We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a beach getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Bintan to your Saves list
Angsana Bintan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a beach getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I was very impressed with Angsana Bintan - the accommodation and grounds were lovely and well kept, the food was nice, and the staff were all lovely. In particular I highly recommend having a spa treatment - it was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Teeps P,

I am delighted to learn that we were able to impress you with our rooms, food and service. Thank you for the gracious comment on our spa; I look forward to welcoming you once again to Angsana Bintan in the future.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    392
    198
    68
    42
See reviews for
331
408
24
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff, lovely pool, nice beach, quiet serenity. All the usual things you expect from a resort.

The rooms, although immaculately clean and comfortable, could do with a bit of a refresh.

My biggest problem was the price of drinks. USD6 for a glass of coke! Spent much of the time calculating costs and thinking about the budget. Not what you want on holidays when thinking about minor purchases.

Staff were really friendly. Hope their wages are in proportion to the inflated costs at the resort!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear dp1980,

Thank you for the stay and for sharing this feedback. I am happy to note that overall, you have had a nice stay except for the reason that you were worried about the prices of food and beverage and some other minor purchases.

Your feedback on prices of Food and Beverage has been noted. I would like to discuss this further with you as you have mentioned that there were few serious downfalls and in this review you had only mentioned about the price. May I ask you to reach me by sending an email to mohamed.hilmy@angsana.com at your convenience?

I look forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Just got back from Angsana Bintan. It has been a good weekend escape. Staff were friendly and attentive and greet you with a smile at all times. It's our 4th stay here but this time was the best. We were surprised that they served small pieces of fruits, chilled at the pool side. On a hot day, this is really a Treat!. Although there are many other resorts, Angsana Bintan is ideal for couples, family with small kids and ladies who wants a quiet place to chill for a weekend. Kiddo to the management and staff for doing a good job. We'll be back again

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear NLH1008,

Thank you for the recent stay. It was our pleasure to have had the opportunity of having you here with us for the 4th time.

It is encouraging to learn about your feedback on staff, facilities and service. We will continue to focus on these areas in order to be consistent and to ensure that the guests who stays with us leaves the resort with picture perfect memories.

The team and are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Generally, we feel the hotel is old but rooms are ok and clean. But this is not a 5 stars. Breakfast is ok, home made pancakes. I tried the spa twice, service is correct. BUT meals and drinks are expensive, prices are 5 stars hotel but the quality is not. I strongly recommend going to Banyan Tree thaï restaurant instead for dinner, prices are ok and quantity/quality Very good.
On week end i strongly recommend to run for a chair at the swimming pool or beach as this hotel is running out of chairs when families and kids arrive on Week ends. A friend of mine stayed with no chair...Special message to my european friends: dont go to Bintan, I spent 500 euros for two days and sharing my room with a friend (2 nights, 2 dinners, 2 lunch, 2 drinks at the pool and a massage) - for the same price go to Thailand ! Or even Bali !! I spent less than 500 euros a week end in Bali and Thailand... Disapointed. I go again to this hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear DavidGR2014,

Thank you for your review.

It is sad to learn that we were unable to meet your expectations during your recent visit to Bintan. Going through the review, main contribution for this unsatisfactory stay experience seems to be coming from the price of food and beverage and unavailability of sufficient sun loungers by the pool.

As you would have noted during your stay, our hotel runs at a very high occupancy during week-ends and therefore, the pool side is normally a very busy place during these days. We have a lot of sun loungers for a hotel with 113 guest rooms. We also have sun loungers on the beach for guests use. In-case a guest requires one and is unable to get one as all available loungers are occupied, our pool attendants would be more than happy to assist you find one. Next time, please let us know when you encounter such an issue so that we can provide you with the solution while you are here.

Once again, thank you for the stay and for the review. I look forward to seeing you again here at Bintan.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My partner and I stayed at Angsana Bintan for 4 Days 3 Nights as a getaway from busy city. They offered complimentary transportation from ferry terminal to hotel. From the moment we arrived Bintan ferry terminal, we always greeted by all the staff whenever we go throughout the trips. Our rooms is also ready for early checkin after an hour of waiting. The check-in process is good, no rush and relax with a glass of Lemongrass drink offered by the hotel. The staff also recommended us some places to have our dinner and reserved a table for us. The room is clean, everything you need is there - including of Mosquito Repellent!

