We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angsana Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Angsana Bintan to your Saves list
Angsana Bintan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Brisbane
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed at Angsana for 4 days over New Years Eve and we enjoyed every minute. The service here is exceptional. The beach and pool is kept spotless, and while the food is expensive, it is well prepared (particuarly at the restaurants at the neighbouring Banyan Tree Resort). As there are only the 2 resorts on this part of the island, it has a very 'exclusive' feel. The spa at the resort is also very nice. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    375
    183
    65
    40
See reviews for
312
392
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Many thanks to the staff at the Angsana Bintan resort for a fabulous break. 5 Star resort with a great location, lovely pool, beautifully maintained beach and staff that go out of their way to make every guest feel welcome and special. This was our experience as we bade farewell to 2011 ands brought in the New Year with a week's stay at the resort. With two teenagers and a two year old, we were concerned we would struggle finding something for everyone but Bintan did not disappoint. Activity centre for the young ones, beautiful pool, outdoor water sports and ATV safaris, gorgeous golf courses, a beautiful spa and topped off with great food and service. Choices of restaurants from casual to fine dining across Angsana and Banyan Tree and even the room service was served with class. Spa provided the icing on the cake for my wife and older daughter. Can't wait to go back for a long weekend. Rooms are OK but clean and well maintained. Hotel is not huge but even at full capacity never felt over crowded. Hats off to the management and staff for giving us a great start to the year.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a garden but look for the two bedroom suites, they are good value and give e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We travelled to Angsana from Singapore to celebrate New year's eve. We had a great time as the resort has its own beach which is clean and excellent waves. There is a lovely restaurant on the beachside and we had a fun countdown on New Year's eve on the beach!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My stay at Angsana Bintan have always been a great experience. I have visited Bintan on three separate occasions since 2007 till 2011 and have always stayed at Angsana Bintan. It has become the hotel of choice for myself and my wife. Almost like a second vacation home for us.

The service is very good from start to end, right from the beginning of hotel transfer from ferry terminal to hotel lobby. The personalized check-in is excellent! the welcome drink never fails to calm my spirit after a bumpy ferry ride. Checking in process is smooth. Room furnishing is good & clean, the soothing scent of aroma oil just completes the whole package, plus the view of the south china sea, specifically on 4th floor is simply breath taking..

Amenities are a plenty! Swimming pool and beach is just a short walk away. Very thoughtful service by the pool and beach, the complimentary ice-cream, fruits and ice towel!! Always served with a bright and genuine smile by the hotel staff. Room service is prompt, breakfast is a blast! choice of restaurants within angsana and nearby banyan tree. The world renown angsana spa is definitely an experience.

There is very little fault one can find in this hotel, if you enjoy the beach, pool, sun and BBQ, stunning view of the south china sea, look no further!! Angsana Bintan is the best!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Within the first hour of arriving at the hotel, I could tell by the overall vibe from the staff that this wasn't going to be the holiday I expected. Everyone was smiley and courteous, but I was never once made to feel that the staff were willing to go the extra mile for their guests. Everything was a "no" or "I'll try" but it never happened.

The staff made me wait 4 hours to check in despite saying they would try to check me in earlier. Check out is at 12 noon, so why does it take 3 hours to clean a room? There's also no wifi in the rooms, not even a payable one. The strange thing is I could get a wifi signal in the room but I could not access the internet, which means the hotel probably intentionally blocked access. As a result, everybody goes down to the lobby to use the internet there and the place feels extremely crowded and uncomfortable.

The worst incident was that the room service staff forgot my order and when I called again 90 minutes later to ask about my order, the staff in charge, a guy named Putra, claimed that he did not receive my order and that it was someone else who took my order, but the operator and manager confirmed that only one person is in charge for overnight room service. He basically just said "sorry about that, so do you want to re-order?". And to end off a horrible trip, the printer broke down during check out so I was delayed for 30 minutes.

The service standard does not befit a 5-star hotel. Bintan is not a cheap place to go for a holiday but there must be a sense of value for money, which Angsana did not give at all. This is probably my worst beach holiday ever, and I doubt I will ever return to another Angsana or Banyan Tree hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear Vicwac,


Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor.


It goes without saying that we are very concerned and saddened to read the account of your recent stay with us here at Angsana Bintan.


We are very sorry if our associates have left you with a feeling of not being willing to go the extra mile and would like to assure you that this is by no means the kind of feeling and experience we would ever want to deliver to any of our valued guest. Our sincere apologies if we have failed to make you feel well taken care of and looked after on this occasion.


