We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Rest and Relax Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
“A Good Rest and Relax Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Banyan Tree Bintan is very conveniently located just 45 mins ferry away from Singapore. Having always to travel, a short ferry ride is a welcome change.

We stayed at a 2-bedroom villa with 2 couples, one of which has a baby, and a single friend, The villa and the 2-rooms are quite sizable to accommodate our group.

Except for the little incident of a in-room flooding and falling straw flakes in both rooms during our first night of stay after a strong tropical storm, we all quite enjoy what the villa and the resort has to offer. We especially enjoy the scenery from the villa and the infinity pool that looks out to the ocean.

In terms of services, given this is a 5-star resort, in a few occasions, the services were not gotten right on first try. However, all the staff are quite good at rectifying the issues after some communications. We are especially impressed with the attentiveness of the guest service rep and the food service manager. They, along with the housekeeping crew, have made our stay that much more enjoyable.

Having said the above, given the price range for the villa, it would be a good idea if the villa to undergo a bit of update so that the rooms at least will withstand the strong wind and rain during tropical storms that could be a regular occurrence given the resort location.

Overall we enjoy our short-term R n R retreat and would recommend this resort to our friends and families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

717 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    353
    187
    104
    51
    22
See reviews for
178
397
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Banyan Tree in Bintan. In fact, this was the 4th time I have stayed there, the first time in 1999. The spectacular location hasn't changed. However, the place needs a serious face lift (which they are doing, but they should just close instead of tricking you into staying there while they renovate). I stayed in a "Villa on the Rocks", which I have stayed in before. This time the fabrics on the day bed were stained, the bathroom window couldn't open, and there was a large open hole in the roof that seemed especially inviting to the 4 or 5 bats that came for visit every evening (they really do hang upside down). They claimed this was a renovated room, but it looked no diffrent from when I stayed in one of the Villas in 2009. The main Italian restaurant really has an extraordinary setting, but the food itself was sometimes in eatable. Most of the staff are really delightful, though the individuals who come to turn down the beds at night have this routine where they troll for gratuities as they form animals out of the towels. It was cute the last time I was here but its just anoying now, especially when we are a couple looking for privacy. I wouldn't have really cared that much if I thought I was getting value but, instead, my 6 star rate for my 3 room left me feeling incredibly ripped off and i won't be back soon. I was traveling from Singapore, so it was a close trip. I can only imagine how those guests visiting from Europe or the middle east were feeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Oldasiahand_13,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It concerns us greatly to read your comment in regards to your experience at our resort recently and I sincerely regret that we have failed to meet your expectations. Please rest assured that your valuable feedback regarding services and facilities is been taken very seriously.

We have well noted all your concerns in regards to cleanliness and maintenance in your villa and we will follow up accordingly with our respected Head of Department for further improvement to ensure that we maintain a high quality of service to all of our guests at all times.

We do hope we will have another chance to welcoming you back to our resort so that we can show you the true colors of Banyan Tree Bintan.



Thank You & Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Good place for honeymoon. This resort is very private and you can feel that the whole island is belong to you. Weekday is the best time to be there if you want a lot of privacy. We were there from Friday night to Tuesday afternoon. If you are looking for bar and nightlife, do not go here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Great location, very friendly staff. But in fairness the maintenance lacks updating. Various floors and staircases are in a terrible condition and far from 5 star property standards. Green Banyan Tree Towels with holes in it, and in 5 different shades of green due to wear & tear...

Overall, the price vs. quality has been very disappointing. We do not mind to spend money but the fees for F&B simply make it outrageous, even compared to actual 5 star properties, which in fairness, Banyan Tree Bintan is not in its current state.

Kind regards

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear A TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the maintenance, towels and F&B issues. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please rest assured that I have personally shared your feedback with the department heads concerned to improve the points you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We hope that there will be another opportunity to welcome you back to our resort to show you the true colors of Banyan Tree Bintan.


Thank You & Best Regards,
Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Been to the higher-end resorts of Bali? Pangkor Laut? Berjaya Langkawi? Avillion Melaka? This is like them - low density sprawling villa-in-forest by-the-sea concept, quite far from urban sprawl, focus on never leaving the resort, lots of spa, swimming pool usage. Food is good and staff are a cut above the rest. You get pleasant complimentary surprises during your stay eg water and face towel when you visit the pool, starters and dessert when you visit the Saffron for dinner. Plus the usual welcome & goodbye drinks. Good wifi connections & range of international TV channels. Library provides a limited range of DVDs and books in various languages. They use the British imperial 3-pin plug instead of Indonesian standard, and everybody speaks good English. We only needed rupiah for tips - USD will do fine. It's a "forest" setting so be prepared to manage the insects and other non-humans. You get complimentary aromatherapy and incense sticks in-villa for this effort, plus the usual anti-bug spray and anti-mozzie electric poison mats, and the staff will come clean up around the in-villa open-air jacuzzi whenever required. This is very low density so prices are high. Not exorbitant but certainly high. Be prepared to burn a bit of $$ for a relaxing few days away. Note that the various F&B outlets do charge a service charge on top of tax. That's common practice in Malaysia & Singapore. When I say "high" but not "exorbitant" what I mean is - example: a single dish at Saffron will set you back around USD15-20+. Dinner for two at Saffron will involve at least 3-4 dishes of this price range, to go with the complimentary 4 varieties of rice. The room service in-villa dining is in the range of USD15-30 for eg. a dinner-sized burger or club sandwich with fries. If there is one thing to improve it would be continued wifi access at least at the Library for at least a few hours after checkout. So that surfing can continue till departure for the ferry terminal. And by the way that would be Bandar Bentan Telani in northern Bintan rather than the more well known Tanjung Pinang in the south.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Absolutely beautiful first rate resort with customer service that exceeds the highest of expectations. I'd go back without thinking twice (if it weren't so remote) and offer the higest of recommendations for any couples looking for a 5-star resort in Southeast Asia.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Banyan Tree is a short, easy ferry ride from Singapore. We were met as we disembarked the ferry and were in an air conditioned car on the way to the resort within 10 minutes. The room (each an individual villa) was lovely with a spectacular view of the South China Sea. Our rate included breakfast and a free yoga session. Both were above average. The resort is not for those who are looking for nightlife and excitement, but is perfect for a relaxing, luxury spa and beach weekend away for friends or for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.