We had our first night dinner at Pantai Grill Restaurant as they having BBQ buffet every Friday & Saturday. Food is night, Service is good. Thumbs Up!

Angsana Spa is really an amazing place. We reserved a DUET package when we booked our rooms. The couple room is really amazing with ceiling-to-floor glasses, and with an incredible sea view while you having your massage. They do have an open air outdoor shower also. Everything there is nice, natural. Massage & body scrub is good, special thanks to Dessy, May, Chris, the spa manager for extend offer & services.

We had our 2nd & 3rd night dinner at The Treetops, Banyan Tree & Rin Japanese Restaurant, Nirwana Garden. Both restaurant having really nice food and services. We are really appreciated that our hotel front desk staff arranged the transport and reserved tables for our dinner. Service is really amazing, dedicated to Son, Dahliha, Yogy & the lady who checked in us.

My partner decided to extend 1 more night last minutes. The front desk amended our ferry ticket and arrange everything accordingly for us.

This hotel is really with good location, nice beach & EXCELLENT SERVICES! Definitely worth the price & we will come back in few months time.

Room Tip: One bedroom suite is really good for couple. Large living room and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear VicelLiew,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. I am so happy to know that we were able to provide you with a wonderful Angsana Experience here at Bintan.

I am so pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay from the moment you arrived to the ferry terminal and up to the time you had departed. With the ever attentive staff and our food and beverage options together with the pristine location of the resort, I am glad that we were able to provide you with the experience that you had expected.

The team and I are so thankful to you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Our family stayed at Angsana Bintan in July 2014, It was just what we needed after a busy holiday. The weather was perfect and the staff were amazing and nothing was too hard. We stepped off the bus and was greeted by MoMo and her big smile. She sat us down with a welcome drink then went about checking us in, this was done in a very professional manner. My family stayed in a 2 bedroom unit, yes it was a little tired looking however it was clean and had everything we needed.We spent at lot of time enjoying the facilities from the welcoming pool, the amazing private beach and the wonderful Pantai's grill & Lotus café. The staff at both were friendly and the service was excellent. A special mention to Putra at Pantai Grill you were amazing and defiantly made our dinners wonderful. We had a wonderful holiday and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Robyn B,

I am pleased to learn that our friendly staff and the tranquil surroundings had made your stay a lovely one.

I have shared you comments about Momo and Putra; they are so pleased to know that the service provided has been appreciated.

Thank you for sharing your experience and for providing such a wonderful feedback. It is such feedback that helps us to be consistent with our service delivery.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Angsana for two nights as a getaway from Singapore. The location and private beach is a definite plus - we never had any problem finding a sun lounger and the view was beautiful. We also found the service to be good - especially at the restaurant/bar on the beach. However the hotel itself is very tired, and we were really disappointed with our room (especially considering now much it cost per night!) Our room was dated, dingy and generally in need of a renovation. Our patio doors didn't open properly - on the second morning we couldn't get to our swim wear (that we had left drying outside) as the doors were completely stuck. It wasn't a room we wanted to spend any time in.

We also booked to eat at the Fisherman's Table (on the beach) the second night. This was also really disappointing - we didn't enjoy the food at all and as a word of warning I got bitten alive (despite wearing repellent). The first night we ate at the sister hotel (Banyan Tree) and that was lovely!

Overall we won't be staying at the Angsana again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed H, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear chaela104,

I am delighted to learn that along with the private beach, the beautiful view, tranquillity and the ever friendly staff, we had met your expectations during your recent stay.

I am saddened to know that you were not satisfied with the rooms as you felt they were in need of renovation. Please be assured that we do regular room upkeep program to ensure that a high level of comfort is well maintained for all our guests. However kindly be assured that your feedback has been looked into seriously.

Thank you for taking an opportunity to try out the restaurant at our sister hotel. I am happy that you had a nice dining experience there.

I look forward to welcoming you once again to Angsana Bintan.


Sincerely,

Mohamed Hilmy
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Bintan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.