We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene getaway from hustle and bustle of city ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A serene getaway from hustle and bustle of city ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed over for a weekend in family villa with private balcony with sea view. Room is clean and spacious with basic amenities (hair dryer, water heater, fridge, tv, and tea making facilities). Toiletries (soaps, shampoos, shower caps, toothbrushes and toothpastes), and towels are provided.
It is truly a cosy corner - private beach which only meant for resort guests. Food is not bad too - with options of buffet style / a la cart / BBQ (dinner only). We enjoyed ourselves with free unlimited soccer game table, pool table, outdoor jacuzzi, and karaoke! There are also carom and dart board. If you are looking for a serene place to relax and recharge, come here! ^^

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest

On behalf of Bintan Spa Villa management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us and for writing this excellent review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that you are very satisfied with your facilities and services. Indeed as you said, Bintan Spa Villa is a quiet and serene location for guests to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, and it is great that you enjoyed this aspect of the resort. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    135
    48
    10
    12
See reviews for
43
104
13
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Food - Cheap and Good.
Spa facilities - Absolutely worth the money
Service - Brilliant.

I had a package deal it included a special dinner and a 3 hour spa treatment, well worth the money.

The beach just outside the resort isn't anything to brag about, in fact, i would not enter the water, too many crabs, shrimps and other little sea creatures.

Take a ride out to the islands for an extra $20pp and you will not regret it. You essentially almost get a whole island to yourself. The water is warm and blue and the sand is white, just like the postcards.

There isn't much free stuff to do, but then again, who goes on an island getaway to have stuff to do?

I'd definitely go back again it I was in the area and had the time.

The resort on the whole is quite quaint. It's not too large, it seemed to have low occupancy, but during checkout I noticed a whole lot more people. So you do get the feel of having the place to yourself.

The only downside is the hour long shuttle between the ferry terminal and the resort, but I guess you have to travel longer distances to get to the more exclusive places.

Room Tip: The standalone units were wonderful, but take note privacy might be invaded when the tide is out as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review. On behalf of Bintan Spa Villa management and staff, we would like to thank you for staying with us. We are very glad that you have found your trip to be such an enjoyable one, especially the food quality at our resort restaurant, the service quality of our staff and the spa. Like you mentioned, white sands island just 10 minute boat ride from our resort is indeed a beautiful place and many of our guests enjoy the pristine sand and waters at this location. Once again, thank you for your review and for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Bintan Spa Villa is a rustic, small resort that is about an hour away from the ferry terminal. The Royal Ocean suite's balcony opened up to the ocean which was beautiful.

The food, particularly their Seafood BBQ, was very tasty.

