We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get away from Singapore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pulau Joyo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bintan Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pulau Joyo
Save
You added Pulau Joyo to your Saves list
Jalan Sungei enam laut No.08, Riau Islands Province 29122, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Get away from Singapore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We spent four days on Pulau Joyo, it was absolutely fantastic. For two of the four days we were the only guests on the island which was really nice. I thoroughly recommend it and am trying to work out how I can have my 30th birthday here!!! Thanks to Santo, Dedy and their Team everything was perfect.

Room Tip: The Java and Beach houses are both very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    1
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Organised as a suprise for my birthday by my friends I can only describe Joyo as a magical place. Our group was large enough to have the whole island to ourselves which meant that we could party as we saw fit!
Beautiful location and impeccable service nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We just spent a long weekend on awesome Pulau Joyo and absolutely loved every single second! The island is small but a real treasure!

As we were the only guests for the first 2 days we felt like royalty and got pampered by the staff! This didn't stop after 4 other guests arrived...all the employees are very friendly, helpful and nice!

All the buildings are decorated and set up with much love for the detail. You almost feel like at home and there are a lot of very cozy spots to enjoy your time.

The food is real Indonesian, for every meal you get a set menu with a wide selection of meat, sea food, fish, vegetables, salad, rice, pasta etc., very yummie! Beside the regular meals we got treated with a different snack around 4 pm every day! Everything always freshly cooked or baked!

We had a fantastic time reading at the pool, sailing, kayaking, swimming, building sand castles, playing table tennis and billiard and trying the standing paddles! And the typical Java massage we can only highly recommend!!!

A perfect place to have a relaxing and laid-back time at an amazing place! We will be back for sure!

Room Tip: the Java houses are very nice, directly at the beach, very quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Really the perfect 4 day holiday. Delicious Indonesian food, beautiful beach, friendly staff, lovely accommodations. We spend our days collecting sea shells, kayaking, swimming, snorkelling, playing badminton and eating. We were a family of 6 (2 grandparents, 2 parents, 2 children- ages 7 & 9) and we all enjoyed our stay. (A big bonus is there are hardly any mosquitos and no sand flies).
The website is a true representation of the island. Highly recommended. The only area for improvement would be the wi-fi. The wi-fi was not accessible from our villas (Treehouse 1 & 2) and was unreliable even from the lodge. My advise is leave your technology at home and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Tree House 1 & 2 which was a great choice for two families travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, General Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you Tracy for your review. Glad that your trip went well. We are well aware that mosquito and other harmful insects can be annoying and disturb your holiday so we work very hard to make sure we are free of them. Our wifi service was down at that time due to bad weather and we are currently under annual maintenance. Look forward to your next visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Its taken me 6 months to write this review simply because I didn't know if I wanted to share the secret. I live in Singapore, and to have this piece of heaven so close to us is unfathomable! We travelled with friends to Joyo and when we arrived in the boat, were met by the whole team on the beach. Our jaws dropped as we looked around our enormous huts, and the complex more generally. Stunning doesn't do this place justice. Accommodation was wonderful and we slept like babies. The food comes how, when and where you want - and was brilliant, simple Indonesian fare. The staff are gorgeous and very friendly. We kayaked around the island, with flying fish, and its so tiny but perfectly formed. I will return for sure. Worth every single (expensive) penny. Amazing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, General Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
This review never comes late. Thank you for your kind comments and we are looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We felt like royalty. Accommodation is first class as long as you favour the rustic over precision. Check the website - it's pretty much identical in real life which can be a rarity! People: extremely friendly. Food: spectacular. Island: your own little paradise. Would have taken us about 20mins to canoe round were we not chasing dolphins. Highly recommended.

Negatives (and we're really nitpicking here): pipe a bit of an eyesore on main part of beach even being sand-coloured. That's pretty much it. Would we go back? Yes

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, General Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks very much for your kind comments. Great to hear you did canoeing around the island. You have to snorkel in front of the beach there is some nice spot with big fish and coral. Look forward to have you on our island again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

In November last year, my wife and I were fortunate enough to have the opportunity to spend an idyllic weekend on the Indonesian Island of Joyo. As our party consisted of 6 families, we literally had the island to ourselves, looked after by polite, friendly and highly efficient staff. The accommodation was superb, six beautiful beach villas, the food and refreshments were of a very high standard and every evening was a new experience, dining by the pool and on the beach!!! I would recommend Pulau Joyo to anyone, and if you are able to "take over" the whole island as we did, it's a wonderful group experience, perfect for adults and children alike!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, General Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. We are very happy you had a great time on our island. Look forward to welcome you once more on our island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pulau Joyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pulau Joyo

Address: Jalan Sungei enam laut No.08, Riau Islands Province 29122, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Bintan Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bintan Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pulau Joyo is your classic Robinson Crusoe island, surrounded by white sand beaches and clear blue sea. Within easy reach of Singapore, it is equipped with every luxury, and superb food and wine. Our experienced team of hosts to make your stay absolutely unforgettable... Pulau Joyo is the ultimate in barefoot sophistication! This island treasure, located in Indonesia’s Riau Archipelago, is blessed with pristine white sandy beaches and turquoise waters. Easily accessible from Singapore and Bintan, Joyo offers an ideal beach getaway with comprehensive spa facilities, fabulous food and much more — all of which complement the island’s romantic location. We are famous for our sunsets and serenity. Joyo Island is also a convenient starting point for an expedition to Indonesia’s untouched beaches and reefs on our 140-foot charter yacht, the Hang Tuah... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pulau Joyo Bintan Island, Riau Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pulau Joyo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.