We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Weekend at Angsana Bintan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Bintan to your Saves list
Angsana Bintan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Weekend at Angsana Bintan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Having left Singapore on the 8.10 am (SG time) ferry service, we were well on our way to Angsana Bintan by 9.00 am (Bintan time). This was accomplished by the efficient and friendly Angsana staff at the BBT Ferry terminal who already had our names and details on hand.

Ushering us to some comfortable seats in the hotel lobby, the reception staff with welcome drinks in hand then proceeded to go through the formalities for check-in. Being rather early in the morning (check-in time 2 pm), we were informed that our rooms were still not yet available. We were offered some options on things to do and decided to visit the Pasar Oleh-oleh which the hotel promptly arranged transport for. Just before the taxi was due to arrive, we were given keys to our room (pleasant surprise). To me, this reflects true service and honesty - a lesser hotel would have hidden this fact from us having known that we had just arranged to go off.

Room - Rooms exceeded our expectations. Spacious lay-out albeit slightly dated design. Pool / beach view added to the ambiance. Nice touch with the incense and lighted aromatherapy candle in the bathroom. Evening turn-down added to what was already great service.

Facilities / Meals - We had our hand at table tennis in the recreation room. Beautiful pool that we were able to enjoy briefly during our stay. We chose to have dinner outside the resort so did not try dinner at Angsana. Breakfast included in our package was a relatively simple affair - the atmosphere and quality outweighs quantity / variety for us. Would have enjoyed some porridge though.. Another suggestion would be to have a well-stocked reading room / library that guest could fill their time with during wet / too hot weather.

Compared to other places we have been, Angsana Bintan really stands out for excellent service. There was a genuine sense of service that was felt when dealing with the staff.
Again and again, they were willing to go beyond what would normally be expected from hotel staff in other places. This added on to the location and atmosphere of the hotel that was peaceful and relaxing as a whole.

Overall, enjoyable weekend stay at Angsana Bintan. Would recommend and would like to return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    384
    192
    65
    40
See reviews for
319
399
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Good location. Only cost 15mins travel from Bintan Ferry Terminal to Angsana Hotel Bintan.

Good services, love to see smiles at everywhere inside the hotel. Very helpful also when we request / enquire for anything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

liked this property given its proximity to beach, its quiet style and great service. The property itself is quite old and needs some renovation. Also, prices are high and thr payment process causes significant currency loss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Jude2410,

Greetings from Bintan!

Thank you for choosing Angsana Bintan for your holiday destination.

It is so nice to read that you had an overall excellent stay with us and enjoyed the beach and our service. I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with the team. It certainly made everyone proud to have received such high praise from your good self - thank you very much!

Please trust that we are fully committed to making our resort, its facilities and services a little better every day and we shall therefore certainly not rest on our laurels now.
However, I regret to hear of your disappointment regarding our pricing policy in our property. We are looking into our pricing monthly to ensure it is adequate and acceptable in comparison to other resorts in Bintan.
In regards to the exchange rate issue, allow me to advised you that this is unfortunately not in our control. Our prices are quoted in US dollars for credit card payment Bank International Indonesia – a subsidiary of Maybank – applies the official prevailing rate. Due to Government restrictions all banks are forced to charge in Rupiah and therefore no option can be provided. I have however taken note of your comment that this should be communicated better to our guest.

Jude2410, thank you once again for staying with us. In the future, if we have the opportunity to welcome you as our patron once again, we would be delighted to discuss with you directly how we can accommodate your requests and deliver a memorable holiday.

Sincerely,


Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Check prices of ferry and visa and transfers to resort before booking. The resort is in a lovely location. At first the resort seems a little tired but it grows on you. The service by staff is exceptional.
The pool was lovely and was not too busy. The beach is also lovely. Water activities at the beach were great.
There were many beautiful walks around the resort and through the golf course.
The cost of food and alcohol are at 'western' prices and there are no packages on offer so eating only at the resort would be expensive. The self contained units are not well equipped. You can improvise though. There are local tourist shops accessible by shuttle at little cost at Pasar Oleh-Oleh. However shopping for groceries are extremely limited- no western food. We asked the driver to take us to the little local markets and bought fruit and basic supplies. The restaurants at Pasar Oleh Oleh have a great atmosphere and good prices. We did a great all day tour with 'Global Bintan', seeing local beaches, fishing communities, temples, local food and the capital Tanjung Pinang was the highlight of week for us.
The only other concern was the 'fogging' twice a week with Mustang 25 EC. Despite reassurances from the resort it does affect bird, marine life and humans. They do do it to keep down the insects but once I knew it affected the way I felt about being there. Very concerned about long term effects. An internet search shows the potential affects.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our family, two boys (15, 11) with mom and dad enjoyed our stay. It's a nice place with a beautiful, relaxing pool and wonderful beach in front of the hotel with lots of shells and clear water. We paddle boarded, snorkeled, and jet skied. Around 6:30, I had to drag my 11 year old son off the beach because everyone else was hungry( He could have stayed out her al night). My husband and 15 year old son had massages and... they're still relaxing; they gave the spa very high marks. The staff was great, but I thought it was a bit overpriced. We've stayed in pretty plush hotels on beautiful Hawaiian Islands for less.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

lovely beach, easy Singapore getaway. Hotel picks you up at Ferry and delivers you safely back for your return trip. Beach is clean with soft white sand. Fun toys to rent. Super friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed just one night at Angsana Bintan - there are definitely positive points, but overall I give it a low rating because we just expected better from this brand.

Cons:

- our shower/bathtub drain was clogged and it took 15 minutes for the water to empty.
- our bathroom, while clean, was stained in places, giving the impression of dirtiness.-
- there were nicks, dents and paint chips on all the furniture and bathroom tiles in our room.
- flies everywhere at breakfast, sitting on all the open food.
- our toiletries hadn't been replenished before we arrived.
- housekeeping ignored our do not disturb sign and kept knocking until we opened!

Pros:

- the food is terrific and not badly-priced.
- the pool is lovely and there are enough loungers and day beds around.
- the shuttle to Banyan Tree is useful for additional dining options - highly recommend Saffron.
- staff members are very friendly and helpful.
- the spa, like all Angsana branded spas, is phenomenal.
- the gym is well-equipped and functional.
- the activity room (pool tables, table tennis, table soccer, board games) is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANIDBN, Ilias Vamvakas, Hotel Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear AdzN_03,

Thank you very much for providing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We feel very disappointed that your stay at Angsana Bintan did not live up to the expectations that you had from our brand.

We apologize for the unacceptable conditions that you have encountered and wish to reassure that your concerns are well noted. I would like to inform you that we conduct on yearly basis room maintenance and refurbishment of the rooms, interiors and bathroom and to assure you of our efforts and commitment to keep adding value to our guest experience, the project is being carried out in phases.

I have asked our pest control company to review the schedule of regular treatment and to take the corrective action to ensure that we do not experience the same issue in the future.

Furthermore, our staff training is ongoing and we are aware that we still have shortfalls in our operation. Let me assure you that we are doing our upmost to rectify our shortcomings.

We are delighted that you had a splendid time at our hotel and that you enjoyed the food, our pool, Saffron restaurant, our associates, the Spa, the gym and also the recreation lounge. It is our wish to fulfil all the needs of our guests to their total satisfaction.

Once again, we are truly sorry to have let you down on this occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back to Angsana Bintan in the near future.


Sincerely,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Angsana Bintan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Bintan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.