We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cancel your booking” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cancel your booking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My recent two day stay at the Banyan Tree in Bintan rates as the biggest misrepresentation ever. Do NOT bother to go - the hotel is just so in need of a full renovation its scary . Firstly its really really filthy - the levels of basic cleanliness are just not being adhered to. A cockroach jumping out of my food in the restaurant (yes!) was the final straw. There is no sign of any kind of overall management, just a collection of staff looking at each other - hoping guests won't notice the overgrown gardens, bags of rubbish and ongoing maintenance works. It is extremely expensive all priced in US dollars ie two small bottles of Perrier and a cup of black coffee was 24 dollars.......
It's a 2 star at best charging 6 star prices and pretending to be a five star resort - STAY AWAY ,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Valchits,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bintan on Trip advisor.

First of all I would like to sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would have expected from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the cleanliness in the restaurant and public areas.

It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please be informed that currently we are upgrading our hotel facilities. The project is expected to be completed by mid 2013.

Please rest assure that we have made it a priority to address all issues which you mentioned.

I personally look very much forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    187
    104
    51
    22
See reviews for
178
396
17
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We treated ourselves to a night in the Banyan Tree Hotel to mark a special occasion. Unfortunately the experience was below our expectations and we felt it was overpriced for what it was.
The location and the environment is quite nice and the Staff is very friendly. The breakfast is simply divine and the meals in the Treetops restaurant are yummy. There is nothing fundamentally wrong with the villa either, we mainly got upset that our terrace and pool were not ready for use - i.e. we needed to wait for a few hours for housekeeping to give it a fix. Also, there is construction going on even though the website advises that this would only start on 19 April. You can imagine that we were not very pleased to find one of the two pools already closed while expecting (based on the information we had at the time of booking) that everything would still be in tip top shape two weeks before the beginning of the construction period.
In short, we felt we were paying for a 5-star hotel but only got the experience of tourist class accommodation. We had selected the hotel for all its 5-star attributes but unfortunately had to realize that we did not get many of those...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Banyantree.com traveler,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your review on Trip advisor.

It is disheartening to learn that you had a less than favorable experience with us, as our commitment is to always provide seamless service and memorable holiday experiences to all our guests.

We apologize for any service shortfalls that may have resulted in your dissatisfaction with our resort and please rest assure that we have made it a priority to address all issues which you mentioned.

Please be informed that we just completed our villa upgrading project and we continue with the upgrading of the public areas which will be completed by mid-2013.

Thank you for your positive comments on our environment and our friendly associates.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The issue here is value for money. The villas are quite ordinary and a bit run down. Each villa has a small wading pool that is really too small and shallow for anything but cooling off your feet. They also do some silly things like fail to hook up the entertainment system. So you have a nice flat screen TV and a music system but it doesn’t connect to an iPod.

We were disappointed, but the final straw was the over priced one hour massage that lasted 45 minutes plus a 15 minute “meditation period.” We felt cheated. The only way they are getting the price they get is the Banyan Tree name and the fact that it’s so close to Singapore. Otherwise they would have empty rooms.

Having said that, the staff try hard and the restaurants are quite good. The buffet breakfast is a little crowded but they have good food and excellent cappuccino. The two pools are fine. The one is completely shaded while the other near the beach has sun and shade. The beach is unusable because of the oil seepage but it looks nice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear Ker G

Thank you for posting your comments of your recent stay at Banyan Tree Bintan on Trip advisor.
First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the villa amenities and Spa duration. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please be informed that during the monsoon period lots of debris are being washed on shore. For that reason we employee a dedicated team seven days a week all day long on the beach with the responsibility to constantly clean and to keep the beach clean.

Thank you for your positive comments on our restaurants and our associates.

