We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bintan Cabana Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Bintan Cabana Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort | JJalan Pantai Trikora Km.46 Malang Rapat, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed as a family during a weekend, just 1 night.
The resort is not near the ferry terminal, which earns you an hour's journey into the other end of Bintan, near the kelongs.
We took the family suite, but in reality it seems more like a chalet in Singapore. The furniture is not that fantastic (well worn but well maintained); however, the room was spacious enough for a family of 4 or more.
Bring your mozzie repellent - we've got bitten on the first day, in the room itself with aircon on, as the door is not fully sealproof.
Breakfast is average, but I'm surprised at the variety - I was expecting something lesser.
As there's no shops around, you get your meals in their restaurant, which would be cheaper a bit as compared to the city. A meal with soup, 4 dishes, and rice costs SGD36 for the family.
Mealtimes are 7am - 10am; 12noon - 3pm; 6pm - 10pm; there's no food served in between mealtimes, so bring your own food/snacks along.

For SGD80 per night inclusive of transfer and breakfast, worth the buck; all we did was to relax. Definitely not as crowded as the other more popular places/resorts.

Room Tip: bring mosquito repellent; your own personal food
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
21
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

this Hotel has NO pool, they have a shuttle to the Agro Hotel where the pool was nice, but it was very annoying having to do this.
room was large & lovely, bed was comfortable, bathroom was average, shower over a large bathtub.
staff were not helpful in anyway, spoke very little english, very annoying.
I booked a sea view room which was the only nice thing about my stay as I woke early to watch the sunrise which was the highlight of my stay.
massage on the beach was wonderful while listening to the waves.
food was not nice.

Room Tip: book a sea view room
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here for one day and that was enough for us. The sea is clear and shallow when it comes in but when the tide is out it goes out a long way. It is certainly not good for swimming. With that in mind we went over the road (?) to the swimming pool. The pool is a nice size but the filtration system had not been switched on and there were dead flies and leaves floating on the water. There are also no sun beds or, in fact, anywhere to relax around the pool, although there is an old string hammock slung between a tree nearby. Don't forget to pick up your beach towel before you go to the pool otherwise you will have to go back over the road to the hotel reception. Also, bear in mind that some local people live at the back of the pool and we had to chase three chickens away from the poolside.

We were put in one of the 'luxury villas' over the road from the main hotel reception. It was a nice size, although the layout was bizarre to say the least. The sink is effectively in the lounge and not in the bathroom. You are also only given one towel per guest - no hand towel or facecloth. The villa has lots of windows so we had to keep all the curtains shut all the time to give us some privacy.

The resort is not near any other habitation so, if you choose not to travel down to the sister hotel, you have to eat at the restaurant. The food is basic, but OK. There is, however, no dessert menu. The breakfast is also pretty basic. The staff try hard and are helpful but I struggled to ask for peanut butter and, after ten minutes, was bought honey and chocolate sauce!

If you are planning a holiday with children I would say this may not be the resort for you. If you are looking for complete peace and quiet in order to write a novel then perhaps it is. For Europeans I would recommend the Bintan Resort side of the island. This is too far, too remote and there is not really enough to do for a long weekend.

In its defence, the staff are helpful and the gardens were most beautifully kept.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It was a nice hotel. Price is not expensive, even for local people like us. Nice room, big enough, air conditioning, nice balcony (in front of the balcony is white-sand and of-course sea-view). The meal is good enough, not expensive. They offered transportation (some kind of motor cycle & becak) to other resort (their sister's resort: i forgot the name, bintan agro i guess). It is a good place to spend your vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Indeed, I was well taken cared of. An ideal place for serene, tranquil and isolation break from the choaking world. Its you, the sand, the sea and the peace that you wishing for. This is where you can recollect yourself by taking time to think of your present, letting go of the past and reengineer your future life direction. The only hicups was the dreded mosquitos that bites a lot. hehehe... they can give free repelant lotion just ask. Nevertheless, I dont mind coming back for these blissful experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel staff are friendly but they have language limitation. Most residents are locals and Singaporeans. The food is okay butane price same as Singapore. Be sure to stay at the seaside as the hotel as another Wing across the road which has no sea view. The place is laid back and relaxed, wifi is not reliable but it keeps phone calls and SMS at bay, giving the residents a total piece of mind from work! The beach front is really nice and relaxing !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed in Bintan Cabana Beach Resort for 4D3N in June 2013. Topped up 10SGD per night more for the Junior Suite Room as recommended from reviews and boy, yhe view was excellent from the our room! The beach was a mere 10-seconds away from our balcony!

Wi-fi only available at the main lobby, and unfortunately for us, it was pretty much down for 3 of the days that we were there. Had to travel to the sister resort, Agro Beach Resort to use the Wi-fi there.

Shuttle bus was free, but timing was very inflexible! for example, the bus leaves Cabana at 530pm and the next bus is at 8pm. Which means that you have to hop on the 530pm bus(which i personally feel its too early for dinner) to be able to reach Agro for dinner at the restaurants there.

Price of food at the resort was reasonable, about the same as Singapore. A curry chicken combo meal cost 50,000rupiah, which is around 6SGD++.

Breakfast was simple and below average, with houseflies ALL over the place. I kid you not.

However, service was top-notched and it is evident that the employees do enjoy what they are doing.

We had alot of fun at the beach as the water was clean. We caught crabs, starfish, and even small lobsters!

Agro beach has much more activities than Cabana but the prices are pretty steep as well.

I would recommend this place to those who enjoy lazing under the sun and love playing in the sea and on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a junior suite room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bintan Cabana Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bintan Cabana Beach Resort

Address: Bintan Cabana Beach Resort | JJalan Pantai Trikora Km.46 Malang Rapat, Riau Islands Province 29153, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort is the latest addition to the Bintan Agro Resorts Group, located at Km.46 of Trikora beach in Tanjung Pinang. The beach side has 29 deluxe rooms, 6 juinor suite rooms and 12 suites, most of which have private balconies or patios overlooking the sea.There are 17 villas as well at the garden area, with a total of 22 rooms and 30 garden rooms. A grand total of 94 choice rooms are available.Bintan Cabana Beach Resort boasts the whitest sand along the beach with a private and quiet atmosphere for relaxing. We also offer massage by the beach on our gazebos. In the evening, chill out at the coolest beach bar in Trikora while enjoying the sunset view from the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, AsiaRooms and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bintan Cabana Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bintan Cabana Beach Resort Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bintan Cabana Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.