We are also sorry for the long waiting time you have experienced upon arrival and would like to assure you that our rooms division team is always trying their level best to turn over our rooms as efficiently and swiftly as only possible to provide check-in before the designated time at 15:00.


With regards to our WIFI services, please be kindly informed that we have just upgraded the IT installations in all areas of the Resort and are currently finalizing this project so that WIFI will be available on complimentary basis very shortly.


Due to a system overload on 1st of January 2012, we did indeed experience challenges with our billing printing system from 10:00am through to 10:30am and would like to apologize sincerely for the inconvenience this unfortunate breakdown has caused to you.


Further to your comments about the room’ service I have allowed myself to communicate and discuss this with the In Room Dining Manager. We fully agree that such a shortfall must not occur under any circumstances and we have counseled our order takers accordingly so that this will not repeat itself in the future.


Wicvac, we are by no means trying to find excuses to the shortfalls experienced and the inconveniences caused to your good self, merely we are extending our humble apologies yet again.


Last but not least we immensely regret to learn that your recent stay with us has marred your impression to the extent that you have lost trust in our brand as we would certainly love to have the opportunity to provide you with an overall much better and caring experience when you may visit Bintan again in the future.


We would be delighted to be of service to again and deliver the friendly and relaxing experiences and facilities Angsana Bintan is otherwise renowned for.


Once again, thank you for your time and consideration and for providing us with your feedback here.


Kind regards


Serge Ditesheim

Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Much thanks to the numerous and very positive reviews of this hotel, we had quite high expectations when arriving Angsana for our romantic get away. Unfortunately, as often happens when expectations are high, we were disappointed. We had a queen deluxe room on second floor, where the fantastic sea view everyone was raving about was basically non-existent. The room was quite small, and the TV barely worked (poor signal).

The restaurant in the hotel is quite boring with average food. Staff are friendly (although smiling so eagerly that it can make you wonder what their punishment is if they do not put up such a happy appearance). There is not really any nice places to sit in the evening for a drink (maybe on your balcony if you have the sea view), as the restaurant doesn't have an ambience, it's too windy by the sea, and the reception...well, it's the reception.

The massage we had (the signature massage) we both found fantastic. But, for a hotel room 380 dollars a night, this is perhaps the most disappointing value for money so far. Too bad!

Room Tip: Get a room on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Manager at Angsana Bintan, responded to this review, January 5, 2012
Dear MiinaK,


Thank you for taking the time to share your review here on TripAdvisor.


We were obviously very concerned and saddened to learn that your recent experience with us was not a satisfactory one and that we were not able to neither meet nor exceed your expectations.


We have duly taken note of your comments regarding the poor TV reception and would like to apologize for this most unfortunate situation. We do currently not have any known challenges with TV reception but will nevertheless be very conservative and shall make tuning adjustments immediately if needed.


Your remarks regarding our Restaurants have been discussed with the Food and Beverage team and please trust that we are very committed to making constantly improving on ambience and menu selection to satisfy the many likings and palates. Our apologies if our restaurant has left you with a boring and average impression.


It is also most unfortunate that we were experiencing several days of strong monsoon winds which affected the use of our beach facilities including the Pantai Grill Restaurant. Even though this is beyond our control, we do certainly understand your frustration and regret this situation sincerely.


Thank you on the other hand for your kind praise for our Angsana SPA and our friendly associates.


Once again, thank you for your time and consideration and for providing us with your invaluable feedback here.


We wish you would give us the chance to provide you with an overall much more pleasant experience when you may return to Bintan. We would certainly be delighted to welcoming you back.


In the meantime I wish you a Happy New Year!


Kind regards

Serge Ditesheim
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

I chose Angsana Bintan as it is rated as one of the top resort hotel online. When we arrived at the hotel, we were welcomed by the friendly staff. Check-in was smooth and fast. It rained during our 3 days stay, so we didn't do much of the outdoor activities. We did spa at Angsana and my husband and I really enjoyed it. The spa therapist is skillful and professional. We would love to go back to try other types of spa packages. Customer service in Angsana is superb! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Angsana Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angsana Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang | Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Angsana Bintan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the beautiful white sands of Tanjong Said Bay and overlooking the South China Sea, Angsana Bintan in Indonesia is a heavenly retreat just 55 minutes away from Singapore via high-speed catamaran. Take in the tranquil island life as you are pampered by the finest in Asian hospitality amid the beauty of tropical flora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Angsana Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angsana Bintan Hotel Bintan
Angsana Hotel Bintan
Angsana Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angsana Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.