We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay in Two Bedroom Villa at Banyan Tree Bintan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay in Two Bedroom Villa at Banyan Tree Bintan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed for a couple of days at this very nice resort with our family of six, with four small children (12-5). Location and Villa exceeded our expectations, as was the very attentive personnel at the resort. Indonesian restaurant was closed for refurbishment, but other outlets were nice. Breakfast was included en very elaborate. Restaurant prices are in US$ and a bit overrated. It is also easily possible to visit local market or restaurant in other resorts (Kelong). We would love to come back again and will recommend this resort to our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    364
    198
    108
    52
    23
See reviews for
186
410
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed in Villa on the Rocks and Sanctuary Pool Villa in two different occasions- I loved the jacuzzi in Villa on the Rocks but the private infinity pool in Sanctuary Pool Villa was just unbeatable! All the rooms were extremely spacious and well maintained except for the bed curtain which had dead bugs on it and were never removed during our stay. One of the highlights of this trip was discovering Banyan Tree Shower&Bath Products, (which I still use back at home) as they are handmade with natural ingredients and feel wonderful on your skin. I had several treatments in the Banyan Tree Spa and it was such relaxing experience that I always fell asleep in the midst of a treatment. I would recommend requesting for a spa villa if you are getting a couple's treatment as the normal treatment rooms are not soundproof and lacks peacefulness of the spa villa. Food was okay compared to other 5-star resorts as I was quite disappointed with the quality of breakfast buffet (especially the peach bellini) and the Cove. Room service was impressively performed by a team of professional staff and were delivered promptly. The hotel offers a wide range of outdoor activities although I would only go back to relax and rejuvenate myself in the lovely spa!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We spent a weekend here. This place is romantic and rooms are absolutely beautiful. We had the villa on the rocks which meant that at night we heard the sea below us and had a stunning view. Although the views area breathtaking from all villas. We also enjoyed the spa, very much. The side by side massage and scrub, with showers on the balcony overlooking the sea. It was Soo relaxing! I would recommend and also would go back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Yes, this hotel is unbelievable because of location, view and meal...
will be very special experience if you visit there with your fiancee....
So romantic, dramatic, lovely, sweet, I cannot find another good word in english.
Don't think and just go to relax.......

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting (for people who like to be close to nature). Tastefully furnished, spacious villas with astonishing view. Friendly service, though not always very efficiant! Very good thai restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Over the last couple of years, we've stayed at Banyan Tree, Bintan at least half a dozen times. Its Villa on the Rocks was a favourite short getaway destination of ours (from Singapore).

The last couple of times, we stayed in a pool villa, fantastic for sharing with another couple or taking the helper with a child. Offers a great outdoor lounging area and lovely views too.
But sadly, the quality of food on the property has gone so far downhill that we're seriously contemplating only returning if they install a stove into the villa kitchen, so we can at least cook for ourselves.

Room service food has always been, and remains, inedible. But now the restaurant too is struggling to serve anything decent. The Thai food at Baa Baa Black Sheep is far better than what was served at near USD200 for 2. The resort seemed also to be missing about half its staff this time round and we weren't offered the usual big basket of fruit and complimentary bottle of wine.

Perhaps the new Sentosa hotels are stealing too much of its business?

A pity... though an older property, still a beautiful and peaceful one. But unless and until we can eat something there, we will have to try elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Luxtraveller77_12

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience of your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bintan on Trip Advisor.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We deeply apologize that you found the quality of food in all our restaurants and villa dinning below your expectation and standard.

It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of all our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short.

Please be informed that your feedback has been addressed to our Food & Beverage Director and Area Executive Chef and we have come up with an action plan to improve the levels of service and quality of food.
Regarding our villa welcome amenities please be informed that we have amended the same and we do apologize for any inconvenience it may have cause to you.

Thank you very much indeed for your positive comments about the Pool Villa and the resort.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort in the future.


Best Regards,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent one night at this resort located in Bintan Island ,Indonesia.It was a quick getaway from Singapore.The ferry ride is very convenient, and after a short drive from the port we found ourselves in a lavish green tropical resort overlooking a secluded beach. Upon arrival, we were greeted by the staff and were upgraded to a private pool beach villa.The room was very specious with nice amenities. The dinning facilities are quiet limited due to the fact that one restaurant is under construction at the moment, however the food and service at both restaurants was very good.We were given a late check out which was great because the ferry only departed at 5:35pm
My only comment is, that they need more buggies to drive the guests around the resort ( even the ones they operate have battery issues and often do not function.) We will definitely return to this resort in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.