We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and laidback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Serenity and laidback”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stayed for a night at this resort as part of a deal package to Bintan.

As it was a weekday, there were only a handful of guests in the resort. Check-in was a breeze and we were offered a welcome drink. We were allocated on the second floor of the deluxe seaview room. Free wifi is provided throughout the resort. From the balcony, we were able to see the beach and the “Ocean suite”.

Room – The room is very spacious with nice soft comfy beds. There’s tea and coffee making facilities, an oil burner and mosquito repellent were provided as well. There were movie channels which provided Chinese, English and cartoon shows. One minor fault is that the ceiling fan is noisy when switched on.

Bathroom – The bathroom is clean and of average size. Only 2 bath towels were provided. There are no face or hand towels. There are body and shower dispensers.

Breakfast – Breakfast is served from 7 to 10 am and it is really basic. There isn’t a variety of food. Save for the egg station, there were only two items in each category, e.g. two types of cereal, water and orange drink, bread and soft roll, fried noodles and ham, a platter of fruits and a platter of salad.

Lunch – As we are vegetarian and there is no vegetarian menu, we ordered Gado Gado and French fries. Unlike other Gado Gado dishes, this dish had noodles in it. The Gado Gado is really yummy with a nice fragrant. The serving of the French fries is huge. The iced coffee is good as well.

Resort grounds – There is no swimming pool, but only an outdoor Jacuzzi. Karaoke, billiard/pool, and a magnetic dartboard, were all located at the bar.

What I loved best is the massage at Trikora Spa by the sea. The massage room has a breathtaking view of the sea. The body massage is one of the best we had.

We woke up at 5.45 am and went down to catch sunrise. What a stunning sight, to see sunrise above the sea.

This is truly a nice place to relax and getaway from the busy hustle of city life. The next time we come back we would love to stay at an ocean suite as it is really perched on top of the sea.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    40
    8
    11
See reviews for
31
82
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Puchong, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

It is 1 hour away from port, but it is worth sitting in the car while travel to the hotel because the scenery along the beach is so so nice! Receptionist is good with smiling face, check in is fast with welcome drink. We are having a 4 person family room, and the room is very spacious with big balcony. Room and bathroom is clean but the hot water shower is cold. Scenery from balcony is great. Beach is not very nice due to the resort is too close to the tide, once high tide, there are almost without sand beach but the sea water is so clean and make the spectacular view. If low tide, you see mud instead of sand, but able to walk to the opposite island which is nice with rocks. Breakfast is very limited. Their staff is very good in service, we request free shuttle to the sister resort called Bintan Agro for dinner, they arrange very fast, and i request transfer service to another resort after check out, they agreed and arrange a driver to transfer us. On the way of transferring, we request driver to drop us a few place to take picture, the driver is happy to do that and somemore offer us to a market. The hotel is great and worth it the price. If can i would suggest the hotel to prepare some bicycle or motorbike for their guest, because they have a lot of very nice fishing village surrounding with extremely crystal clear water. I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

This resort is far away from the port. It took us about an hour by car to reach this place. the restaurant serve good food but the rooms are average only. the beach is narrow but long. on high tide, there is almost no beach left.

Room Tip: take the ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Currently expiating in Singapore and having received mixed reviews of trekking to Bintan - my husband and I decided to find out for ourselves. I did a lot of research and read plenty of reviews of this and other resorts. Especially if comparing the time and effort given in going to this trip versus simply taking a flight to Phuket or Bali. While you need a visa to enter Indonesia - if you are just visiting for vacation you can get a visa on arrival. Since this entire trip is not for those with weak stomaches. It is an hour ferry ride (from Tanah Merah Ferry - which is close to Changi Airport), and this ride could get ugly.. I have witnessed first hand from our ferry ride beginning to end those excited passengers pre-boarding through mid to end of the ride where everyone had little sick bags and those fleeing in and out of washrooms. No exaggeration, however, it could have been that one ride was filled with those with weak stomaches, or the ride was just unusually bumpy - because the ride back from Bintan Island was not as bad and far less people feeling sick. So it's a 50/50 gamble.
However, when you first arrive to the Tanah Merah Ferry to pick up your boarding ticket, there is an option to upgrade to Emerald class for approx. $22 dollars per person (at the time that we went - which was just this past weekend Feb27/28 2014) - the reason why I mention this is because I highly recommend the extra dollars which have more pros for the extra spent;
1. you get to wait at the lounge area and they will let you know when to board
2. you get assigned seats so that you don't need to be feeling like you need to dash to get a seat
3. you get to purchase your visa on arrival on board (meaning you don't need to wait when you arrive)
4. you get to disembark first
5. when you are returning you wait at the lounge, while the airport official will take your passport and get the immigration stamp done on your behalf and bring them back to you
All valid and helpful reasons if this is your first time going - it will make your ferry ride a slightly more enjoyable and seamless experience.

This specific resort (Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort); is another hour trip by car from the FerryTerminal. So grab your motion sickness meds and duke it out. It is bumpy and curvy ride, but it isn't all that bad. When you get to the resort itself, it kind of makes you realize the purpose of the hour long ride.

The resort itself, is just peaceful and remote. This resort isn't like your other typical pool and beach grandiose resorts, if this is what you were/are expecting, you will be displeased and disappointed.
This resort has got some unique traits that you will encounter only if you have travelled to some of the most remote parts around the world. Only then will you truly appreciate this resort for where and what it is.

The resort's ground is beautiful, well-maintained, and the view is just breathtaking, and depending on the weather and time of day, the water actually dries out to mid-sea but the water level climbs back to shore by evening, but it's fairly shallow for some nice romantic walks.

