We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Bintan Island
Chennai (Madras), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A very charming resort nestled in a tropical forest setting. Great food and excellent service. The beach is calm and perfect to relax in. So easily accessible from Singapore that it makes a perfect getaway. A great resort for walks and beach activities. Do take a trip to the Mangrove forest.

Room Tip: Ask for a seafront villa. They have great views of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Vidya0704,

I am truly happy that our great food and excellent service topped with the easy access from Singapore made us a perfect getaway for you.

Wrapped with a lush tropical rainforest overlooking a stunning view of South China Sea we offer a world of nature charm where you can relax and unwind.

Thank you for staying with us, I look forward to welcoming you back again to Banyan Tree Bintan in the future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    200
    110
    52
    23
See reviews for
189
415
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was extremely disappointing and we checked out early (after only 2 nights) because it was an absolutely awful experience.
The property has an outwardly nice appearance but the problems begin when you check in. Service was extremely slow - long waiting times for buggies, an hour wait for towels in the room and other requested items. The room was full of bugs and even lizards; I expected lizards in the resort but not on the ceiling and walls of the rooms themselves! On the first night I noticed that the mosquito net (which are on every bed in the resort) was dirty, with some sort of dark stains. Bed sheets also were not clean to a satisfactory level.
They do not serve water/ice buckets as part of the beach service, which is pretty standard for a 5 star resort and towels of previous guests are not frequently replaced.
The only positives of this hotel are the beach and the helpful manager, who allowed us to check out early without any additional charge.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Annie O,

Allow me to apologize for the inconveniences you have endured during you stay with us.

I have noted your feedback on the service; please be rest assured that a retraining has been done as a corrective measure.

Being surrounded by a lush tropical rainforest, we indeed have challenges in managing the wild lives including bugs and lizards. It is unfortunately common in tropical country like Indonesia to have small lizards on the walls as they are the natural predators of mosquitoes. We do fogging on regular basis to minimize insects and bugs without harming the natural environs.

I hope you will give us a second chance to reinstate our value in your faith sometime in the future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the pleasure and delight to enjoy Banyan Tree villas on a team building occasion with colleagues... and my only comment is wow.
We enjoyed the spa, the villas and the private dinning experience... So great!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Ruben U,

Thank you for your lovely comment on our resort.
I am glad that we were able to deliver the true experience of Banyan Tree Bintan to you.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the resort in the future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed two nights. It is a nice resort perfect for relaxation. The room were perfect with a really nice bathroom. The staff is very service minded. The food is good in both Saffron and tree top restaurant. The pool areas is nice, and the beach and snorkelling is good. We enjoyed our trip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Bjarte75,

It is delightful to hear that we were able to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. I am very happy that your meal experience at Saffron and Treetop exceeded your expectation.

Allow me to thank you for choosing to stay with us. Hopefully I will see you return next time for another relaxing stay.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My partner & I have just had the most amazing weekend at the Bayan Tree.The service was second to none. The resort is beautiful from every angle and it really is the most perfect place to relax. I would not hesitate reccomending this resort, it was absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear singvegas,

I am very happy to note that we had successfully delivered an amazing weekend while you were here.
Indeed we are very proud of the unique setting surrounds us that allow stunning ocean view amidst lush rainforest. The tranquility boasts peacefulness making us the perfect place to relax and unwind.

Thank you for recommending Banyan Tree Bintan and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Banyan Tree Bintan provides a good quiet location with excellent connection to Singapore. Hotel has very good reception location and staff in Bintan ferry terminal and resort is a short ride away in a very good, quiet location. The villas are dated, but some (even the less expensive) have incredible water views and a sense of being in a tropical jungle. Villas are reasonable size (not as large as some newer Banyan Tree resorts, but more than adequate for couple or even small family sharing a single bedroom). Have stayed in this resort a number of times over years, and were pleased to find much improved and very good quality food (although limited menu particularly at the Italian restaurant) on this visit. Don't anticipate the refined service experience or impeccably maintained quarters that you will find at the very best and newer international resorts (to be fair prices here while very high are below many of those resorts), but staff generally seem to want to provide good service. One persistent disappointment with this resort (and other Banyan Tree properties) is their apparent reluctance to provide late check-out (even for a fee) when it is apparent that occupancy is very low.

Room Tip: Try to get West facing villa near the water for great views. Beware, if you have small children or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear jpmsenior,

I am delighted to learn that we have managed to deliver another pleasant experience during your stay with us.

Banyan Tree Bintan resort was built under inspiration from local fishermen village with a Balinese style. Due to this and the rustic charm accents in the design, our villas can appear aged. Nevertheless, we do a regular maintenance program to ensure our villas are always comfortable for you and all other guests.

Indeed with all villas facing the stunning ocean view and being surrounded by the unique rainforest we are the perfect oasis of peace to relax and unwind. I am glad that these were perfectly delivered to you.

I can understand that you were upset that we were unable to allow a late check-out even if we were not fully booked. My apologies for the team not explaining that it was the category of your villa which was actually fully booked hence we had to refuse.

Meanwhile I look forward to welcoming you once again to our resort in the future.


Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We travelled as a couple over the weekend and it's a great escape. Perfect in many many ways; we'd like to commend the staff who try their utmost. Many go on about how the villas are aged but actually they are wonderful little sanctuaries tucked into nature where you can spend quiet afternoons relaxing. The Thai food at saffron was excellent; as was our private destination dining on the rocks - you get a private chef and waiter. Eky our waiter was brilliantly attentive and regaled us with wonderful stories.
We had such a wonderful time.

It would have gotten 5 stars but for the fact that they couldn't give us a one hour delay in checking out.

We're going back soon! So see you Banyan Tree

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan_Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Jawsnaws,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for your gracious comment. It is lovely to hear that we were able to create a perfect weekend escape for you.

I am happy to hear that you have had a chance to experience one of our destination dining; indeed Dinner on the Rocks truly accentuates romance and privacy, and is a must-experience. I have shared your feedback on Eky through our notice board, making sure he gets the limelight he deserved.

Please accept my apologies that we were unable to offer a late check-out. The team is always trying to allow guests to stay as long as possible in the villa but with the official check-out being 12 noon and the official check-in being 3 pm our housekeeping is pressed in time to get the villa ready for the next guest.

Let me assure you that we are doing our upmost to accommodate late check outs without affecting arriving guests.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Banyan Tree Bintan soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Dear Jawsnaws,

Firstly, allow me to thank you for your gracious comment. It is lovely to hear that we were able to create a perfect weekend escape for you.

I am happy to hear that you have had a chance to experience one of our destination dining; indeed Dinner on the Rocks truly accentuates romance and privacy, and is a must-experience. I have shared your feedback on Eky through our notice board, making sure he gets the limelight he deserved.

Please accept my apologies that we were unable to offer a late check-out. The team is always trying to allow guests to stay as long as possible in the villa but with the official check-out being 12 noon and the official check-in being 3 pm our housekeeping is pressed in time to get the villa ready for the next guest.

Let me assure you that we are doing our upmost to accommodate late check outs without affecting arriving guests.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again to Banyan Tree Bintan soon.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.