We are looking very much forward to welcome you back to Banyan Tree Bintan in the future.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

An amazing resort located in a splendid island far from everything even though only 50mn Ferry from Singapore. Excellent service, absolutely calm and relaxing environment, truly good food and wine offerings, all in all "paradise on earth"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I called to book lunch, we were just visiting Bintan for the day. I asked for their signature restaurant, Saffron and was repeatedly told that was fine we would arrange which restaurant to go to on arrival ... actually Saffron is not open at lunch-time and they sent us to an empty Treetops restaurant beside a swimming pool/building site. There was not even a bar to drown our sorrows in. I feel I was seriously mislead by them. The place has a run down feel and I certainly would not choose to go back there for any reason. Temporary building works are one thing but misleading people booking is beneath contempt. We ended up going elsewhere. A depressing experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in early March in a seaview room. These rooms are the ones that are close to the pool and restaurant facilities. I think it was called Nanna's (spelling could be incorrect). The staff are wonderful, polite, friendly and make you feel great. Superb. Nothing is difficult for them. We were there during the end of Monsoon season so it was not as hot and also just a light breeze. Very pleasant. Akso not many people around so it was nice and quiet. There are 2 pools, the round one which was close to our room, about 50 metres away and also right near the Treetops restaurant and a great place to just chill for hours on end.
Our room was great they are a decent size, but you spend most of your time by the pools rather than the one in your own room. Our room had a stunning view, but was a touch noisy due to the waves crashing on the rocks again, i think due to it being at the end of the windy season.
It is also very easy to get to for a great holiday, the ferry terminal in Singapore is only 15 minutes from the Singapore Changi airport, and it is a 55 minute boat ride on the ferry but you do need to buy your tickets in advance for the ferry. Banyan Tree can pick you up from the ferry terminal to take you to the resort. So it is all quite easy.
The only downside that we felt was that the wine list was of poor quality in our opinion and overpriced. Pricing of the restaurants is a little high but you expect that when you go to resorts. But not ridiculous. It is only when you want to buy a bottle of wine that it throws the pricing way out. The quality of the food is good, there are three restaurants, a mainly indonesian cuisine at Treetops restaurant (where you also have breakfast), a Thai restaurant and a mediterranean restaurant. Food is fine, staff are superb. The buffet breakfast is also fine.
Overall a great world class resort that we will stay at again in the future and I recommend it, obvioulsy it all depends on your budget.

Room Tip: We like to walk everywhere and dont want to take buggies, simply to get the exercise in, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you don't want to read my long review... the summary says it all. If you want details on the rating, see below.

The most outstanding part of the stay was that the unit is a private villa with your bed overlooking the ocean. Sleeping under a mosquito net with the doors wide open is pure tranquility. That part lived up to expectations but that's also where the 5 star experience ends. The villa did show a little wear but nothing serious. The grounds are well maintained but the facilities and equipment were showing a large amount of wear and tear. The carts that they use to take guests around the grounds were all banged up. The wooden decks and sun chairs were warped and faded. But all of this was not what made this a 3-star rating on this review.

What was very disappointing was the service. Definitely not what you expect for a 5-star hotel that is charging 2x the price of all the other hotels in the area. The disappointment started at check-in when the car dropped us off and the driver hands my wife the bags to carry up the steps. No joke. Then we walk into the check in area and stand around for 5 minutes because they did not have enough staff to support the guests in the lobby. Now keep in mind, everyone has a reservation, and everyone has to take the ferry over. It should be pretty easy to figure out the schedule for staffing. So literally 30 minutes later we are done with check-in and you have to take a buggy (golf cart) to your villa. There is no one coordinating your bags so you have to do it yourself, and the check-in counter doesn't even get the buggy for you. You have to go over and find a driver yourself. Fortunately we only had to wait another 5 minutes (sarcasm).

Beyond the check-in, the service was very mixed. We had to wait frequently for the buggy, the reservation we had for the spa got "lost", and the location we were told to go to for yoga was wrong. Luckily we had time to make it across the resort to the right location. The service at the restaurants was decent but still not 5-star by any means.

I spent the time to leave feedback for the resort at their request, and their was no follow up. I'm not sure if they only want to hear good things, or they have so many bad responses that they don't have time to follow up and discuss their service. Either way it is disappointing.

One last thing. Half of the guests staying there bring kids. Some were little kids, and some were teenagers or pre-teens but there were kids all over the resort. It's not the romantic, quiet, secluded resort you might expect so be forewarned.

I am extremely happy that our trip was only 1-night because if I had spent that sum of money for more time I would have absolutely requested to change hotels. But let me leave this on a positive note. The staff are all genuinely friendly and nice people and the environment is beautiful. It is a unique resort and one that I had wanted to try for a while. I hope the management either lowers the price to match the value of what you get or does a serious overhaul of their overall experience management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear A2Z_california,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your last visit in Banyan Tree Bintan.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the check in experience as well as service issues. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please rest assure that we have made it a priority to address all issues which you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.