Rooms are clean and rustic. Only drawback was that there was no pool. They only had a small jacuzzi or the ocean.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal Ocean suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you taking the time to write this positive review. It is fantastic that you like the room you stayed in - the Royal Ocean Villa, so much. The balcony is indeed a guest favorite, and many love the concept of having their balcony reaching out into the ocean, where one can enjoy a coffee and a sunrise over the ocean horizon. It is also great that you enjoyed the food, especially the Seafood BBQ which is another guest favorite. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I booked a 2d1n 'Ocean spa package' from Singapore as I was in need of an escape from the city. For me, it ticked all the boxes. The massage at the spa was great and the staff were super friendly. I had a corner sea view room so the view from my balcony was also great! The food was ok and reasonably priced.
It would be nice to have a pool at the resort as the beach is not really suitable for swimming as it is very shallow. This didn't really bother me but it would be good to have an option.
If you are looking for a short getaway from the busy city then I would highly recommend this resort.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this review and for staying with us. It is fantastic that you found your stay with us a thoroughly enjoyable one, and that you found the service quality, spa, and room to your satisfaction. We hope that it was a relaxing escape from the city for you. We hope to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband booked one night Romantic Spa Package as a surprise gift for me. I didnt know what to expect at first. When we reached there, I fell in love with the place. It was like a dream come true. A kind of resort that we were searching for to spend a quiet and quality time together.
We had the New Ocean Suite which was facing the open sea. The room was spacious and comfy. As I opened the door to the balcony, I was like literally at the sea. The view was magnificent!
We pampered ourselves with a spa treatment at Trikora Spa, which was just a walking distance from our suite. It was about 2h1/2 treatment with jacuzzi by the sea. The whole treatment was not that bad but could be better with some well qualified messeuse.
In the evening, we had a private candle light dinner at the gazebo. It was fine at first but when the Sirloin Steaks were served to us, they were quite cold.
Apart from that, we were perspiring and were bitten by mosquitoes.
Another thing missing was the pipe in music coz it was too quiet at times. But we managed to set the mood by switching on the music from our mobile phone.
Other than that we experienced power trips for 5 times before dinner and in the morning.
Nevertheless, we really enjoyed our stay, waking up the next morning, watching the sunrise together from our balcony. Time just stood still.
I would love to return to this place again but need to do something with the frequent power trips situation.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the very kind words and for the review. We are very happy that Bintan Spa Villa could serve as the dream like location for your ideal romantic holiday, and that you and your husband were able to spend good quality time together here. Apologies for the small points you found unsatisfactory. As for the candle light dinner, after hearing your feedback, steaks will now be brought to guests on hotplates before serving to ensure they are piping hot when eaten. Also, standing fans will be provided should there be no wind during the dinner, and we will now be providing music to add to the ambience of the romantic dinner. Thank you once again for writing this review and for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in Royal Ocean Villa and had an amazing time with stunning views of sunrise. Built on stilts in the sea, we enjoyed the experience of watching the waves up close from the comforts of our room. During high tide, we were able to see little fishes and crabs from the balcony.
Room was comfortable enough for a family of four with an extra bed. Air con worked well. There were frequent power trips, but they were resolved within a few minutes. The only downside to the stay was the mosquitoes in the room, so it's advisable to have an ample supply of repellants plus keep the doors closed at all times.
Tap water is not suitable for drinking, even after boiling. Complimentary drinking water is provided and replenished upon request.
There is only 1 restaurant which doubles as the lobby with an open concept and overlooks the sea. Breakfast buffet was sufficient and of good quality. We had all our lunches and dinners here, as the menu offered a delightful array of local and western choices which we thoroughly enjoyed and looked forward to. We tried the BBQ set and seafood was very fresh. The chicken was quite bland, but the chilli sambal made up for the lack of flavours.
There is no swimming pool, except for a jacuzzi, which we used only once as it gets muddy and sandy when inconsiderate guests use it after playing at the beach. Kids were left unsupervised at the jacuzzi, and they were throwing sand, pebbles, etc inside. Perhaps a notice prohibiting guests from doing so, can be put up.
This resort is ideal for a short getaway. Lots of water activities are offered. Most of them require a minimum of 2 people to participate. We went for the combined Mangrove, Sunset and Firefly tour which was excellent. A must try activity and highly recommended. For kids, there's an Eco Tour. During low tide, you are able to take a short walk across to Meteor Island where you can see lots of fishes and shell creatures. Kids can collect a checklist for Treasure Hunt from the Reception and look for the items here. Upon completion, they are rewarded with a scoop of ice cream. A very thoughtful gesture indeed! On rainy days, you have the option of indoor games such as carom, foosball, darts and pool. The game area converts to a pub and karaoke at night.
Overall, a quiet, lovely resort for relaxing and recharging. Friendly, accommodating staff, stunning views, great ambience, good food...we will definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this very in depth review of your stay with us. We are very glad that you found your holiday to be a highly satisfactory one, especially your experience with your villa, f&b, scenery and activities. It is fantastic that our activities were suitable for your entire family, from the Firefly mangrove tour, to the low tide eco tour and treasure hunt for the children. The resort does repellent fogging every week, but inevitably, some mosquitoes fly in from the surrounding area. For that, we provide complimentary repellent in every room. Thank you for your feedback on the jacuzzi, yes indeed sometimes despite filtering the spa pool consistently, it is still dirtied when guests enter the pool with sand on their bodies. We are in the midst of developing measures to better control the cleanliness of the spa pool. Once again, thank you for writing this review and we look forward to welcoming you back at Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

The villa has a very nice view and the staff are really friendly. During low tide, you can actually walk all the way to a mini island (that you can view directly from the balcony of your room)

The spa & massage was awesome and the food was really good!

the only minor complaints is the inconsistent wifi and some occasional power trips... but i guess that's an infrastructure problem which couldn't be helped.

Cheers!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Bintan Spa Villa, especially the scenery, service quality, food and spa. Yes indeed as you have mentioned, one of the interesting experiences guests may try at the resort is walking across the sea bed during low tide to a nearby island. Apologies for the inconsistent complimentary wifi - as the resort uses its own satellite for wifi, one cannot expect wifi quality like in 1st world cities due to infrastructural problems as you have mentioned. As for the power trips that you mentioned, our back up generator kicks in within seconds should the main government supply lapse for whatever reason, so guests should be able to continue their holiday without much disruption. Thank you for writing this review and for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back to Bintan Spa Villa soon!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.