We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

An amazing resort located in a splendid island far from everything even though only 50mn Ferry from Singapore. Excellent service, absolutely calm and relaxing environment, truly good food and wine offerings, all in all "paradise on earth"

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    231
    120
    59
    28
See reviews for
219
473
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I called to book lunch, we were just visiting Bintan for the day. I asked for their signature restaurant, Saffron and was repeatedly told that was fine we would arrange which restaurant to go to on arrival ... actually Saffron is not open at lunch-time and they sent us to an empty Treetops restaurant beside a swimming pool/building site. There was not even a bar to drown our sorrows in. I feel I was seriously mislead by them. The place has a run down feel and I certainly would not choose to go back there for any reason. Temporary building works are one thing but misleading people booking is beneath contempt. We ended up going elsewhere. A depressing experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in early March in a seaview room. These rooms are the ones that are close to the pool and restaurant facilities. I think it was called Nanna's (spelling could be incorrect). The staff are wonderful, polite, friendly and make you feel great. Superb. Nothing is difficult for them. We were there during the end of Monsoon season so it was not as hot and also just a light breeze. Very pleasant. Akso not many people around so it was nice and quiet. There are 2 pools, the round one which was close to our room, about 50 metres away and also right near the Treetops restaurant and a great place to just chill for hours on end.
Our room was great they are a decent size, but you spend most of your time by the pools rather than the one in your own room. Our room had a stunning view, but was a touch noisy due to the waves crashing on the rocks again, i think due to it being at the end of the windy season.
It is also very easy to get to for a great holiday, the ferry terminal in Singapore is only 15 minutes from the Singapore Changi airport, and it is a 55 minute boat ride on the ferry but you do need to buy your tickets in advance for the ferry. Banyan Tree can pick you up from the ferry terminal to take you to the resort. So it is all quite easy.
The only downside that we felt was that the wine list was of poor quality in our opinion and overpriced. Pricing of the restaurants is a little high but you expect that when you go to resorts. But not ridiculous. It is only when you want to buy a bottle of wine that it throws the pricing way out. The quality of the food is good, there are three restaurants, a mainly indonesian cuisine at Treetops restaurant (where you also have breakfast), a Thai restaurant and a mediterranean restaurant. Food is fine, staff are superb. The buffet breakfast is also fine.
Overall a great world class resort that we will stay at again in the future and I recommend it, obvioulsy it all depends on your budget.

Room Tip: We like to walk everywhere and dont want to take buggies, simply to get the exercise in, but it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

If you don't want to read my long review... the summary says it all. If you want details on the rating, see below.

The most outstanding part of the stay was that the unit is a private villa with your bed overlooking the ocean. Sleeping under a mosquito net with the doors wide open is pure tranquility. That part lived up to expectations but that's also where the 5 star experience ends. The villa did show a little wear but nothing serious. The grounds are well maintained but the facilities and equipment were showing a large amount of wear and tear. The carts that they use to take guests around the grounds were all banged up. The wooden decks and sun chairs were warped and faded. But all of this was not what made this a 3-star rating on this review.

What was very disappointing was the service. Definitely not what you expect for a 5-star hotel that is charging 2x the price of all the other hotels in the area. The disappointment started at check-in when the car dropped us off and the driver hands my wife the bags to carry up the steps. No joke. Then we walk into the check in area and stand around for 5 minutes because they did not have enough staff to support the guests in the lobby. Now keep in mind, everyone has a reservation, and everyone has to take the ferry over. It should be pretty easy to figure out the schedule for staffing. So literally 30 minutes later we are done with check-in and you have to take a buggy (golf cart) to your villa. There is no one coordinating your bags so you have to do it yourself, and the check-in counter doesn't even get the buggy for you. You have to go over and find a driver yourself. Fortunately we only had to wait another 5 minutes (sarcasm).

Beyond the check-in, the service was very mixed. We had to wait frequently for the buggy, the reservation we had for the spa got "lost", and the location we were told to go to for yoga was wrong. Luckily we had time to make it across the resort to the right location. The service at the restaurants was decent but still not 5-star by any means.

I spent the time to leave feedback for the resort at their request, and their was no follow up. I'm not sure if they only want to hear good things, or they have so many bad responses that they don't have time to follow up and discuss their service. Either way it is disappointing.

One last thing. Half of the guests staying there bring kids. Some were little kids, and some were teenagers or pre-teens but there were kids all over the resort. It's not the romantic, quiet, secluded resort you might expect so be forewarned.

I am extremely happy that our trip was only 1-night because if I had spent that sum of money for more time I would have absolutely requested to change hotels. But let me leave this on a positive note. The staff are all genuinely friendly and nice people and the environment is beautiful. It is a unique resort and one that I had wanted to try for a while. I hope the management either lowers the price to match the value of what you get or does a serious overhaul of their overall experience management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Banyan Tree Bintan, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear A2Z_california,

Thank you for your review and feedback regarding your last visit in Banyan Tree Bintan.

First of all we sincerely apologize for not being able to deliver you the experience as you would expect from Banyan Tree Bintan.

We highly value your valuable feedback with regards to the check in experience as well as service issues. It is our objective to meet and actually exceed the expectations of our customers and I am sorry that in this particular case we have certainly fell short on many counts.

Please rest assure that we have made it a priority to address all issues which you mentioned.

Once again, thank you for providing us with your feedback as it is only through the feedback such as these that we can properly evaluate and improve our performance.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back to our beautiful resort.

Sincerely yours,

Ilias Vamvakas
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for only one night but two long days in one of the sea view pool villas and wish we could have stayed for longer. The staff are excellent - very welcoming and polite, nothing is too much trouble. Everything went smoothly from the shuttle pick up at the airport to a refreshing glass of chilled ginger juice while we registered. The villa was clean and spacious with a decent sized plunge pool and views over the sea to remember during the next (!) long British winter. As some other travellers have commented, we found the Saffron restaurant to be best both for lunches and dinner - the Indonesain sampler that we had for main course was a lovely taste of three different dishes. The pool service is first rate with chilled water and face clothes brought with clean towels. Watermelon on sticks and strawberry ice creams were also brought to cool us during the hot afternoon, what a treat! I would have given this a 5 but as already noted, the meal prices are high. Breakfast is included and is very good with a wide range of dishes an fresh fruits available. However even just 2 club sandwiches and diet cokes for lunch cost 55 US $ which although good, was somewhat steep. All in all though a perfect place to relax !

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Angsana staff could not do enough to make a stay a memorable one. The Hotel is a little old but the staff made up for everything.

The rooms are comfortable.

The food plentiful and excellent. It was a wonderful experience all the staff were so friendly, the beach beautiful , fantastic golf course

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed at the jacuzzi villa with a amazing sea view. In respect to the Banyan Tree brand they met my expectation, great staff and service, from the ferry terminal pick up to the check-in, etc. Also arranged a private dinner at my request but I advise you to monitor the weather before you go. My partner and I went during December and it was drizzling most of the time. All in all a great/comfortable stay. Thanks Banyan Tree Bintan!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.