There really isn't a "beach" if you are wanting white soft sands, or a "pool" to lounge by. There are some lounge chairs if you want to get a tan.
The resort does not have many rooms either, the resort's website is actually quite helpful and accurate, so do check out the rooms and its packages that they offer.

We took the Romantic Spa package; which included 150 minute of spa time, dinner, breakfast, but also the ferry and land rides (a piece of mind if you don't want to worry about hailing cabs, etc.,) - we booked directly with the resort itself, we booked it online but called the number provided via their site, and they were extremely helpful and had a quick turn around time with everything. The booking was seamless.

The Spa was the highlight of the trip of course, the staff and masseuse were professional and friendly. I recommend Geta - she is so kind and gives one mean massage.
The food was good, they have decent bbq seafood sets, the chill crab was spicy and tasteful.
The staff are friendly and helpful. They have mini activities for a decent price, so do give them a try. I do recommend the boat ride and snorkelling as those were the only ones we were able to squeeze in.

It was a simple 2 day 1 night quick mini getaway we wanted at the very last minute. It was worth the trek (despite all the contrary and reviews we had read) - bring a book, iPad, and just relax by enjoying the sounds of the sea, it is really like no other. Go to the spa, walk around the waters, and enjoy a nice cold bottle of Indonesia's local beer (Bintang), eat some seafood and get those ants out of your pants. And if you are the type that just cannot relax, there is a mini area that has a pool table, magnet darts, and karaoke.
Maybe it was the remoteness of where we were, or that it was an off season therefore there wasn't too many people, or that there was no queue anywhere, but our stay felt ever so relaxing. It almost felt like time froze while we were away. A true tranquil getaway.

Room Tip: We originally wanted to stay in one of their "Royal Ocean Villa" which are mini villas ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed 1 night in an ocean villa (free upgrade from a deluxe seaview room) and had a totally chill time. This is a very small resort with only 25 rooms/villas. We found the place very clean and the staff absolutely attentive and helpful. There is limited entertainment on site, which is excellent for just an overnight trip. While it is possible to do some water sports or go island hopping, we opted to just watch the tide go out and come in. The sea water is pretty clean, and when tide goes out, it leaves behind a large tract of clean sand to walk on. The sea water is not very deep even ast high tide. Just perfect.

A few areas that are not so perfect: bathroom is poorly lit, bed lacks firmness, TV reception for some channels is fuzzy, and food is so-so (I suggest not trying the BBQ seafood set and the tomyum soup).

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are simply great. We stayed at 801, which is nearest the reception, with couple of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

First of all, I would like to say that this resort is one of the best place to have a quiet and relaxing getaway.
This all even happens before the trip when I visited the office itself to make a payment for the stay. I was greeted with the most wonderful smile and realized it was the boss and his wife. I was even treated to tea made by the boss himself. All these gave me a very warm feeling and I was looking forward to see what the resort would be like.
Upon arrival at the resort, again, the similar type of smile and warmth was shown by the staff. This, I realized, must be a culture passed down by the management and at that moment, we knew, we were going to have a wonderful time staying there.
I booked the Royal Ocean Villa and let me tell you, I never regret it!!
The Villa is sitting on top of the sea bed and when the sea water rises during the night, it was so beautiful. Sitting outside the balcony and enjoying the sea breeze is so relaxing, listening to the sounds of the waves. We can never forget this experience even after I came home.
The room is extremely clean, and we can walk around bare footed too.
We had our massage and it was extremely relaxing and comfortable. The masseur was very courteous and professional at their work. Again, with the room facing the sea, all the tension from the muscles flows away into the midst of the sea.
Later, we had our dinner at the restaurant and the staff was very patience at managing our orders. The food was very delicious and the portion was very filling too.
All in all, we enjoyed our stay so much that we are planning our next visit soon.
I highly recommend everyone to try this resort and I guaranteed you that you will never forget the experience.

Edwin

Room Tip: Choose the Ocean Villa!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review. We are very glad that you have found your holiday with us such a satisfying one, from your room - the Royal Ocean Villa, to the service quality, food, and atmosphere. We would definitely look forward to welcoming you back to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort. On behalf of our staff and management, we would like to thank you once again for staying with us and for your kind compliments

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

A place perfect for a peaceful and quiet relaxation. No need to fuss over noisy crowded pools (there's none other than an open jacuzzi tub) or packed restaurants queue!! A relatively small resort with basic relaxation facilities such as a cafe/restaurant, spa, outdoor jacuzzi, karaoke bar, pool table, sea sport. More than enough of things to do for a quick getaway! Reasonable prices on f&b and spa services! If you're looking for fine dining, good wines, fancy espressos or shopping sprees... THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR YOU!! This is a perfect place to get down to earth, enjoy the sun and the sea and get connected with nature, enjoy local delights (such as gado gado and fresh seafood) or just sit back and relax with a cup of local KOPI (dark Javanese coffee)! Their sincere and friendly staffs make you feel heartwarming and welcomed with NO pretentious "a**-licking/fishing for tips" attitude! (In fact, when we tipped them, they were asking what was it for?) Highly recommend it for non fussy travelers wanting to experience down-to-earth lifestyle with up to basic standard hygiene and cleaniless facilities!

Room Tip: Sundays-weekdays are quietest in the resort, if you want true tranquility! The villas sitting on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this very well thought out review. We are very glad that you have enjoyed the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere of our resort. Like you said, Bintan Spa Villa places a focus on creating a quiet and serene atmosphere for guests to enjoy a relaxing getaway, instead of overloading on activities and guests. Thank you for the compliments on our staff, food and spa as well. Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you once again at Bintan Spa Villa

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.