We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing holiday - off peak” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Save Saved
You added Angsana Bintan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Angsana Bintan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
A TripAdvisor Member
“Relaxing holiday - off peak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

nice and relaxing during the off peak season.
A bit crowded in the pool during peak season.
Staff very friendly and helpful. Spa excellent.
Room generally ok but about time some renovation or spruced up a little.
Overall great and would definitely return.
Price would be better if in Singapore dollars

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    274
    352
    168
    65
    38
See reviews for
290
366
22
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying this is a beautiful spot for a relaxing holiday. The service is pretty good, the staff are friendly, the pool and beach here are lovely and there is healthy marine and local animal life to see. However the rooms at Angsana Bintan are very basic, perhaps 3 star based on real luxury 5 star hotels elsewhere in the world. The biggest issue though about staying here is the cost. Angsana charge in US$ !! Also they add 10% surcharge on-top of government tax which means you get roughly 20% added to your bill for everything you buy or eat ! In US$. For example a can of coke is US $5. When you get the bill you have to add 20% which makes the can US $6. We actually found this offensive. Angsana enjoys a captive market having all the Singaporians who want a beach getaway, coming here, therefore they get what they can from each guest. We wouldn't stay here again. Also the nearest real Indonesian town is 2 hours away, so called Paseh Oleh Oleh is a fake town set up just for tourists so they also charge quite a bit.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Darren P,

Thank you very much for your feedback which you posted on Trip Advisor.

It is so nice to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable beach holiday at Angsana Bintan. I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with the team. It certainly made everyone proud to have received such high praise from your good self - thank you very much!

I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with some of our room facilities and the pricing. Regarding our pricing policy we conduct regularly surveys among the resorts in Bintan to ensure that Angsana Bintan is in line with our competitors.

Darren P, your patronage and feedback is greatly valued and appreciated. We are looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Enjoyed a short 3 night stopover at Angsana. Easily accessible from Singapore and transport to Resort quick and smooth. Friendly and helpful staff upgraded us to suite. Rooms clean and well appointed. Beautiful clean little beach. Highly recommend this resort for a quick relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Suites located on 4th floor have good view of pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

good hotel in terms of location, convenient to Singaporean or tourist in Singapore to extend their holiday to Indonesia. services is in good quality, but price is a bit of high comparing to other resort in Bintan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor Member,

Thank you for your feedback.

It is so nice to read that you had an overall excellent stay with us and I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with the team. It certainly made everyone proud to have received such high praise from your good self - thank you very much!

With regards on pricing, we conduct regularly surveys among the resorts in Bintan to ensure that Angsana Bintan is in line with our competitors.

I sincerely hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.

Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Arrived in the hotel around lunch time. The check in was good and quick. My room was alright. It's not as good considering the price per night. There was water dripping out from the aircon. The food is okay as for its taste and quality. The only thing I enjoyed the most is the beach. It was beautiful. I enjoyed walking along the shoreline. the water was warm and so still. There is wifi around the hotel and inside the room. The connection was slow in my room that I need to wait for couple of minutes for it to load the whole web page. Overall I give it a 6/10 rating.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Pnoyjetsetter,

Thank you for choosing Angsana Bintan for your holiday destination.  It is so nice to read that you had an overall excellent stay with us and enjoyed the beach, the room, our service and Food and Beverage. I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with the team. It certainly made everyone proud to have received such high praise from your good self - thank you very much!

However, I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding the water dripping out from the AC in your room. I have spoken to our Engineer in charge and we are looking to further fine tune our preventive maintenance program.

Pnoyjetsetter, thank you once again for staying with us. In the future, if we have the opportunity to welcome you as our patron once again, we would be delighted to discuss with you directly how we can accommodate your requests and deliver a memorable holiday.


Sincerly,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vietnam
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

fantastic locale, right on a beautifully quiet bay. Ferry pick up excellent, check in staff very good.,
the rooms is very narrow though, my husband really whacked this shins on the end of the bed trying to get past ( be careful of that... stick a towel over the corners)
Had lovely meal in the beach side retaurant 1st night, just as well as it was closed the following night so only the coffee shop to eat in. We tried to go over to Banyon tree to eat that evening, but their restauants were also closed of fully booked.
Did use Banyon tree for dinner the following night, very easy pick up service.. I'de recommend you do that.
Food and service is excellent (Wieiwie was lovely in the dining room)
reception great... helped me print my boarding passes.
pool staff rush to give you bug deterent before you stroll on the beach, just in case.
Do not bother going to patek O. O. a sad unused little place, the shuttle basicly took us straight there, and then back.
If you're looking for a cheaper place than Singapore to eat and drink... this isn't it, but the golf is good value, the beach is very pretty and the sea-cat is an easy 45min journey.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear A-broadabroadVie,  

Thank you for bringing to our attention the challenges and disappointment encountered during your recent visit to our resort.

It is with much concern that I heard about the unfortunate shortfalls you experienced while spending your holiday in Angsana Bintan.  

Thank you for the positive comments regarding our associates, our services offered, the beach and Food and Beverage variety and outlets.

Your comment in regard to the rooms are being narrow has been noted . 

With regards to your feedback pricing we conduct regularly surveys among the resorts in Bintan to ensure that Angsana Bintan is in line with our competitors .

Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we are truly sorry to have let you down on this occasion. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointment caused. Looking very much forward to welcome you back to Angsana Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

$$ 10 singapore dollars for a bottle of water, same price for a small can of beer. 3 star hotel, will never go back, total rip off.The attached golf course is in a pretty poor state, no one playing on it really probably due the price tag 90 sing dollars for 9 holes plus tips, makes singapore look cheap.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Chezz8,  

Thank you for your feedback.   I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing policy in our property. Allow me to point out that we are looking into our pricing on a monthly basis to be in line in comparison to other resorts in Bintan.  

Chezz8, thank you once again for staying with us. In the future, if we have the opportunity to welcome you as our patron once again, we would be delighted to discuss with you directly how we can accommodate your requests and deliver a memorable holiday.

Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Bintan 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 45 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.