We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Bintan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Banyan Tree Bintan to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Bintan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Bintan Island
Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The resort is lovely and our villa had an excellent view. Service is friendly, usually prompt and pleasant throughout. Bathroom amenities are not exactly luxurious for the exorbitant room price they charged (we went direct and did not use any travel agency). Likewise, they even charged for a call to their sister hotel when I rang the reception to make a dinner booking! The reception staff had problem communicating in English and when we rang to ask them to remove a long worm in our room, they did not understand us.

I do not like the idea of being billed USD2 per night for THEIR CSR programme which I PERSONALLY do not care about. Upon check out they did not even bother to explain and just slapped the amount in my bill.

Tree Top restaurant is even more overpriced and quality of food does not match the price charged. One of the staff actually did not even know how to direct us to an appropriate seat but suggested putting us right at the entrance corner, when there had been so many nicer seats available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    201
    112
    54
    25
See reviews for
195
427
18
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

When we got there were we were provided another room than what I had specified in my email correspondence to them, needless to say I was disappointed and voiced my concerns, they upgraded us to the big honeymoon villa( with a small fee of course, as you will realize nothing is complimentary or free) but the villa was amazing and room staff were very nice. We ended up spending a small fortune because food and drinks are horribly expensive there..we realized we could have spent the same amount flying to Europe.. However it was a nice stay as the honeymoon villa was splendid, from what I saw, the other smaller villas are really not worth spending that much money on.. You're better off going to Bali or Phuket for that amount

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Was looking for a short getaway with my family, decided to 'pamper'ourselves and go for banyan tree santuary pool Villa.

No regrets. The Villa is clean, scenery is beautiful and service is good. Simply love the private pool and jacuzzi. Arranged spa for my parents and they love it too.

Overall it has been a nice stay and I will definitely come back again, for a quality stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at banyan tree in bintan and it was absolutely gorgeous. Great rooms, friendly staff and absolute privacy. Nothing was missing. The pool villa is a dream come true. Can recommend the villa barbecue. We barely visited the restaurant except for breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BanyanTree.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

For our second trip in Banyan Tree Bintan, we were with the kids and had booked 2 sea-view villas. We were welcomed and upgraded to a 2 bedroom villa with large swimming pool,on top of the hill wit a fantastic view, but only after asking for an upgrade and first being told there was no 2 bedroom villa available....it is too bad to miss such an easy opportunity to make a great first impression. Nevertheless, thank you for the upgrade. The villa is superb, even if the look and feel of the decoration and furniture might be a bit "passe", it is still nice. The beach is still pleasant, very little people around you, and the sport activities are numerous. We did some jet-ski, and a very funny quad trip in the forest behind the beach, very worth to do. Food has improved versus our first visit, each restaurant is different and reasonnably priced. Still a good spot for leaving the urban jungle of Singapore for a long WE, but Banyan Tree will need to re-invent itself a bit there to strive, competitors are coming...

Room Tip: Villas on the rocks are great if you like the sound of the sea Villas on top of the hill have super...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

First the location is splendid. The villas and surrondings have stunning uninterrupted sea views. You feel like you are in a privileged location.
However it's not all good...
We had a sea front villa that must have been nice 10 years ago. It felt dated and in need of modernisation. The shower should be monsoon style, but was a miserable handheld shower.
It rained and our villa roof leaked over the marble floor,along it quite slippery in the dark. The leak was another sign of the lack of maintenance.
The service was very average and not what I would expect from this expensive hotel. Our in room service was really good but wasn't cleared up when the room was serviced.
The treetops restaurant food was bland and service lacked experience. The in room dining food from saffron and treetops was much better.
We had a day at the spa which was skilled and well worth it.

Overall a great hotel but far too expensive for the quality offered.

I would expect excellence at ~700usd a night.

The manager did knock off a nights fee for our trouble.

I won't go back in the conditions.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We spent three nights at this resort in a sea view villa and enjoyed our stay, but were disappointed in the tired and jaded decor and furnishings. Having paid luxury rates, we expected luxury accommodation, but the rooms need serious upgrading or the hotel needs to adjust its pricing to realistically reflect its current state. On our last night we were woken up at 3am by water leaking through the roof directly on to us in the bed below; in fact the roof was leaking in no less than four places.
Our villa was private and had a wonderful outlook, but would not be suitable for anyone who has difficulty climbing steps as it was a steep climb down from the path to the villa. The villas are spread out across a large area and buggies are required to get from villas to the restaurants, etc, especially in the monsoon season.
The Treetops restaurant was way better than the Saffron restaurant which disappointed in every respect. The staff at Treetops however, were very helpful and efficient.
We enjoyed the location and had a comfortable room, but overall feel the management need to wake up and see what equivalent hotels offer for the same price because Banyan Tee, Bintan falls well short..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Bintan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Bintan

Address: Jalan Teluk Berembang Laguna Bintan, Riau Islands Province 29155 , Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bintan Island
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bintan Island
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Bintan 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Singapore lies a sweep of brilliant Indonesian islands, the most spectacular of which are found in the Riau Archipelago. Bintan Island has long been one of the region's most popular destinations. Banyan Tree Bintan occupies 240 hectares on the sea front and is comprised of 72 villas modeled on traditional Balinese architecture, all beautifully located in virgin forest. The resort's Jacuzzi villas have jacuzzis built into their sun decks whilst the two-bedroom pool villas have their own plunge or swimming pools and are particularly suitable for families. Culinary variety is the name of the game with "Crossroads" offering Western cuisine in an air-conditioned or al fresco setting while the Saffron Restaurant serves Thai and South East Asian specialties. You can also dine in your own villa - simply order from the a la carte menu or make a selection from the BBQ dinners cooked in front of your eyes. The new food and beverage outlet, "The Cove," is modern and up-tempo; Mediterranean cuisine is prepared here to perfection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Banyan Tree Bintan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Bintan Hotel Bintan
Banyan Tree Hotel Bintan
Bintan Banyan Tree
Banyan Tree Bintan Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Bintan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.