We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best for celebration!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Best for celebration!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel prepared special bedding and provided a complimentary birthday cake for us. A crew even decorated the room with yellow flower petals and candle lights at night and hide in the room as a surprise and sang happy birthday song. These are much appreciated. The services at the hotel was great, staff was always attentive. Buggy service to take you around the resort was great. Although the food at the breakfast was a little disappointed but it does not stop us rating this resort at the highest possible stars! Well worth paying the high cost!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Eman,  

I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time in Banyan Tree Bintan. We always try to create personal experience and we enjoyed sharing your special day with you both.

Your comment on the breakfast has been noted and shared with our Executive Chef to follow-up on our inconsistency.  

Eman, once again thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observation with us.   We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.  


Sincerely,  


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    209
    112
    56
    26
See reviews for
200
440
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed over the weekend and had some nice seafood at the nearby "kelong" (house on stilts). But cheap was never on the menu tho'.

It's suppose to be a revisit after years since the last. Had the private pool villa,and apparently certain items were left untouched since then too. How memorable it was when we opened the drawer under the day bed and we found a thick carpet of dust garnished with cobwebs. Hardly accommodating to anyone with a sinus problem.

The pool and shower area is forever covered with dead bugs (especially dragonflies) in the morning. Not that I do not know they were lured to the water by the reflection of lights at night, but....hardly exotic and I just couldn't locate that part in the fineprints....

Food from room service was so-so, but I must admit the taste was highly influenced by the tremendous stench coming from the mouth piece of the room's phone and the frustration from placing order through the constant buzzing sound in the phone and the countless begging of pardon. However we did request for a repair since Day One, the technician had to be having a difficulty booking a flight in....we hope he had landed at the resort safely by now and the phone is finally fixed for the next guest.

Nevertheless, everything else is 5 star. Helpfulness and Friendliness are of abundance. Save you any chance of a stroke from high blood pressure and leaving the villa with merely a slap on the forehead.

PS. the spa is excellent and a must-try. seriously.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear George,

Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced in regards to your stay here at Banyan Tree Bintan. Let me assure you that your observations are taken seriously and your feedback is shared with each Department Head to ensure follow-up is taken on our shortcomings.

I am very confident that your experience was exception and it’s my sincere hope that we can welcome you back to demonstrate the true Banyan Tree hospitality we normally offer. Again my sincere apology for our shortcomings.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Partly understaffed, so delivery of in-room service was not on time. Cleanliness is a big issue and is not up to standard and in line with the price paid.
Staff is always very friendly

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Please accept my apologies for the disappointment you experienced in regards to your stay here at Banyan Tree Bintan.

Thank you for your remarks and especially the compliments on the friendliness at our team. Your feedback on the inconsistency at our service delivery has been taken very serious, especially on the cleanliness. I have taken these issues up with the Heads of Department and will ensure that follow-up is taken.

It is my sincere hope that we can welcome you back and demonstrate to you that your feedback has been taken seriously and corrections have been made.

Sincerely,

Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you are looking for a get away from the hussle and bustle of city life, Banyan Tree Bintan should be your first choice.

This resort offers absolute privacy. The villas are built around trees and you would be greeted with squirrels and nature when you wake up in the morning.

Deluxe villas come with plunge pool. The only problem is that the pool cant be heated so if it rains or if it's a cold day, you can't really play in the water.

All villas have a traditional indonesian touch to it. The hotel charges in USD and food is very expensive. Angsana, the sister property has cheaper and good food.

Saffron, the thai restaurant is a must try. I loved the food there and service is good.

The hotel should consider offering free transfers to the ferry terminal because it is near the terminal. The charges are expensive.

You might want to consider taking a free shuttle to Angsana and having lunch there before checking into Banyan tree.

I am going back again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
143 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

High-end resort offering excellent services and relaxing atmosphere for a perfect getaway you would expect in any of the famed Banyan Tree resorts. Features individual villas with the much needed privacy for a romantic escapade as well as the convenience of a valet service to bring you around the resort. Signature spa treatments are also worth indulging in. There are good dining options within the resort and room service if you do not wish to leave the comforts of your private pool and villa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puri A, on behalf of Stefan Thumiger, Area General Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear ET880,

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and wish to thank you very much for your gracious comments about our hotel services and associates. We are proud of our team and believe they are the finest in Banyan Tree Bintan. Your comments endorse our believe and it is great testimony to their dedication and professionalism.

Once again thank you for choosing our hospitality and for taking the time to share your observations with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the near future.

Sincerely,


Stefan Thumiger
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I recently visited Banyan Tree Bintan for our 5 year wedding anniversary upon the recommendation of a colleague. We were impressed in all facets of our stay. Highlights were the quality of food and setting of both the Saffron restuarant and the "Dinner on the Rock". Service and friendliness of all hotel staff was probably the best I've experienced. The room was definately to our taste - a beautiful outlook over the ocean, and plenty of room to simply enjoy the setting and relax. Will definately try to get back there at some stage.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful weekend. I wanted to surprise my husband but ended up getting pleasantly surprised myself!

Lovely room set-up, service was truly impeccable, view of the ocean was breath-taking (Villa on the rocks), the spa treatment was amazing (Esther is a very skilled masseuse), breakfast buffet at The Tree Tops was delectable and was a good spread but all in all, the villa was luxurious and well-maintained.

However we felt that the food quality needs to be seriously improved to justify the hefty price tag. We had lunch at The Tree Tops and Thai for dinner at Saffron and was not too impressed with the taste (especially at Saffron).

We were thankful for the private pool in the villa but it would have been better if it was cleaned before we checked in. There were leaves and dirt in the pool which was not too enticing for me (but my husband did not mind at all).

The public pool near the beach was lovely and we spent much of the mornings lounging in the sun. However it would have been nice to have some background music being played (like those in the spa). I must say the service staff at the pool were very attentive to our needs.

Will we ever consider going again? Definitely, but, we may not eat in unless it comes with the package.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.