We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort to your Saves list
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A relaxing trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We took the groupon deal. Resort is far from the popular north beach, so it is quieter and ideal for relax. But the water is shallow, not much water sport to do, and they have cancelled the shuttle bus to the sister resort where the swimming pool is located. Massage included in the deal was however AMAZING! Javanese massage truly relaxing, almost fell asleep. Room is clean, and the view from the balcony is great. Did not try the jacuzzi, but had fun singing karaoke at the open bar area. Some guests played with fireworks on the shore, quite romantic.

We took advice from previous reviews to eat outside the resort - a small fish vendor hut about 500m from the gate (turn left and walk along the street) offered budget seafood - had a pepper crab 600g for about SGP 15. We went back for 2nd day for lunch.

Service of the resort was very polite and hospitable. A mistake was made by the travel agency so we missed our transportation to the jetty, the hotel arranged a van to make sure we get on our scheduled boat. All in all, it has been a relaxing experience.

Room Tip: Choose corner room for the Seaview deluxe so you can have a balcony directly facing the sea. The bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great that you have found your stay a nice and relaxing one, and hope that you enjoyed the peaceful atmosphere here. We are glad that you enjoyed the spa so much! We will be sure to relay your positive feedback to our spa team. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again at Bintan Spa Villa

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    98
    37
    8
    10
See reviews for
30
76
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I have to post this as I am amazed at the negative comments I read about bintan village....we had travelled for 4 weeks in Europe and decided on our way back to Australia to stop over in bintan and Singapore....I chose this resort because it was clear from the information that it was a small quiet hotel without too many activities ....and also very clear it was a 60 minute ride on the other side of island from ferry landing.....we stayed in a new ocean view villa and it was spacious, clean with a lovely balcony....it is sitting over the water....another very clear bit of information before we got there ...tidal!! So expect mud and sand when tide is out.....we went on the island boat trip.....the white sandy beach is lovely and you can swim in the clear water......
This is an Indonesian island and it was so interesting looking at the fishing huts floating on the water .the staff at the village are delightful...trying so hard to make our stay wonderful...smiling courteous helpful.....we would not hesitate in an instance to come back...so don't go here if you are expecting a pool, swimming straight off the beach, never ending activities.....but if you want a quiet peaceful but fun environment book it .....really child friendly but be aware of the activities on offer ...that's it...food is good and simple but excellent value for money.....no too expensive as was the cocktails......also its a sandy beach in a tropical area....expect insects,,,mossies....sometimes sandflies......bring you insect spray...also some supplied in room...in saying this we did not experience any.....I know they sprayed while we were there....so once again if your expectations outweigh the information provided you may be disappointed but we were not! Transfers too and from ferry on time and excellent service..check in and out great.....and as mentioned the well being spa outstanding...come here to rest and recuperate not to party...although they do have karoeke ......

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this in depth review of your stay! We are really glad that your stay met up to your expectations, formed from the research you have done of the resort beforehand. It is fantastic that you enjoy the peaceful atmosphere of our small resort and hope you have had a relaxing time here. Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to see you again!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, KS
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3n3d in September withmy family. Stayed in the royal ocean view villa. The room was quite nice and cozy especially with the beautiful view of the sea. The checkin was quite fast. The people at the resort are very nice all of them have a nice genuine smile and the owner Tony makes sure that you have a comfortable stay.

Tony ensured we had right food as we were vegetarian and I had kids. Really thankful to the staff and tony who went extra mile to make our stay wonderful.

Must do : go to the white island can have fun in water. Snorkeling, mangrove tour was not greT but the firefly visit in the night was quite memorable.

Things that can be improved :keep the insects and ants off.

Overall I will go back to this place again especially because of the staff and location. Would recommend it to folks who need to relax.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this excellent review! We are really glad that you enjoyed your trip, from your room, to the scenery and the service of our staff. We will be sure to relay your positive feedback of our staff to them. It is also great that you tried out the activities at the resort and hope you had fun snorkeling and at the mangrove tour. Once again, thank you for the review and we hope to see you again at Bintan Spa Villa!

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The resort is very far from the airport and on the way there you actually see some decent-looking blue-water beaches only to get a huge disappointment when you get to the "resort" (it shouldn't be called a resort in first place). The place is next to the road (imagine how quiet and resort-like it is) and the ocean view rooms stand on a brown-water yellow beach where I'd be worried to let my dog swim! Rooms are regular, nothing fancy for sure, but the service in general is quite poor as well as the quality of foods. The Spa is alright but overall the place is far too expensive and not worth it at all. Definitely a "never again" for me and a "no go" for whoever reads this review.

