa Villa is indeed a place meant for relaxation and rejuvenation and we are glad that you find it reasonably priced. Thank you once again and we hope to get the chance to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa in the future

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Seamless booking process with Bintan Spa Villa, only 1 point of contact needed.
Upon arrival, land transfer to resort was taken care of, likewise for return trip. (1hr ride)
Rooms are spacious and clean, ample choice of activities for up to 3d2n i would say.
Staffs are friendly and always ready to help. Good location to getaway from the bustling city.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest

On behalf of Bintan Spa Villa staff and management, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review. We are very glad that you were very happy with your stay with us, that you were taken care of from the ferry terminal till the end of your time in Bintan, and that the service and rooms were good. Bintan Spa Villa is indeed a good location away from the hustle and bustle of the city and a place to simply relax and rejuvenate. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.