We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice but not to the expected level of banyan tree” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Bintan Island
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Nice but not to the expected level of banyan tree”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed in beach front villa no.106 in Jan 22 which was renovated and has extra bedroom downstairs but I didn’t use, the resort is nice but the public places need to be immediately renovated, most of the complaints in TA compare the value to the price, many expect higher level since they pay 500+ USD for room. I enjoyed my stay and the resort staff are friendly and nice. nothing to do outside, so it is a hideaway/relaxation from the busy life of city.

Cons.
- breakfast buffet limited and ordinary
- can’t use the plunge pool since the water is cold, it should be heated
- public areas need to be renovated
- the renovated rooms are not completely renovated, e.g. the doors/windows frames are old and not being replaced

Room Tip: ask for renovated villa not far from lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    216
    117
    57
    26
See reviews for
207
458
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This place is amazing. If you want to be as far removed from real life as possible, this is the place to be. You have the privacy being surrounded by rainforests and ocean views while being treated like your the only one there getting a 5 star service. We stayed in the pool spa villa and words can not describe the relaxation we felt. The staff there have worked there for years and know how to give good service, forever helpful and smiling and going the extra effort to make the stay comfortable. The food and wine was very expensive thou so if you do enjoy your wine, i would recommend taking some with you rather than buying it there daily. Would also recommend the in villa BBQ when staying in. The massages were heaven in the day spa and the odd yoga class made for a real relaxing holiday. A total tropical paradise

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

The outstanding feature of our 4 day stay was the awesome performance of the Staff.
Their friendly service and courtesy was way above the call of duty. Nothing was too much trouble even down to the towelling sculptures and flower petals on the bed when making up the room.
For us this made the Hotel easily the most memorable we have ever stayed in and we will be returning for another Long weekend very soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoje, Gyeongsangnam-do, South Korea
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I and my wife stayed in Banyan Tree Bintan for 3 nights in January.
It was Monsoon season and unfortunately it has been raining all day long except our second day.

But the lousy weather was not at all the problem! We were upgraded to Pool Villa and this villa was just amazing and so romantic that you cannot possibly get bored even if it is raining and there’s nothing to do. We spent all day relaxing in the pool under the rain, eating good food in the restaurant and taking a nap in a big comfy bed listening to the ocean and rain.

Saffron food was one of the best. I and my wife were quite concerned as we were not familiar with the spices and unique flavor of Thai Cuisine but it was just an idle fear! The food was very tasty and was of high quality, especially the ingredients they are using. Homemade coconut ice-cream is a must-try and the duck curry was so delicious! The food in Treetops (we tried Nasi Goreng & Mie Goreng) is also virtually artistic. The presentation was beautiful. Another highlight is the staff. The staff there are so friendly and polite, they went out of their ways to serve and assist us and they made our stay even more special. They provide a very professional personalized service. We have been addressed by our name by almost every staff that we encountered in the lobby, restaurant, spa, etc. We also tried Banyan Tree spa in one of their private spa villas. They even have a private villa for spa treatment. It was a very high standard and high quality that won’t be missed out during your stay. Overall, our stay was very relaxing and it was the perfect rejuvenation. I strongly recommend this hotel. They have everything, what luxury is all about.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We went to Banyan Tree for two days. We had a two Bedroom Banyan Pool Villa.
Nice place, nothing to to. Just relax, read a book and just stay for maximum two days. The brakfast was very nice and maybe the best meal you can get in Banyan tree Bintan
You will have a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Why is the wine in the minibar so expensive ????
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed in the 2bedroom pool villa with husband, mom and 8 month old baby. We pre-arranged with the hotel for a baby cot, baby bathtub and even a baby high chair in our room - it was all wonderfully set up upon our arrival, comfy sheets, baby pillows, bolsters and mosquito net to boot. There was also a complimentary baby toiletries package, spare diapers and a baby food warmer for use during the stay - very thoughtful indeed. Service was excellent and the staff were friendly, helpful and most accommodating of the various needs arising from travelling with a young child. The view from the villa was priceless and set the backdrop for countless beautiful photographs on our baby's first-ever beach holiday. The resort is nearly 15 years old and requires some touching up and maintenance, but overall, it was a short but hugely enjoyable weekend getaway.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa Portuga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very good hotel, food so so and expensive... more expensive than in singapore...
some staff needs to improve comunication skills..
but very friendly staff...
spa treatments expensive..
nice place for relaxing..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.