Room Tip: Best tip is not to chose this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for spending the time to write this review and provide your feedback, we greatly apologise that you found your stay unsatisfactory. Bintan Spa Villa is at the East of bintan, hence there is about 1hour shuttle provided to the resort. The seabed surrounding the resort is slightly muddy, so usually guests who would like so swim would go on our White Sands Island visit, where there is a beautiful beach and clear waters just a 10mins boat ride away. We will also look into the quality of our service and food as you mentioned and strive to improve them consistently. Thank you once again for providing your feedback and we are sorry that you found your stay unsatisfactory

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Booked for a short 2d1n getaway break with my wife. A very relaxed environment overlooking the ocean. With great food and drink, pool and karaoke to entertain of an evening, or just a simple night walking under the stars, Bintan Spa Villa has it all. The rooms are spacious and well equipped and are all very close to the main reception area, but far enough away that there is no noise. The diving and snorkelling is very good albeit the water is very shallow (5-6m) in the main spots. The small island offshore is a great location to visit and relax, although bring sunscreen as there is little shade in the midday sun.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us, including the food, the atmosphere, and the rooms. I see that you have tried your hand at the sea activities like snorkeling and diving, and glad that you have enjoyed exploring the beautiful nearby waters. Thank you once again for the review and for staying with us, we hope to see you again at Bintan Spa Villa

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed at bintan after looking into the trip advisor reviews. We stayed for one night in September 2013. Upon arrival in bintan we were guided to the resort. The resort is very very far away and approx 75mins to 90 mins ride.
The resort is very basic with three or four activities like
01 jacuzzi ( open jacuzzi to share)
01 dart board to play
01 karaoke system
01 pool table

It lacks the finish of a good resort and might be worth to pick another resort in bintan , pay a bit more and have a great vacation.

The restaurant food is basic. The worst thing is there is not much to do in the resort. You ll end up going around the resort in 30mins and then not much to go. It is better to stick down the Indonesian food.

The resort takes you to the " white island" in the afternoon. We were excited to go to the qhite island. Upon reaching the white island , we were surprised to see that there is NOTHING to do there. No water sports, no sea activities. They took us at 3pm ( with the sun over our head) and got us back to the resort at 5pm. It was a relief to come back to the resort.

The food is average and did not stand out. The team in the restaurant is polite and ready to help how ever can speak basic English. They need more training and guidance.

We tried the spa. The spa was good and the spa team are very polite and helpfull. The spa has a good veiw to the sea and was the good part of the stay.

On day two we wanted to go to the nearby ARGO spa villa ( belongs to the same chain of bintan spa villa) . Upon reaching ARGO we realized it has even basin facilities. The water in the pool needs to be cleaned and the place lacked attention.
we were glad we stayed in bintan for one night. Pls look for a resort with better facilities and with more things to do.

Room Tip: Take the rooms with a veiw towards the sea. Be informed that there is no room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and provide us with your feedback. We regret that your stay was not up your satisfaction. Bintan Spa Villa is envisioned as a quiet and peaceful getaway for our guests to relax and rejuvenate, hence may not have the wide array of activities that you may expect. We will take your feedback into mind and see how we can expand on our range of activities. It is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your visit to White Sand Island. Usually what our guests enjoy about the island is its remoteness, its clear waters and to be able to swim in its beautiful waters, hence the duration of 2 hours for the visit. As with the sea activities, we have kayaking, snorkeling, island tours, fishing, mangrove tours and diving, however these do not start from White Sand island but from the resort itself. We are glad however that you enjoyed the spa at the resort, and hope you had a relaxing time there. Thank you once again for providing your feedback and we apologise that you were unsatisfied with your stay

With Warmest Regards
Edmund Cheong
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

my hubby and i booked a 3d2n package here with the new ocean suite 23-25 sept 2013 to have some r&r after our wedding. I'm posting this on my first and last night here. The room i was given had a malfunctioning aircon unit that blowed air warmer than the air outside when it was set to 16○. From our first call to them till now, it was a HORRIBLE experience even with the owner of this place, tony. I got moved to a smaller unit without the seaview i paid for at 11pm after multiple attempts by the staff to rectify the aircon. The boss came to offer a compensation which 5 mins after i accepted it, called me up to take that offer back, asking me to go back to the earlier room. Argument with the boss ensued, with him telling me it's psychological when i said the smaller unit is cooler. Blame was pushed everywhere but himself. Now i'm back in the smaller unit posting this very unhappy experience to tell everyone to STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE AT ALL COST!! Because of this, i am cutting short my stay and NEVER COMING BACK!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmund C, Manager at Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We are terribly sorry for your experience, and that your stay did not meet your standards. We apologise as well that there seems to have been some miscommunication during your stay.

After hearing of your dissatisfaction of the airconditioning in our New Ocean Suite, our manager shifted you to a Seaview Deluxe, where our boss met you to offer you a compensation of a Seafood BBQ the next night. You requested a refund for the night instead, which our boss accepted. After investigation in the New Ocean Suite, our boss found that the airconditioning was not malfunctioning.
Thus you were informed that if you were to go back to a New Ocean Suite for your second night, the room condition would be the same, and that all the air conditions in the resort are of the same model and power. We apologise that you misunderstood this as a request for you to return to the previous room, which it was not. Following which you decided to cut short your stay and your husband rejected the refund.

On the day of your check out, we requested the representative your local tour operator (that arranged your stay) to inspect the room's air-conditioning, where he found it to be in an acceptable condition.

We apologise once again that your stay did not meet your expectations and that there was such a miscommunication, which led to your great dissatisfaction. Still, thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Trikora Km. 38 | Teluk Bakau Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked in a cosy corner of Trikora beach is Bintan SpaVilla Beach Resort, a little haven of peace and quiet. Think of it as your seaside bed and breakfast.Sea views from every room & Ocean Suites built upon water.Spa by the sea; traditional massage with an ocean view. Beachfront Seafood BBQs. Leave the hustle and bustle behind ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Spa Villa Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.